No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Firs Guest House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
13 Pier Street, West Hoe, , Plymouth, PL1 3BS
The Proprietors of the Firs Guest House would like to offer a warm and friendly welcome, to this family run Guest House suitable for either a holiday or business trip to Plymouth and the surrounding areas - ranging from Dartmoor to Land's End. It is conveniently situated just 150 yards from the famous Hoe Seafront while, within a mile's radius, is a wealth of local interesting spots including The Hoe, The Pavilions, The Barbican, Plymouth University, the City's Elizabethan Quarter; an excellent Aquarium, the 17th century Citadel, the Theatre Royal, the fine modern City Centre shops together with a whole variety of Restaurants and places of Entertainment. You'll also find located in close proximity are the Ferry Port, Terminal, the Bus Station, the Railway Station as well as facilities for sailing, fishing, swimming (in a municipal pool, private clubs or the sea), tennis, family crazy golf and a playground for children, not forgetting various organised boat trips to the Royal Naval Base at Devonport and other places of interest. Our comfortable accommodation provides you with well-furnished bedrooms some of which are with en-suite toilet and shower. Our family room accommodates four persons, in twin beds and adult-sized bunk beds.
Picture of The Firs Guest House, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

February visit
The owner gave me a warm welcome. The room was warm and comfortable and breakfast was substantial. Parking was available on the road and free overnight but I would have to have paid parking charges had I stayed beyond 10am.

Reviewed by
V Dunne

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place I would be happy to visit again
I had a very pleasant stay at The Firs. Clean room and, unusually for a b & b, the TV worked! The landlady - Lesley, was very helpful in accomodating my early arrival, for which I am grateful. The breakfast - in my case a 'full English', deserves mention: it was excellent. In fact, it was the best I've ever had at a bed & breakfast establishment. Great value for money, too. I would recommend The Firs to anyone visiting Plymouth and would be pleased to stay there again the next time I plan to go there.

Reviewed by
Marvin Naylor

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab guest house
Thoroughly recommend the Firs to anyone, first class accommodation,service and food. The room was excellent. Have already booked again.

Reviewed by
Sue Wright

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Firs Guest House
No complaints, warm comftable accommodation

Reviewed by
h harvey

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel dated but clean and very tidy
Would definitely stay again good value for money

Reviewed by
k sandy

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for a one night stay, very clean sheets and bathroom

Reviewed by
Claire C

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay For Concert At Pavillions
Good on the whole,shower area a bit on the small side.

Reviewed by
i h

From , England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Friendly Nice Place
Would stay here again and A.gain

Reviewed by
David Andrew Swift

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good for short stay
Easily found location, a bit noisy from roadside. Location was great as it offers a quick walk up to Plymouth Hoe, room was comfortable,bed nice and comfy. Pleasant for short stay.

Reviewed by
g kydd

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the fantastic firs
all i can say is i booked this b&b at literally the last minute , from booking confirmation i got an instant phone call from the owners at about 8 15 that evening informing me they were out for the evening however they still managed to get me checked in and sorted out when i arrived at about 9 30 , upon entering the room i was greeted by a airy tastefully decorated spacious room with all that i needed for a good nights sleep , the breakfast was cooked to absolute perfection with good quality ingredients with a very good choice on offer , all in all the firs is an excellant value for money b&b , if i were been picky the room wasnt ensuite however these were only a short walk from my room but it really didnt bother me so i am recommending the firs to all my work colleagues for the quality of rooms their food and their friendliness thanks again ! :)

Reviewed by
D Peaker

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next