No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Imperial Crown Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42-46 Horton Street , Halifax, HX1 1QE
Built as a coaching inn during the early 1800’s, the Imperial Crown has been transformed into a stylish hotel without losing any of its traditional character. It is located in the town centre, opposite Halifax railway station and with easy access from the M62. The hotel is a great venue for special events with its time honoured library and wood-panelled rooms. The delightful Wallis Simpson Restaurant and Café Bar offer meals, drinks and informal snacks and there is also a relaxing, cobbled courtyard garden.

.
Picture of The Imperial Crown Hotel - a Corus hotel, Halifax at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 42 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
71% recommended this accommodation to a friend 76% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. the staff was very plesant.

Reviewed by
k tatum

From keighley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value, central location, food was very good, staff well trained and accommodating,
would stay here again

Reviewed by
Craig H

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel Close To Railway Station
Myself and my brother stayed here in a twin room whilst on a birthday treat weekend. It is just across the road from the train station and just a few minutes walk in to town. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here but the the accommodation and reception staff were very good. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Natalie J

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were locked out
Returned to the hotel about midnight to find we were locked out, rang the bell, nearly knocked the door down, after half an hour a porter let us in. My door keys were in the room if not would have gone home. Not a romantic evening at all to celebrate my partners birthday as we ended up rowing.

Reviewed by
Helen Harrison

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Corus Hotel in Halifax
Good value for a late booking but was on the top floor and there were no lifts or air conditioning. Staff friendly and helpful. Free parking was a bonus right in the centre of Halifax.

Reviewed by
D Hurst

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay whilst house being renovated
We stayed here 4 nights whilst our bathroom was being ripped out and renovated at home. We only live two miles away. This hotel came out as the cheapest in halifax, even cheaper than the travel lodge and as I had already seen the downstairs bar area once a couple of years ago, I didn't hesitate to book. The lobby and bar are lovely, oldie worldy, and the receptionist we had most days was so nice, sorry I missed taking her name but she was always asking how the renovations at home were coming on. The room we had was very spacious, although we did find the double bed small given we have king at home. The bath was so big I was amazed, it was so wide and long. Bathroom does need updating drastically though as the silicone around bottom of sink and toilet looks like it's been thrown down, shoddy workmanship. We had room 108. They could do with ripping the bathroom out and starting again. The shower rail was one of those which is not permanently fixed, you just tighten against two walls, it was so old, it was rusted. Having said that, it was better than staying home and having no bathroom! I ordered food in the bar on my last evening and I have to say the food is delicious. I would stay here again because despite the bathroom area, it was a pleasant stay and the room was cleaned spotlessly each day. I would rather stay here than the travel lodge anyway as it has a nice restaurant and bar. It just didn't feel right having to get up with the sun shining and go to work. I felt like I should have been on my holidays.

Reviewed by
D Harland

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent offer and location

Reviewed by
A Hurley

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Be Aware!
If you stay here the hotel itself is excellent, but please be very aware that they take a £150 security payment off your debit/credit card and do not tell you that until you pay your hotel bill the full £150 is totally unusable to you. I found this out to my peril when I tried to pay for food in the local Wetherspoon’s pub. Bob M

Reviewed by
Robert M

From Morpeth, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about all the noise!
We were given room 109 - a small comfy room, but the extractor vent from the kitchen was right outside the window, it was very very noisy and was not switched off till very late in the evening. There was a wedding reception taking place and as we retired approx 10.30pm the noise from the disco got louder and louder made even worse by the chatter of those attending! We got up, made a cup of tea, watched a little late night tv then read our books until midnight, when we hoped the event would end - just after midnight I rang reception to enquire how much longer the music would continue - the reply was curt 12.30p.m. sorry its a wedding - the music actually went on until 1a.m. and we had to leave the Hotel the following morning before 8a.m. We will not stay here again because they Hotel management obviously have a blatent disregard for the comfort of other guests staying at the Hotel who are not a part of wedding parties.

Reviewed by
K Holroyd

From Burton Fleming, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gone downhill

Reviewed by
D Bramall

From St Albans, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next