No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Imperial Crown Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42-46 Horton Street , Halifax, HX1 1QE
Built as a coaching inn during the early 1800’s, the Imperial Crown has been transformed into a stylish hotel without losing any of its traditional character. It is located in the town centre, opposite Halifax railway station and with easy access from the M62. The hotel is a great venue for special events with its time honoured library and wood-panelled rooms. The delightful Wallis Simpson Restaurant and Café Bar offer meals, drinks and informal snacks and there is also a relaxing, cobbled courtyard garden.

.
Picture of The Imperial Crown Hotel - a Corus hotel, Halifax at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

imperial crown
Have stopped at this hotel many times the rooms and staff are great and the breakfast is to die for. Good value for money. A superb locarion

Reviewed by
Robert Watt

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I feel like i made a friend in every member of staff, they were incredibly friendly and very helpful
A memorable stay, initially booked for 2 nights...but ended up staying 3.
Made very welcome by the staff, easy fluent check in, happy to answer so many questions on local history and other facilities nearby. The room was quite acceptable and comfortable, probably coming up for a little refresh although very clean. On the first night we had some outside noise that caused us disturbance until 3am, no fault of the hotel whatsoever, without any further ado they moved us straight up to the Executive suite, helping with our luggage also.. The restaurant was very nice and relaxing with swift on the ball service, the menu was quite variable with many options to suit all at very reasonable prices..the quality of the meals meant that apart from 1 meal on an outing, we ate in the hotel most of the time, no need to go elsewhere..Being a smoker was no issue as they have a good sized beer garden with tables and brollies..Not too strict on checkout either, they were very amiable to say the least, making the whole stay as stress free as you could imagine...I could not give this place enough credit and i would advise anyone to treat themselves to the fine hospitality that they have to offer...Many Thanks to each and every member of staff that made our stay absolutely memorable...PS Tea & Coffee facilities could only be improved by having Yorkshire Tea Bags..haha..Will go back there for sure..

Reviewed by
MARK C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Great location - minutes from station!.Restaurants and bars just around corner -perfect spot.
Very friendly staff,good sized room but bathroom very dark. In room 205 which was noisy at
night due to being so close to station and people going past to pubs and bars. Overall
would recommend though.

Reviewed by
jacqueline mcmorine

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super value for money.
Stayed over due to a work night out. Literally just needed somewhere to lay my head but got there early. Free wifi, free local parking and freeview on TV meant the spare couple of hours flew by.
Didn't try breakfast but wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Reviewed by
Marc Auty

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. the staff was very plesant.

Reviewed by
k tatum

From keighley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value, central location, food was very good, staff well trained and accommodating,
would stay here again

Reviewed by
Craig H

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel Close To Railway Station
Myself and my brother stayed here in a twin room whilst on a birthday treat weekend. It is just across the road from the train station and just a few minutes walk in to town. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here but the the accommodation and reception staff were very good. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Natalie J

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were locked out
Returned to the hotel about midnight to find we were locked out, rang the bell, nearly knocked the door down, after half an hour a porter let us in. My door keys were in the room if not would have gone home. Not a romantic evening at all to celebrate my partners birthday as we ended up rowing.

Reviewed by
Helen Harrison

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Corus Hotel in Halifax
Good value for a late booking but was on the top floor and there were no lifts or air conditioning. Staff friendly and helpful. Free parking was a bonus right in the centre of Halifax.

Reviewed by
D Hurst

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay whilst house being renovated
We stayed here 4 nights whilst our bathroom was being ripped out and renovated at home. We only live two miles away. This hotel came out as the cheapest in halifax, even cheaper than the travel lodge and as I had already seen the downstairs bar area once a couple of years ago, I didn't hesitate to book. The lobby and bar are lovely, oldie worldy, and the receptionist we had most days was so nice, sorry I missed taking her name but she was always asking how the renovations at home were coming on. The room we had was very spacious, although we did find the double bed small given we have king at home. The bath was so big I was amazed, it was so wide and long. Bathroom does need updating drastically though as the silicone around bottom of sink and toilet looks like it's been thrown down, shoddy workmanship. We had room 108. They could do with ripping the bathroom out and starting again. The shower rail was one of those which is not permanently fixed, you just tighten against two walls, it was so old, it was rusted. Having said that, it was better than staying home and having no bathroom! I ordered food in the bar on my last evening and I have to say the food is delicious. I would stay here again because despite the bathroom area, it was a pleasant stay and the room was cleaned spotlessly each day. I would rather stay here than the travel lodge anyway as it has a nice restaurant and bar. It just didn't feel right having to get up with the sun shining and go to work. I felt like I should have been on my holidays.

Reviewed by
D Harland

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next