You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

4

Stone Cellar Road, High Usworth Washington, Tyne and Wear, NEWCASTLE, NE37 1PH

Price From 174.27 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (23)

70% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Stangoe

  • June 2016

Lovely hotel, shame about the extra costs involved and "Bath with jets" not Jacuzzi

The hotel itself was lovely but the service received was some of the worst we have experienced.

Briefly... there were no towels in the room (this was discovered AFTER getting in the shower) 2 lamps did not work in the room, the doors to outside were a really lovely touch but it was so unruly and overgrown, we did not have any chairs to use outside either. On the website you advertise a "Jacuzzi in the room" it was a corner bath with jets. The charge for room service was astronomical, we paid for breakfast early but then it cost another £10 for delivery, upon delivery we were charged £10 more for eggs Benedict, this was not noted anywhere on the order form. We did not receive the breakfast juices or preserves. The meal in the restaurant was delicious but not once did anyone ask if the meal was ok... no-one came to remove our empty plates.

This was a very special anniversary trip for my husband and I and therefore we paid extra money for a room as a luxury treat (as apposed to spending less elsewhere) to say we were disappointed is an understatement. A lot of the things mentioned we can forgive but no towels. and all the extra charges we did not expect and are inexcusable, breakfast for 2 cost £40. How is that acceptable.

I complained to the desk manager to be given no apology or explanation only "Ill tell the manager"

I really hope you take this on board. We will not be visiting again which is a shame as the facilities for swimming and the sauna etc were really lovely.

  • andrew flatt

  • June 2016

Hotel Weekend stay

Very good all round a few weddings going on but still didnt stop staff be friendly and helping you out, foood was really good but breafast needs a bit of work on, didnt know who was ordering what and then waiting.

But still would go back again.

  • David Shakeshaft

  • June 2016

State of Room

Shower valve in room took all my strength to turn on, someone with lesser strength wouldn't have had a shower.

Hot and cold taps on labeled wrong way round. TV had only 2 channels. Not what you expect for £80 per night

  • S Mennear

  • May 2016

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Lovely friendly staff.

Fabulous relaxing spa

  • K Atherton

  • February 2016

Lovely spacious room and perfect location for the Metro

We stayed in a family room with a 4 year old.

The room was really spacious and all the facilities were on hand and clean. We had a swim in the morning which was great, a little odd walking through the gym in swimwear. But good facilities all the same. I would definitely recommend if you are going into Gateshead or Newcastle

  • S Robinson

  • January 2016

Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa

Fantastic food in the restaurant.

Pricey, but worth the money. Cocktails were superb. Spa was lovely until a group of pre teen girls came in screaming and shouting on ruining a quite, restful time in a relaxing spa. The staff should have confronted the girls however no staff were at hand at the spa to monitor this.

  • J Hufton

  • September 2015

Stopped for Great North Run

We were overall satisfied with our stay, we were disappointed that because it was for the Great North Run we had to pay for 2 nights when we could only stay the one night due to family commitments and the price we paid did not include breakfast, that was an extra £13 each if not booked in advance.

I did phone up to try and swap the days we stopped so that we were able to take advantage of what we had paid for and because we booked through late rooms they wouldn't even look into it for me which I thought was a bit harsh. Also just been a bit picky the net curtain in our room was ripped, which again for the price we paid I did expect things like that to be in good condition. other than that it was a pleasant stay, very clean, good room sizes and good sized beds. It had everything you needed in a room for a comfortable and enjoyable stay.

  • Chris W

  • April 2015

Friendly staff, good facilities

  • J Baker

  • February 2015

Room well above 3 star standard

We received a warm welcome from reception and the room was a very pleasant surprise well above what we had expected for a 3 star rated hotel and what we had paid.

Our granddaughter was staying with us and we were able to use the leisure facilities all within the very favourable cost. The breakfast menu was very extensive and well presented, the only minor detraction was that the coffee/tea had been left standing for some time in heated jugs.

  • P Moody

  • January 2015

Good one night stopover

Excellent hotel ,only one would have bothered me we had room 236 which was a good way from reception luckley we only had a overnight bag if we a couple of bags it would have been a pain dragging them up an some stairs.Other than that the hotel was excellent.