No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 81 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy customer!
This was my second stay at the Blackwell Grange. I took advantage of a special offer and then... Because the hotel was busy I was upgraded to the cottage rooms..No complaints from me there - Lovely spacious room with spacious and tastefully fitted bathroom. I was able to park my car right outside my room.
Only slight complaint - The Grange is obviously, and understandably, popular with wedding parties.
That being so I do wish they would put more staff on the 'general bar' . That was the one complaint I heard from other residents- That aside another enjoyable stay at the Blackwell.

Reviewed by
R Hutchinson

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly
Everything was perfect apart from the breakfast when you pay 20.00 for 2 breakfast you expect quality would stay again but without breakfast

Reviewed by
c hamilton

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Great short stay whilst visiting family. The hotel has lovely grounds, the rooms perfectly clean. Swimming pool, sauna and jacuzzi were a nice added touch. Great value, discounted through late rooms.

Reviewed by
M Green

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little dated but superb
The Hotel is a very grand affair and is quite imposing from the front. The staff really are second to none, they are happy to cater to your every whim and completely nonplussed buy any obscure question you may have for them.
The décor as a whole is a little dated and there are certainly areas that could do with a lick of paint but you have to look past that and realise that you're staying somewhere with history. Absolutely nothing can quite beat being able to sit in one of their comfy armchairs in front of that roaring fire, glass in hand and chatting.
The food was lovely, reasonably priced and delicious.
Unfortunately the Captain Cooks bar was closed during our visit so we didn't get to try that but the other bar was only a 20 second walk away so that was no problem.
All in all i would heartily recommend this hotel, we had a wonderful 2 days away and left feeling relaxed and happy.

Reviewed by
Peter D

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Class Customer Service
Booked the rooom last minute didnt arrrive till 8 pm and received a frendily welcome and was advised about al the facility etc - ordered room service - food was good value for money - room was spotless - left early next morning didnt have breakfast but will do next time stay - was excellent value for money

Reviewed by
m mcginn

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only OK
What do you expect for £55. Staff were lovely. Only good though for an overnight journey break.

Reviewed by
Simon K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Nice Hotel

Reviewed by
K RUDDLESDEN

From OLNEY, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
Great hotel , clean and friendly . Excellent facilities . Pool , food etc were great ! Would stay again :)

Reviewed by
kay s

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights and I would defiantly stay again. After reading reviews on here and trip advisor I didn't know what to expect. The room was lovely, very clean and tidy. The double bed was two singles pushed together which I was a bit disappointed with but after my first nights sleep I was amazed at how comfortable it was! The gym and pool are fairly basic but good, the guy that runs the gym was lovely, very chatty and friendly! All hotel staff seemed very friendly. Food....isn't great. We ordered room service and I felt very disappointed after. So basic. We chose not to eat there again. We did get a free breakfast though, as the first day we ordered breakfast to our room, 10 mins before it was due we got a call saying two things we ordered were out of stock so we decided to leave if and eat at sainsburys cafe instead. So to compensate they gave us a free one the next day. The location of the hotel is lovely. All in all I would recommend this place, it's great value for money, staff are extra friendly, just stay away from the food!

Reviewed by
Lauren dakota H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfy, warm and welcoming.
I'm a frequent visitor to this hotel and I continue to stay here because I know that it is clean, comfy and value for money. There are cheaper and more modern ones in the area but I know that the staff are so lovely here that I will always want to come back. We arrived on New Year's Day, the log fire was burning in the hall, inviting us to linger a while and take in the atmosphere and our extra last minute guest was catered for at no extra charge. How many hotels would do that! Thank you Late Rooms and Blackwell Grange for another very pleasant vacation.

Reviewed by
J Lee

From Whitehaven, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next