No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Swan at Forton

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Eccleshall road Forton, NEWPORT, TF10 8BY
This traditional 18th Century coaching inn, located minutes from the A41 in the beautiful Shropshire countryside, offers rustic charm, hearty food, on-site parking and free Wi-Fi in the main building.

All wooden floors, open fire places and beamed ceilings, this classic English country inn is infused with the vibrant allure of its historic past. Perfect for both business and leisure, it offers friendly service and a warm welcome for all.

There are 10 en-suite guestrooms split between the main building and the annex. The annex rooms are typically smaller compact double rooms whilst those in the main building are more spacious.

The Restaurant specialises in a regularly changing selection of traditional favourites and hearty home-cooked meals including a fantastic selection of steaks and their ever-popular lunchtime carvery.

Situated just 2 miles outside Newport and 20 miles from Wolverhampton, it’s just a short distance from Telford, Stafford, Ironbridge and Weston Park.

Picture of Swan at Forton, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was okay for the money and when they say the bathroom is small it certainly is. The room was grubby, hadn`t been dusted for a long time, the carpet need a clean. The bathroom, loads of cobwebs down the side of the shower and above it. Hadn`t been touched for a long time. The whole bathroom had not been cleaned properly for a long time. Breakfast was nicely cooked and the service friendly.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay. We were visiting my mother who lives locally and the staff were very kind to her when we took her for a meal there in the evening - ensuring she had a comfortable chair, attending to her dietary requirements etc. ( she is 90 and has difficulty with mobility).
The food was lovely and service excellent.
Room was fine - shower, TV coffee etc plus free wifi.
Good value for money and a warm welcome. Will definitely be coming back next time we visit Mum.

Reviewed by
Julia Ault

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the swan
pleasant surroundings
breakfast was good and hot very pleasant staff

Reviewed by
Stephen W

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Swan Inn Forton
All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful Food was of excellent quality and reasonably priced,all prepared freshly by the resident chef(part of the husband and wife team)

Reviewed by
derek robertson

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quaint
Lovely surrounding area and lovely decor

Reviewed by
E Grimley

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Accomodating
We had a lovely stay at the Swan whilst our son attended a Basketball tournament at Lilleshall Sports Centre. Claire the Manager was very welcoming, we ate in the restaurant and enjoyed a lovely meal, service was very quick. Local residents using the bar were lovely & friendly. Lovely fast service for breakfast in the morning.

Reviewed by
m cousins

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant staff. Room could do with a coat of fresh paint, bed was clean and comfy . We only had breakfast which was ok. Because we were at relatives for evenining meals we didn't get to sample the evening menu,but going by the car pak and full tables ,it must be good.

Reviewed by
S Turner

From Cleethorpes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

they double booked - but told me the boiler was broken
I was given alternative accommodation in the nearby town, apparently this is not uncommon. The Swan in Newport is a town pub and not comparable in style to the Swan at Forton. The room and the service at the Swan in Newport was fine but not what I had booked. Also, I was travelling with work colleague who did stay in Forton so that added to the logistical difficulties. Suggest you check availability directly with Forton if you wish to stay there.

Reviewed by
Gary B

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First class in every way
Situated in a pretty village the hotel provided excellent accomodation and first class food in the restaurant.

Reviewed by
keith r

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely coaching inn. Very thorough customer services
Pleasent staff , good food, generally a pleasant experience
One critism though when booking a room go for
Inside the inn not the motel rooms as they are very small.

Reviewed by
Amanda L

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next