No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception gave a warm welcome hotel staff very friendly
Would recommend hotel very good value for money &
Good location will definitely stay again

Reviewed by
T Wright

From Llangefni, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent staff very friendly, everything was first class, would highly recommend ,
only downside is with this and all hotels the charge they make for using credit cards.
it is the only means now of paying. Ipersonally can not use a debit card as it is company card,
hotels are needing to think especially in these hard times.

Reviewed by
T Stevenson

From LANARK, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay at the Blackwell Grange
I booked a week at the Grange as I was in Darlington on preparations for the Xmas Pantomime at the Civic Theatre. I chose the hotel on two counts: One being the general appearance of the hotel depicted on the web site. Two the rates were very attractive. I found the staff most helpful and pleasant and when my Car failed to start after a week in the ice and snow, one of the members of staff helped me out with his own car and jump leads! All in all highly recommendable.

Reviewed by
G McLusky

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable
disappointed that they took the money from the card at time of booking when the email said they wouldnt take it until we arrived. We wished to use a different card.

Reviewed by
Brian R

From Wetherby, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
The provision of food was excellent as a Coelaic it is difficult to find hotels that will cater for you, they were willing to adapt many items to acommodate my diet and the knowledge that the food had been sensitively prepared for me made my stay more relaxing.

Reviewed by
B Dowsett

From Witham, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

poor stay
Starter of king prawns very poor sent back sirlion steak tough
Tried to contact reception 5 times between 8am & 8.30 to order taxi no answer only one member of staff on .Then had difficulty getting a taxi told an hours wait

Reviewed by
G Stott

From Nantwich, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy and disappointed all at once.
This hotel is really nice, clean, excellent food and attentive staff, however, I really did not have a good nights sleep for any of my four nights, the hotel is Victorian era and as such, so is the heating system, every night at about 1am the heating turned on and until 6am, the noise from the radiators and pipes was unbearable, on a positive though, the staff did move me twice but this made no difference, it's a shame really as it is in a great setting and everything else is good. The hotel did refund me one night as a gesture of goodwill which was kindly received.

Reviewed by
P Tobin

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomadation.Hard bed
Could have done with a net at window as no privacy fromrear car park.

Reviewed by
John G

From Stowmarket, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Same price as a motorway stop but far more to offer.
A hotel with real character

Reviewed by
R Wright

From Henlow, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Revisited!!
This is the second time my boyfriend and I have stayed here in the last couple of weeks and we thoroughly enjoyed it again.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, rooms were clean again and location for our venue was excellent.
Will definitely be staying again in the future!!

Reviewed by
S Kerr

From Hartlepool, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8