No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice stay good price
Very nice overnight stay. Very quiet and comfortable room a little hot for me but just right for my wife. We didn't opt for breakfast as we chose to visit friends

Reviewed by
R Brown

From St Ives, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a poor Christmas
We booked an executive room for 3 nights over Christmas, what a disappointment the room was. The carpet was full of stains and black marks, the bed was not made properly each morning.
The breakfast was buffet style on Christmas day and Boxing Day which was fine. On Friday morning the breakfast was served early to accommodate a coach party, so those who went at the allocated time missed the buffet and had to wait for there order to be served.
On Boxing day the restaurant was not open and we all had to go out and find a pub to get a meal. Never again.




We booked 2 executive rooms for 3 nights over Christmas. The carpet was dirty and full of black stains. The beds were not made properly each morning. On Boxing Day the restaurant was closed in the evening and we had to find a local pub to have a meal. The breakfast time was change on Friday to accommodate a coach party so the buffet breakfast was finnished when we went down.
What an awful Christmas never again


Reviewed by
J Cuningham

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel and grounds
We stayed for just one night with full breakfast and also had an evening meal in front of the big open fire as the restaurants and function rooms were busy with two Christmas parties and one wedding. The hotel staff work hard and we would like to mention Helen who worked in the bar. She was lovely professional, she had time to make our stay enjoyable even though she was rather busy. Breakfast was buffet style so you could just help yourself to as much and whatever you liked. We had a room in the cottages opposite the main hotel and it was very big with a lounge area. We will definately come and stay again. Thank you once again. Dawn and Philip Froom

Reviewed by
Dawn Froom

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was good staff polite but the room wasnt too good although I still enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
D Pigg

From Darlington , UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bus Party & Function Hotel
The hotel looks lovely from the outside but very tired inside. Food was poor unfortunately. The staff were happy and reasonably attentive. Stains on carpet floor, tiny tv in bedroom that worked when it liked. The mattress was lumpy and uncomfortable and the pillows were tiny. I won't be returning

Reviewed by
Kenneth M

From Stonehaven, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Break to Watch The Great North Run
Very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Martin B

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

old and tired hotel
Really disappointed with the hotel, it was nothing like the pictures on the internet. Cleanliness of the room was poor, hair all over the bath, toilet brush was so disgusting I can't bare the thought of it even now! A very tired decor and not at all worthy of 3*... Food was poor .... but the staff were really lovely.

Reviewed by
N Taylor

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome one night break.
A comfortable stopover.
Friendly staff and very reasonably priced accommodation.
Plenty of parking space.
Hotel has a lot of potential.

Reviewed by
Vincent D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

all great no negative comments to make, great value for money.

Reviewed by
frances browne

From Billingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay
Staff friendly and welcoming on arrival room clean but a little too warm. Food was very good

Reviewed by
Kevin W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next