Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel


Blackwell Grange, Darlington, DL3 8QH

Price From 156.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (60)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • R Hutchinson

  • March 2014

Happy customer!

This was my second stay at the Blackwell Grange.

I took advantage of a special offer and then... Because the hotel was busy I was upgraded to the cottage rooms..No complaints from me there - Lovely spacious room with spacious and tastefully fitted bathroom. I was able to park my car right outside my room. Only slight complaint - The Grange is obviously, and understandably, popular with wedding parties. That being so I do wish they would put more staff on the 'general bar' . That was the one complaint I heard from other residents- That aside another enjoyable stay at the Blackwell.

  • Janice O

  • February 2014

Great value and amazing food!


  • February 2014

Perfect chill out weekend.

Lovely place to chill out, not too big to be over busy, not too small to feel abandoned.

Cosy on one hand and grand on the other. Pool area small but if you go at certain times it is virtually empty. Very roomy dining area in the Havelock restaurant and the staff are so helpful. There are not many places to walk without being on a main road or a housing estate but still if the ground is dry you can probably walk on the old golf course.

  • Rosalyn W

  • February 2014

Weekend break

We found our accommodation to be adequate.

The reception staff were friendly and helpful. However, the wing we were in needs to be refurbished as the decor looks tired and the carpet was all rucked up. The room had all the things advertised but the hair dryer holder for example was not securely attached. We chose this hotel rather than staying in a Travel Lodge, but will probably opt for the latter next time.

  • joyce flatt

  • February 2014

Stay over whilst viewing. Trains at Shildon

We found the staff very friendly.

And the hotel was easy to find

  • Philip H

  • February 2014

Tired hotel

Dated, scruffy and tired hotel in need of some TLC

  • Perry A

  • February 2014

Lovely building and grounds but Room very dated and musky smelling.

Very uncomfortable bed. Staff very friendly and restaurant food good.

  • c hamilton

  • February 2014

Very Friendly

Everything was perfect apart from the breakfast when you pay 20.00 for 2 breakfast you expect quality would stay again but without breakfast

  • M Green

  • February 2014

Excellent value for money

Great short stay whilst visiting family.

The hotel has lovely grounds, the rooms perfectly clean. Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a nice added touch. Great value, discounted through late rooms.

  • Peter D

  • February 2014

A little dated but superb

The Hotel is a very grand affair and is quite imposing from the front.

The staff really are second to none, they are happy to cater to your every whim and completely nonplussed buy any obscure question you may have for them. The d├ęcor as a whole is a little dated and there are certainly areas that could do with a lick of paint but you have to look past that and realise that you're staying somewhere with history. Absolutely nothing can quite beat being able to sit in one of their comfy armchairs in front of that roaring fire, glass in hand and chatting. The food was lovely, reasonably priced and delicious. Unfortunately the Captain Cooks bar was closed during our visit so we didn't get to try that but the other bar was only a 20 second walk away so that was no problem. All in all i would heartily recommend this hotel, we had a wonderful 2 days away and left feeling relaxed and happy.