No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic :-))
Very nice and well presented. Very polite staff. With excellent communication skills

Reviewed by
John H

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I got married here on the bank holiday weekend
We had a fantastic time the staff are very friendly couldn't ask for
Nicer people.
In the past I have stayed here on business to and have always
Found it a pleasure to stay food is excellent and is local to the local
Town of Darlington
10 out of 10
Love the place

Reviewed by
L Horan

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hall ways to rooms
Overall we had a fantastic stay hotel, food, service all excellent . The only thing the walk ways to lifts were carpeted and in some places Ruched up... These could have caused falls or trips. Needs to be looked at .

Reviewed by
v davies

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent hotel
I really enjoyed my stay at Blackwell, this is the second time in a short space of time and i found it to be excellent

Reviewed by
s dunn

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not too bad for the discounted price
Rather tired and a little worn - as was the hotel

Reviewed by
Anthony H

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a break away
the hotel was great but they would need a better chief my wife was a chief herself he couldn't make pepper sauce, the chips and onion rings where over cooked,The restaurant food was over price for the price,If they had a better chief the hotel could be a good 4star as all other aspect where perfect,only the bar staff didn't know how to make a hot wiskey or irish coffee,the staff where all very helpful.

Reviewed by
Michael Curren

From Belfast, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
j todd

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staying at Blackwell
Stayed here overnight for business. Asked for room close to reception, got one on second floor miles from anywhere. TV didn't work. Room was very grubby & tired. Asked for upgrade, got larger room, similar standard, up two flights of stairs behind two sets of double doors and paid £20 extra for the upgrade. Why don't hotel understand the importance of a single female staying away on business wanting to feel safe??

Reviewed by
C McCoy

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent. I was in room 120 and the heating comes on at around 0530 in the morning, the pipes are so loud it woke me both days of my stay. The room was reasonable but not as clean as a premier inn. The facilities are good but dated, ie. the pool and gym area. The open fire place was excellent in the main building. The beer was expensive at £3.80 a pint.

Reviewed by
paul a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Main course was not as described
I ordered salmon and sweet potato fish cakes on a bed of fresh leaf salad. From the salad section.
I ended up with fishcakes (OK) with huge sweet potato chips, 5 torn bits of lettuce, 1 end of cucumber and 2/3 of a segemnt of tomato. They had no wafers for the icecream. Breakfast was passable but you even had to get your own coffee from a location easy to miss and no directions given. Restaurnat staff rather off hand about it all.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next