No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Break to Watch The Great North Run
Very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and tired hotel
Really disappointed with the hotel, it was nothing like the pictures on the internet. Cleanliness of the room was poor, hair all over the bath, toilet brush was so disgusting I can't bare the thought of it even now! A very tired decor and not at all worthy of 3*... Food was poor .... but the staff were really lovely.

Reviewed by
N Taylor

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome one night break.
A comfortable stopover.
Friendly staff and very reasonably priced accommodation.
Plenty of parking space.
Hotel has a lot of potential.

Reviewed by
Vincent D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all great no negative comments to make, great value for money.

Reviewed by
frances browne

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Staff friendly and welcoming on arrival room clean but a little too warm. Food was very good

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thankyou so much Blackwell Grange
My husband booked us a 2 night stay at Blackwell Grange as a surprise for our 1st Wedding Anniversary. I wasn't told where we were going, just how we were having a couple of nights away! when we drove up the drive I was very impressed with the manor house. Unknown to me my husband had emailed and informed the hotel it was our anniversary. When we checked in the receptionist couldn't have been more helpful, and congratulated us on our anniversary! We were given our room key and instructed where to go, as we looked for our room we entered a private stairwell with a big sign saying 'Penthouse Suite', the room was very large and we were so impressed at our free upgrade. After a good nights sleep, (excellent orthopaedic mattress), we went to the restaurant for breakfast, I can not fault the variety of food, there is something for everyone! Darlington Marketplace is only a 10 minute walk away, so we had a day of drinking and dining before returning to the hotel. I will definitely be visiting again, pleasant staff, beautiful setting, lovely hotel!!

Reviewed by
Peter Hoggarth

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
The hotel looks lovely on pictures but in reality not so nice. Hotel ran out of ice beer warm and we went to restaurant to have meal deal that was advertised in room to be told that no longrt existed. Disappointed. Felt hotel was badly ran.

Reviewed by
Gill A

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A one night stay
Nice hotel with adequate leisure facilities. Breakfast a little bit like canteen food.

Reviewed by
john campbell

From Bedlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and reasonable Value
The hotel is comfortable and reasonable value for money. Our room was on the top floor and furthest away from reception. Due to the very hot weather the room was extremely hot and there was no way it could be cooled. The nicest lounge next to the garden was usually pre-booked for functions.

Reviewed by
A Tyrrell

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay here at you pearl
On arrival the reception staff were more concerned about other duties that to attended to the arrival of new guest.The young lady with the colour full hair is by far the worst receptionist I have encountered in my years of traveling both home and abroad. (I would recommend a career change if I were her!!!)
The room we were allocated was room 123, avoid this area of the hotel if you want a good nights sleep. The noise begins at around 5 am with banging of doors and loud voices!!! Not much fun I can assure you.
The food was overpriced and to be honest THIRD rate. AVOID, AVOID!!!
On a positive note, and yes there is only one. And that is I hear you ask? THE WAY OUT!!!

Reviewed by
M Reay

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next