No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - 7 Hotel Diner

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
LONDON ROAD, POLHILL KENT, HALSTEAD, TN14 7AA
We believe that your stay with us should be special, whatever the occasion. So as you would expect from 7 Hotel, our rooms with bath or shower are anything but basic. All rooms contain handmade beds and include tea and coffee making facilities. All 26 rooms have been lovingly designed and decorated by a team of highly skilled professionals. Every piece of furniture has been custom designed, for both style and for comfort.

For those with a technological mind, all our rooms contain Flat Screen TV’s with a range of terrestrial and digital channels and there is WiFi broadband access throughout. In the morning, why not pick up your newspaper from outside your door, settle down with a mug of coffee before coming downstairs to the 7 Diner for a breakfast you won’t forget! Or for those of you in a rush, why not book your “breakfast to go” and get on the road early!

We offer a range of rooms; singles, doubles and twin rooms. Plus our extremely popular family rooms and new Loft suite which sleeps up to three people, Please note ALL our rooms are non-smoking.

Our Diner offers the best in local and regional produce. Delicious chargrilled steaks, Burgers, Salads, Chicken, Gumbos and ribs and for desert ? irresistible smoothies and desserts will be freshly made in our imamculate open kitchen - adding a dash of Chef’s flair for your entertainment! Our Diner has been exclusively styled and designed to reflect that great era of 1950’s American Diners and the heyday of 1960’s Great Britain!
Picture of 7 Hotel Diner, HALSTEAD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 172 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful, pleasant staff. Room small but adequate. We were there on the live music night and enjoyed this very much. Good place to stay outside London.

Reviewed by
David Foster

From Roquefort, France
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient location
Motel accommodation booked at fairly short notice. The location was convenient, staff were friendly and room clean. Our bedroom window was a bit close to the kitchen extractor fan outlet. Everything worked well and it did not spoil our enjoyment when the leg fell off the dressing table.
I'm sorry we did not get to try the diner because that looked good.

Reviewed by
Andrew Davidson

From Ashby De La Zouch, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed for 2 nights nice rooms great food we had a really nice stay

Reviewed by
L Harrop

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trip down memory lane
Lovely place to stay. all staff welcoming and efficient.
Room was smallish, but very well appointed and clean. Food excellent, one of the best steaks we have had for some time.
The Singer Gazelle displayed outside brought back memories - the second car we owned - a wonderful car..

Reviewed by
Kevin S

From Chalfont St Giles, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff and value for money accommodation.
Accommodation basic but very clean. American diner served excellent meals and breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
david W

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bijoux but comfortable
The room was very small, dominated by the double bed. There was little space to move around and nowhere to sit. If you're used to rooms at one of the budget chains you will be disappointed.
I was staying on my own. If I had taken my partner we would have been falling over each other.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was stylish.
I had planned to eat in the diner but it was quite expensive, although what I saw looked very nice.
Overall, for what I wanted it was OK but it wouldn't have been suitable for a couple.

Reviewed by
Paul N

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel service and food are very good !BUT the hotel is right on a busy main road . Struggled to sleep due to the punt of noise from the traffic through out the night . Even at 3am lots of noise .

Reviewed by
m walker

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great American diner. Very nice rooms. Great food.

Reviewed by
alex hood

From Woodbridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK, but only OK
I stayed here with my 7yr old daughter for two nights. The first night when we arrived at about 9:30pm, the hotel reception door was locked. That's fine, but there was no indication of what we should do to gain access - no bell, no phone number, nothing. Fortunately, rattling the door soon brought someone who could let us in and check us in.
The room was fine: one double, one single, and the beds were comfortable. There was a "tunnel" in the carpet in the room, which was easy to trip over. That's something a carpet fitter could fix in ten minutes, so why hasn't that been done? The room was a good temperature; I often find hotel rooms too hot, but this was fine. There was a radiator (off) which could be used if a warmer temperature is preferred.
I specifically booked this hotel because it advertised free Wifi. The Wifi in our room was unusable, with the signal ranging from very weak to none.
We paid extra for breakfast, only to be told that breakfast was in the restaurant and that, as we had pre-paid, we'd be given an allowance of £4.95 off the bill each(!). If I'd known that in advance, I wouldn't have paid the £9.90 per day for the two of us for breakfast - there seems to be no point. My daughter was disappointed that there was only burger and cooked breakfast available: she wanted cereal.
The music from the restaurant is quite loud and can easily be heard in the room; however, it wasn't so loud as to stop me from sleeping. Both of the nights we stayed, I was woken by very noisy guests going to their rooms (once at 02:20, once at 03:10). That's not entirely down the hotel, which I accept.
Overall, it was OK, but the poor choice of breakfast and the very poor Wifi will mean we won't be going back.

Reviewed by
Keith E

From Coleford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

7 Hotel Diner
Never been to a 50's diner in the uk so my wife was dead keen to see if it was any good.
Fab staff and great room, reasonably priced room with ensuite, TV and wifi. Diner decor and whole ambience was cool, a real treat, our first nights food was great but not as nice the other two nights, definitely would stay here again but food costs/quality is questionable. Great cocktails though!

Reviewed by
Nicholas C

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next