No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Standard
I felt that for the type of hotel the room quality was very poor. It has been a long time since I stayed in a hotel with a wardrobe with no doors (apart from travel lodges). The quality of decor was again poor and the hotel is in need to refurbishment. The heating was not able to be adjustde and although I was supplied with a simple small heater (when complained) was not really acceptable. My wife is recently recovering from cancer treatment and therefore feels the cold even when it doesn't seem like it. Dirty dishes from the night before where not cleared from the room the next day until I reported it.

Reviewed by
P Robertson

From Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Pleasurable
My boyfriend and I stayed here overnight for a friends wedding. The day was fantastic, the rooms are clean and spacious and we booked again this time to stay over for another occasion we are attending in a few weeks time.

Reviewed by
S Kerr

From Hartlepool, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent breakfast very clean and welcoming
exellent hotel great value for money, staff very welcoming, everywhere spotlessly clean, some very good original features i.e. a large sweeping staircase with lots of engraving in wood. Not suitable for a spa break as leisure centre small but very welcoming, ideal for what we wanted. Staff whatever grade always made us feel welcome and were friendly. We did not eat an evening meal at the hotel as we were staying with family so cannot coment but the breakfast was on of the best we have ever had, lots to choose from.

Reviewed by
Raymond H

From Stafford, England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couple travelling with dogs
We stayed here for three nights as a base for exploring Yorkshire and Teesside. We had a very friendly welcome from the receptionist, who put our minds at ease regarding our 2 Border Collies.
Our room was adequate for our needs and also close by to the exit to garden, which made life a bit easier!
Breakfast was great, plenty of choice and again friendly waiitng on staff.
We used the leisure suite once and found it fine, apart from the saunas being unavailable due to maintenance.
Good location for visiting and exploring the region.

Reviewed by
W Davies

From Laurencekirk, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

exelent
Late rooms forgot to pass on my booking and although the hotel was fully booked they managed to find me a room

Reviewed by
neville parsons

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

could do with inmproving customer service
Reception staff more intent on carrying on their own conversations than checking in guests. I was at the reception desk, having clearly just arrived, and there was another couple waiting behind me.

Reviewed by
Irene A

From Scotland
Who stayed in August 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overview of the hotel
Beautiful grounds and grand entrance drive to hotel from the main road. The hotel itself is old and although they are trying hard it is fair to say it is tired. It would take a huge amount of money to refurbish the premises as it is so big. Having said this, I would go back and it was great value for money. As a business traveller, it was more than adequate.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Stranraer, Scotland
Who stayed in August 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed, hotel very tired.

Reviewed by
N Hunt

From St Neots, England
Who stayed in July 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9