Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel


Blackwell Grange, Darlington, DL3 8QH

Price From 100.90 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (62)

63% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Paul R

  • November 2015

Excellent stop over

The hotel was perfect for my needs.

Leisure facilities a bonus. Friendly and helpful staff. Good sized room. Excellent food.

  • jean c

  • November 2015

Blackwell Grange Hotel

Staff were very helpful and evening meal was lovely, but there were a few issues with breakfast, e.g.

coffee machine not working.

  • R Sampson

  • November 2015

Blackwell Grange Hotel

Room was clean, decent hair dryer and nice big towels!

  • S Mansbridge

  • September 2015

a quick stay if ur busy

Hotel front was beautiful however once past a lovely staircase towards the rooms, it went downhill the corridors looked in a fair state of disrepair looking very shabby and unloved, the rooms were clean but lacked the grandeur look the hotel likes to give.

We had a lovely view of a pile of rubble and the back of the hotel gave the impression that we were staying in an institute. Breakfast was nice but simple and staff were quick to take away dirty plates which was nice.

  • Cathy McConaghy

  • September 2015

Excellent Stay

We arrived weary, needing showers and comfort and we were delighted to have been upgraded to an Executive Suite...

The staff, in particular Sam on Reception, couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you so very much for all your help x


  • August 2015

Very good value for money

Nice large, clean room, and tasty bar meal.

Good value and enjoyed a swim in the morning. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • George R

  • July 2015

Less than desirable

No seats available in the only bar open, no room service - phone not answered despite 8 phone calls, reception not open at 7am to check out, no remote in room for tv, hairs in the bath on arrival.

Quite room requested & still on a busy corridor withchildren running around after 10am & an adjoining room heated discussion waking me up at 5:35 am

  • Christine H

  • July 2015

Tired Hotel

This hotel offers several deals to attract customers,it's location was perfect for where we were attending a function.

The staff were very polite and effecient. The hotel itself is tired and needs updating. The room we were in had a small fan which was needed as there is no temp control.overall it's ok , but I would look around before picking this hotel again , apart for its location.

  • Lindsay Bartlett

  • June 2015

Blackwell Grange

My Father lives in Darlington very close to this Hotel & he has been diagnosed with terminal cancer hence my reason for travelling 6 hours.

I liked the hotel although found it a bit dated shabby chic & also at £70 a night without breakfast thought it expensive. the staff were very friendly & helpful & room service was the quickest I have known. The spa facilities were adequate although pool very small & so you needed to time it right as 3 was a crowd in the pool but sauna lovely.

  • R Garratt

  • April 2015

Checked in with high expectations. Checked out with disappointment.

The welcome at the front desk was good and first impressions of the room was good but after a minute in there we began to feel disappointed.

As it was our 15th wedding anniversary, we'd booked the 'executive suite' as it seemed (from the description) to be that bit more special than an average room. We wanted to relax with a hot drink but there was only one type of coffee and one type of tea, four cartons of uht milk and one packet of boring digestive biscuits. We expected a variation of tea/coffee, including decaff, and a selection of biscuits. We also expected enough so we could make more than one drink each. The dado rails, red papered wall and coffee table were very dusty. The toilet roll had a little bit of paper left on it and then there was one full one. We required more the next morning, so I had to go to the public toilets for more toilet roll. Breakfast was nice but one of the female restaurant staff unprofessionally told me that she hated a particular male that passed by. Not sure if he was a colleague or customer but I was rather taken aback by her comment. At the last minute we also realised we hadn't received the complimentary bottle of water in the room as stated in the room description. When checking out, we did inform the lady on reception about our disappointments which she apologised for and said she'd feed back but unfortunately this was not going to do us any good. We were on our way home. Everyone expects cleanliness but when you book an 'executive suite' you do expect that something extra. We didn't experience that at all. We simply had a large room. Nothing special. I haven't been to Blackwell Grange for quite a few years but we did have high expectations. Unfortunately, we were left feeling disappointed.