No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 80 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food was excellent. I was in room 120 and the heating comes on at around 0530 in the morning, the pipes are so loud it woke me both days of my stay. The room was reasonable but not as clean as a premier inn. The facilities are good but dated, ie. the pool and gym area. The open fire place was excellent in the main building. The beer was expensive at £3.80 a pint.

Reviewed by
paul a

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Main course was not as described
I ordered salmon and sweet potato fish cakes on a bed of fresh leaf salad. From the salad section.
I ended up with fishcakes (OK) with huge sweet potato chips, 5 torn bits of lettuce, 1 end of cucumber and 2/3 of a segemnt of tomato. They had no wafers for the icecream. Breakfast was passable but you even had to get your own coffee from a location easy to miss and no directions given. Restaurnat staff rather off hand about it all.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay.
Staff very helpful and friendly.
Room very clean and comfrortable. Only negative being that the toilet in the en-suite was very close to the wall.
Enjoyed relaxing by the open fire.
Restaurant - staff very efficient. Food enjoyable,although starter very disappointing.
Overall, very comfortable and good valuae for money - would recommend.

Reviewed by
P Walker

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean and as a person who suffers back problems the bed was comfortable.

Reviewed by
anne m

From Newton Aycliffe, England
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

helpful and polite employees
Lovely place for a relaxing weekend. And everyone was extremely ploite and helpful

Reviewed by
kieran w

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stay whilst visiting hospital
hotel was used as an overnight stay whilst visiting hospital. it was clean, the staff friendly and we would use it again.

Reviewed by
l whitehead

From Selby, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

upgraded room
we paid a extra £20 to upgrade her room to exec room when we got in the hotel room it was dirty everything was covered in dust under the bed and the carpet was very dusty the bath had not being cleaned it still had rings around .
no bottled water no biscuits really bad quality for a exec room

Reviewed by
m craggs

From northallerton, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
staff very friendly, accomodation excellent, breakfast good, evening meal in restaurant first class

Reviewed by
SHEILA Q

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
a nice hotel dated in some areas but good location and value for money

Reviewed by
sandra a

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break to see family
We thought our stay at Blackwell Grange was very good. The room a nice size and comfortable, only thing that let it down was the temperature of the room, the radiator did not work so good, we did point this out to reception and they did provide us will a small portable electric heater which we used quite adequately for a short while whilst in the room. Our breakfast was very good. Yes we would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Carol Bennett

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next