Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel


Blackwell Grange, Darlington, DL3 8QH

Price From 146.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (60)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • p brannigan

  • June 2014

Work garden party

Have stayed at Blackwell grange before was impressed with the hotel and it's staff were very helpful thoroughly recommended

  • Stephen rhodes

  • June 2014

Breakfast could have been better, it seems to have been on the servery along while, I would prefer a freshly cooked meal to order.Thanks

  • Elizabeth Dyer

  • June 2014

Up to the usual standard!

  • M Scott

  • June 2014

Our room was shabby and certainly not 4 star.

It smelt musty. The breakfast was poor quality and badly presented. I have stayed in better premier inns. We had a late room booking and got the impression the shabby rooms were kept for late bookings who paid less. Surely the idea of offering reduced prices is to attract customers who would not normally want to pay the higher price to showcase the hotel so that they would come back. This was certainly not 4 star treatment and would not come back.

  • Victoria W

  • June 2014

I paid for an executive double which was supposed to have views of the gardens, unfortunately are only view was of the carpark.

Our en-suite was also in a seperate corridor that connected to another room (the other room didnt have access to this but had a connecting door) this didnt feel very private and was dissapointing when our own door into this corridor didnt shut properly so we had very little privacy. Although i wouldnt say to people 'don't stay there!' as it was clean and the staff were pleasant, I wouldnt reccomend it as i really didnt feel it was worth the money we paid for it.

  • J Harris

  • June 2014

blackwell grange hotel

enjoyed the stay, only downside was that there was a wedding in the hotel and we couldn't book a table in the dining room for Saturday night.

There was no noise from the wedding party despite it being a large party.

  • Mark Allinson

  • May 2014

One night stay at Blackwell Grange

Generally quite a reasonable hotel.

I stay at many hotels with my job, and this has the potential of being very good. At the moment the reception and lounge / bar areas are very dated in decor, although overall in pretty good condition. Some updating would be a distinct advantage. Our 'superior' room was large, well appointed and clean. Overall, with a little investment could be a very nice place to stay. I cannot comment on food as we didn't eat in the hotel.

  • m mcginn

  • May 2014

was first class service and room

  • E Thompson

  • April 2014

last minute booking

this is the 2nd time we have stayed at Blackwell grange and found this room far superior to the 1st one.

The room was wrll presented and comfortable and the staff helpful and cheerful. Will stay there again if we can get the same room.

  • I Khan

  • April 2014


It was a decent place to stay at, the only pain was the wireless as you need a seperate log in for each of your devices, hence, you need to ask for them when you come to the hotel