No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Imperial Crown Hotel - a Corus hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
42-46 Horton Street , Halifax, HX1 1QE
Built as a coaching inn during the early 1800’s, the Imperial Crown has been transformed into a stylish hotel without losing any of its traditional character. It is located in the town centre, opposite Halifax railway station and with easy access from the M62. The hotel is a great venue for special events with its time honoured library and wood-panelled rooms. The delightful Wallis Simpson Restaurant and Café Bar offer meals, drinks and informal snacks and there is also a relaxing, cobbled courtyard garden.

.
Picture of The Imperial Crown Hotel - a Corus hotel, Halifax at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
72% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisey
We wasn't told upon check in that there was a function on that evening, we went to bed around 11am and the music was very loud!!!! We was told that it would go on until 1am which it did!! We could here every movement of the people above us the conversation and the TV, we could even here when they went to the loo!!!! the room was far too warm and there was only a tiny frosted window to open which had to be closed as the noise from the street was far too loud!! No apology was given when we checked out when I complained she just looked shocked!!! I will be sticking to my convictions next time and booking elsewhere!!

Reviewed by
Clare E

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


Thank you to Kenny for his friendly welcome and kindness. I had a very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
M P

From England
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what i needed
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were friendly and nothing was to much for them. The food was yummy and well priced. There was only one drawback no lift! But that is not insurmountable.

Reviewed by
Lynne C

From Poulton le Fylde, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

imperial crown
Have stopped at this hotel many times the rooms and staff are great and the breakfast is to die for. Good value for money. A superb locarion

Reviewed by
Robert Watt

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I feel like i made a friend in every member of staff, they were incredibly friendly and very helpful
A memorable stay, initially booked for 2 nights...but ended up staying 3.
Made very welcome by the staff, easy fluent check in, happy to answer so many questions on local history and other facilities nearby. The room was quite acceptable and comfortable, probably coming up for a little refresh although very clean. On the first night we had some outside noise that caused us disturbance until 3am, no fault of the hotel whatsoever, without any further ado they moved us straight up to the Executive suite, helping with our luggage also.. The restaurant was very nice and relaxing with swift on the ball service, the menu was quite variable with many options to suit all at very reasonable prices..the quality of the meals meant that apart from 1 meal on an outing, we ate in the hotel most of the time, no need to go elsewhere..Being a smoker was no issue as they have a good sized beer garden with tables and brollies..Not too strict on checkout either, they were very amiable to say the least, making the whole stay as stress free as you could imagine...I could not give this place enough credit and i would advise anyone to treat themselves to the fine hospitality that they have to offer...Many Thanks to each and every member of staff that made our stay absolutely memorable...PS Tea & Coffee facilities could only be improved by having Yorkshire Tea Bags..haha..Will go back there for sure..

Reviewed by
MARK C

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
Great location - minutes from station!.Restaurants and bars just around corner -perfect spot.
Very friendly staff,good sized room but bathroom very dark. In room 205 which was noisy at
night due to being so close to station and people going past to pubs and bars. Overall
would recommend though.

Reviewed by
jacqueline mcmorine

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super value for money.
Stayed over due to a work night out. Literally just needed somewhere to lay my head but got there early. Free wifi, free local parking and freeview on TV meant the spare couple of hours flew by.
Didn't try breakfast but wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Reviewed by
Marc Auty

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

me and my partner really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. the staff was very plesant.

Reviewed by
k tatum

From keighley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value, central location, food was very good, staff well trained and accommodating,
would stay here again

Reviewed by
Craig H

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel Close To Railway Station
Myself and my brother stayed here in a twin room whilst on a birthday treat weekend. It is just across the road from the train station and just a few minutes walk in to town. I can't comment on the food as we didn't eat here but the the accommodation and reception staff were very good. I would stay again.

Reviewed by
Natalie J

From Pontefract, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next