No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Woolpack Inn

4Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
THE STREET, CHILHAM , CANTERBURY, CT4 8DL
The Woolpack Inn is located in the Garden of England Just off the A28 between Ashford and Canterbury is the chocolate box village of Chilham, where you can find a real gem; the 600 year old Woolpack Inn is nestled at the bottom of the hill leading in the shadow of the Norman castle. With its vast oak beams and inglenook fireplaces it offers a glimpse into hospitality of yesteryear. The inn is said to be haunted by the Grey lady, a friendly ghost who wanders the main building.

Visitors can choose to relax in the cosy bar, the restaurant with its glorious bay window and country lane views or the patio courtyard where they will find the olive tree which has been in situ since the inn was built. Parking is not a problem with availability for 25 cars to the rear of the hotel and space enough to accommodate a coach. The Woolpack provides a great stop-over destination being just 30 minutes from the channel tunnel and Ashford International.

The Inn boasts a home-cooked menu with many of the ingredients being sourced locally. Fish comes off the boat in the morning and often is on the plate by lunch service. Simple, honest food seems to be the order of the day. Local mushroom sautéed in garlic butter, finished with stilton and cream and presented on a garlic ciabatta, real home-made steak & Spitfire Ale pie, and homemade strawberry shortcake give a hint of the homely fayre on offer.

The Woolpack Inn has 14 bedrooms, including two four poster rooms with rugs, roll-top baths and views to match. The double rooms are modestly priced at £60. The room are located in an old stable block, across, garage and the main building and are all tastefully decorated in keeping with the age of the Inn. Three have access to a small, private garden area- a great plus for families or an opportunity to just sit and unwind. The family-run Woolpack combines a fantastic location and great hospitality to make a memorable trip, a must on any visit to the South East
Picture of The Woolpack Inn, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
Beautifull hotel in a great location from the ferry port of Dover, very welcoming and great customer service by all. Breakfast wasn't the greatest but it's not all about that. Would definitely stay here again and will be recommending it to everybody I know.

Reviewed by
Gethin Davies

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxed stay
we enjoyed our stay in the beautiful woolpack inn
very much. Very friendly staff, good food, excellent rooms.

Reviewed by
anne b

From Netherlands
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing stay
I expected more on reading the reviews, First the room was small the toilet was placed in the smallest area possible the shower was poor I would prefer a hot shower, the bed creaked, very poor soundproofing so you shared your experience with other guests.
Food :- limited menu only to be told Chicken dish was sold out!! Hearing other guest order it wasn't the only thing off the menu this was at 18.30!! staff not hospitable in fact I felt quite uncomfortable at breakfast. certainly not a warm feel about the place.

Reviewed by
a robinson

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
Friendly staff, perfect quiet village location which is a short distance from Canterbury centre and wonderful food. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Peters

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely little hotel in beautiful quiet countryside. Stayed in converted stables just across the road from the main site. Bed was extremely comfy, room was very big and had all we needed. Hotel offer a shuttle.service into nearby Canterbury for a small fee. Lovely food and staff. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
c smith

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fine place to stay
We stayed at this lovely hotel for one night in a beautiful village to celebrate my retirement.
The room was very spacious and clean with a lovely four poster and corner bath.
The traditional breakfast was excellent.
I cant think of any faults other than that the TV remotes were a bit unpredictable.
It`s a pity the breakfast wasn`t included but was worth paying extra for.

Reviewed by
Peter Gatty

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return Visit
My wife and I stay at the Woolpack last year we liked it so much we returned this year!

Reviewed by
J Walsh

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old haunt revisited
We used to live locally and this was our local. Despite having changed hands twice the bar retained its old friendly charm as we remembered it. Staff were friendly, helpful and polite the rooms were good, excellent in one case although the bath was very slow to fill. Food really nice inn the resaurant and good service.

Reviewed by
Malcolm Eve

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

woolpack inn
The inn is lovely, the people where amazingly friendly, and i loved staying there.
My booking form said i had to pay for wifi, this wasn't the case and it also said my room had a DVD player which wasnt the case either.
The food was ok to very good, but expensive, £8 for a full english that consisted of 1 egg 1 sausage 1 black pudding 1 slice of bacon and a small bowl of beans is not value for money at all.
Over i was very impressed and was sad to leave.

Reviewed by
i thompson

From london, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Anniversary night
Stayed at the woolpack for our wedding anniversary. Old characterful hotel in quiet pretty village. The room was adequately furnished and the bed quite comfortable. It was very quiet, maybe because it was bank holiday Monday, but that suited us fine. But at £80 with no breakfast it was overpriced for the standard of room. Food was excellent but again expensive.

Reviewed by
Cynthia H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next