Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel


Blackwell Grange, Darlington, DL3 8QH

Price From 156.43 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (60)

62% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • n smith

  • December 2014


Disappointed with the location of the room.

Website said overlooking gardens. It looked onto a wall. Decided to have breakfast the following morning until we were told it was £3.95 more simply because we didn't order via the reception desk the night before. Overall I was not blown away this time

  • adam r

  • December 2014

In need of refurbishment.

Generally a bit tired!!.

  • S Kandola

  • November 2014

I wouldn't stay here again, never slept all night as could hear other guests in their rooms could also hear a tapping noise which would come & go.

Ordered a chicken tikka masala which came with rice, naan & poppadom when it arrived to my room no naan or poppadom.

  • A Steel

  • November 2014

Looked lovely on arrival

Nice grounds and reception but the corridor's and rooms are really in need of an update

  • Peter S

  • October 2014

Superior rooms are superior

I stayed in an upstairs superior room with a lovely large bed, 2 sofas and a large bathroom with corner jacuzzi bath - all very luxurious - and very different from the economy downstairs room I had on my previous stay.

I felt very comfortable.

  • Neal H

  • October 2014

Visiting relatives

Having organised to visit relatives, and of staying at other hotels in area previously we thought that we would give this a go.

We booked the room only package so cannot comment on the food.

On arrival at about 6.30 the reception was very busy with a bus tour checking in. Registering was very well organised though, we found our room down a long corridor and all seemed fine. We found that the small television mounted on the wall was difficult to use, it would have been good to have some instructions in the welcome pack. During the evening and night however it was very warm, I think that the heating must be on all the time. Having opened the window fully we still found the room stuffy and hot. Not a good nights sleep at all. I think that we will not be returing in the near future.

  • L Thornhill

  • October 2014

nice hotel

  • Jane D

  • October 2014

just what we were looking for

The only slight problem was the heating being on all night, other than that couldn't fault it.

  • g minns

  • October 2014

Great weekend

Lovely weekend in September.

Reception/ check in helpful staff and straight forward. Large pleasant room, bed could have done with being softer. Evening meal very good, but slow service

  • B Watson

  • October 2014

Nice stay

The room was fairly basic and a bit dated, certainly nothing like the grand rooms in the pictures, but for £65, it wasn't bad.

Food was nice, if a little slow in arriving.