No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blackwell Grange Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Blackwell Grange , Darlington, DL3 8QH
Blackwell Grange Hotel is a beautiful 17th century mansion set in 15 acres of its own wooded parklands of the County Durham countryside. just on the outskirts of Darlington. The historic city of Durham and Middlesbrough are both on the doorstep and Newcastle is just a short drive away. The A1(M) is less than ten minutes from the hotel, with Darlington rail station just a mile away and Teeside International Airport is nearby.

Free car parking and complimentary wi-fi is offered to all guests. The hotel's leisure facilities include a heated indoor pool, spa, solarium and saunas - and Blackwell Grange and Stressholme Golf courses are right on the doorstep. Dine at Havelock Restaurant or in Captain Cooks Bar, which offers stunning views over the grounds and golf course - this really is the ideal place to stay for business or leisure.

There is plenty to do in the area with the breath taking Yorkshire Moors, Beamish Open Air Museum, Shildon Railway Museum, Durham Cathedral and the Hartlepool Historic Quay all within easy reach.

The hotel has a choice of 5 meeting rooms for up to 250 delegates.

Picture of Blackwell Grange Hotel, Darlington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 88 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

blackwell grange hotel
enjoyed the stay, only downside was that there was a wedding in the hotel and we couldn't book a table in the dining room for Saturday night. There was no noise from the wedding party despite it being a large party.

Reviewed by
J Harris

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

was first class service and room

Reviewed by
m mcginn

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

last minute booking
this is the 2nd time we have stayed at Blackwell grange and found this room far superior to the 1st one. The room was wrll presented and comfortable and the staff helpful and cheerful.
Will stay there again if we can get the same room.

Reviewed by
E Thompson

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Honesty
It was a decent place to stay at, the only pain was the wireless as you need a seperate log in for each of your devices, hence, you need to ask for them when you come to the hotel

Reviewed by
I Khan

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired hotel
Dated, scruffy and tired hotel in need of some TLC

Reviewed by
Philip H

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value and amazing food!

Reviewed by
Janice O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect chill out weekend.
Lovely place to chill out, not too big to be over busy, not too small to feel abandoned. Cosy on one hand and grand on the other. Pool area small but if you go at certain times it is virtually empty. Very roomy dining area in the Havelock restaurant and the staff are so helpful.
There are not many places to walk without being on a main road or a housing estate but still if the ground is dry you can probably walk on the old golf course.

Reviewed by
SHARON B

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay over whilst viewing. Trains at Shildon
We found the staff very friendly. And the hotel was easy to find

Reviewed by
joyce flatt

From York, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
We found our accommodation to be adequate. The reception staff were friendly and helpful. However, the wing we were in needs to be refurbished as the decor looks tired and the carpet was all rucked up. The room had all the things advertised but the hair dryer holder for example was not securely attached. We chose this hotel rather than staying in a Travel Lodge, but will probably opt for the latter next time.

Reviewed by
Rosalyn W

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building and grounds but Room very dated and musky smelling. Very uncomfortable bed.
Staff very friendly and restaurant food good.

Reviewed by
Perry A

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next