No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hafod Elwy Hall

5Visit Wales Assessed Farmhouse Ratings explained
BYLCHAU, HLRAETHOG , BETWS Y COED, LL16 5SP
Unique and simply unbeatable. Spacious, tranquil, friendly, welcoming and second to none.
The beautiful rooms at Hafod Elwy Hall have quality and individuality reflecting the long history of this property once owned by Henry V111 and mentioned in records from 1334. From the original ‘thunderbox’ to the log fires, gun room and Edwardian bath tubs, every room is furnished with your comfort in mind including those little extras that make your stay special.
Set in our own thirty acres overlooking the stunning heather moors and lakes of Hiraethog with the spectacular backdrop of the Snowdonia ranges, you could not choose a more magical spot for your holiday, short break or simply to relax away from the demands of a busy life.
Our multi award-winning historic home combines high standards of comfort with responsible tourism, with food we serve grown on our own land, heating supplied by our boiler fueled from waste wood and electricity from our own discrete wind turbine, your get away won’t cost the earth.
Hafod Elwy Hall offers the unique opportunity of fishing using our private fishing rights on the nearby lake, to spot some of the rarest birds and wildlife in the UK and to cycle or walk for miles in safety. As night falls marvel at real star lit skies free from the light pollution of less natural areas. We’re also well placed to visit spectacular castles, gardens and the many other local attractions.

Hafod Elwy Hall. The choice of those who appreciate life.
Picture of Hafod Elwy Hall, BETWS Y COED at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Two night stay
Very friendly welcome,
The room was excellent and very clean.
Hafod Elwy is really out in the sticks so no walking home from the pub,
So peaceful and relaxing, there's no TV or wifi in the rooms ( there is a room down stairs to watch TV/sky) excellent for getting away from it all.
Good nights sleep in quality beds
Quality 5 star breakfast.
This house is very old with lots of character and history but is very clean and well kept.
We will return again
Thank you Wendy & Roger.

Reviewed by
andrew butcher

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So relaxing
Felt I could switch off as soon as we entered the place

Reviewed by
A Haythornthwaite

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Wow, great place to stay. A proper farmhouse in the middle of nowhere. To say it's remote is an understatement BUT that's what we wanted... Ish. We wanted a retreat in North Wales. We went for somewhere 'in Betws-y-Coed' however it was really 15-20mins drive away, on the moors in a little coppice. We thought it was going to be too remote for what we had planned BUT it actually worked out quite perfect. The room was immaculate, the setting was beautiful and the greeting was wonderful. Although we didn't sample the evening meal there (unfortunately) the menu looked spectacular. It was the perfect get away that we needed. BE WARNED however, although it states dogs allowed.... They are NOT allowed in the bedrooms. Understandable you may say, but my dog being a rescue dog does not like being left alone. Luckily we were able to leave him with my parents. On the whole though, Wonderful find!

Reviewed by
Pippa H

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming old hall, accommodation good except for shower which seemed to have a will of its own.

Reviewed by
Terry Anderson

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
it was an amazing house with great atmosphere lovely log fires and beautifully furnished with period chairs tables and bed. . Our welcome was warm and most helpful especially after we arrived very tired after a long drive Food was excelent and the situation on an isolated hill in upland wales most spectacular

Reviewed by
john salmon

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

off the beaten track
beautiful remote farmhouse, lovely setting; lots of nice extra's; amazing breakfast.
lovely room; comfortable bed with luxurious sheets and a bath you can swim in!

Reviewed by
frank Hargreaves

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
A great place to relax and getaway, stress free, excellent for walking... Perfect

Reviewed by
Karen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hafod Elwy Hall
A great place to stay, Very comfortable room with plenty of room. A true home from home. The host is a great cook and most helpful.

Reviewed by
Barry R

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful guest house, great location (very remote), excellent standards, great food, value for money and just a little bit different (in a good way) to any other hotel I have stayed in :-) Very pleasant stay, well recommended and I would definately stay there agin

Reviewed by
N Smith

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect retreat
Beautiful house, excellent room, very friendly welcome. Will be returning as everything suited us perfectly.

Reviewed by
paul lyons

From Fakenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next