No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy and disappointed all at once.
This hotel is really nice, clean, excellent food and attentive staff, however, I really did not have a good nights sleep for any of my four nights, the hotel is Victorian era and as such, so is the heating system, every night at about 1am the heating turned on and until 6am, the noise from the radiators and pipes was unbearable, on a positive though, the staff did move me twice but this made no difference, it's a shame really as it is in a great setting and everything else is good. The hotel did refund me one night as a gesture of goodwill which was kindly received.

Reviewed by
P Tobin

From , England
Who stayed in November 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomadation.Hard bed
Could have done with a net at window as no privacy fromrear car park.

Reviewed by
John G

From Stowmarket, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Same price as a motorway stop but far more to offer.
A hotel with real character

Reviewed by
R Wright

From Henlow, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Revisited!!
This is the second time my boyfriend and I have stayed here in the last couple of weeks and we thoroughly enjoyed it again.
The staff are friendly and very helpful, rooms were clean again and location for our venue was excellent.
Will definitely be staying again in the future!!

Reviewed by
S Kerr

From Hartlepool, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight stay
not great value for money. room was a bit disapointing

Reviewed by
colin c

From Dunfermline, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hometown weekend
returned back to the area where i spent much of my adult life, this hotel had been used in the past for business but has clealry seen better days and is in need of some investment, these days i would say it is at the tourist end of the market, although this is reflected in the cheap prices. In fact we spent 2 nights including breakfast for around the same price as a travelodge (thru late rooms,) so for that reason alone i would recommend it.

Reviewed by
Ian H

From Horsham, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful staff
The staff were very kind helpful in allowing a change of room - having discovered the booked room was in earshot of a disco that was due to play until midnight. The change of room quieter, but not very inviting with a slightly musty atmosphere. When booking, ask for third floor and check there is no wedding taking place at the time of your stay.... Very nice little swimming pool and lovely grounds - just disappointing that we had not been informed that a wedding reception would be in full swing on a Monday night, making parts of the hotel inaccessible.

Reviewed by
Kate N

From England
Who stayed in September 2012

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Blackwell Grange what a range of things to do
This is our second visit to Blackwell Grange and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The room we had was superb and couldn't ask for anything more.
The facilities were very good.

Reviewed by
Renee McAllister

From Livingston, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel
One night stay here. Easy walk to Darlington centre. Had a room overlooking garden area. Room was clean, warm and comfortable. Some of hotel public areas worn and dated, in particular the carpets. Parking was good.
Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
Helen S

From Glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Standard
I felt that for the type of hotel the room quality was very poor. It has been a long time since I stayed in a hotel with a wardrobe with no doors (apart from travel lodges). The quality of decor was again poor and the hotel is in need to refurbishment. The heating was not able to be adjustde and although I was supplied with a simple small heater (when complained) was not really acceptable. My wife is recently recovering from cancer treatment and therefore feels the cold even when it doesn't seem like it. Dirty dishes from the night before where not cleared from the room the next day until I reported it.

Reviewed by
P Robertson

From Scotland
Who stayed in September 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next