No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Farmers Arms

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lowick Green , Ulverston, LA12 8DT
The Farmers Arms Hotel is set in the beautiful English Lake District, with views of the Crake Valley and the Old Man of Coniston.

We are situated 5 miles outside Ulverston near Coniston Water

The building offers a superb bar/restaurant serving home cooked food from our main menu plus a 'specials' menu which is updated each month. There is also a Stables Bar that dates back to the 14th century with original stone floor. There are also two outside seating areas to front and rear of property.

There are 10 guest rooms for all visitors to the Lake District, including single rooms for walkers, beatifully appointed rooms for couples and a four poster room for a romantic getaway. There is also a large car park to the rear of the property.
Picture of The Farmers Arms, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.
We stayed for a four day break and could not fault it. Our room was clean, comfortable and well appointed. The food is excellent, a good choice for breakfast and evening meals in the restaurant are hearty and large. We would recommend it to anyone and stay there again without hesitation.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay!! very good!!

Reviewed by
R Dandy

From Tyldesley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good accommodation for the money and breakfast excellent will definitely be going back
Ok

Reviewed by
derek D

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay ,staff 1st class, nothing was too much trouble !!!!
Really good accommodation, clean room , comfy bed and 1st class food with wide selection available for your evening meal, a hearty breakfast set us up for the day.

Reviewed by
Duncan Fitzpatrick

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Staff
Very friendly staff from initial greeting to morning breakfast. Rooms were clean, warm and sufficient with the little extras such as tea, coffee and excellent toiletries! I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Conan B

From Mansfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely setting and really nice B&B
We had problems finding it as we came upon it we saw the sign farmers arms lowick green we thought that can't be it as it was supposed to be in Ulverston as per the address given on booking. But it was the right one although nowhere on reservation mentioned lowick green. It was even more frustrating as we had no network coverage and couldn't check on website. Also photo of pub on late rooms features an old sign which is red and not the current one adding more to the confusion. However pub was lovely and room beautiful and bathroom was heaven. I could have done with a hair dryer though. Service was excellent and couldn't fault breakfast. Excellent all around.

Reviewed by
D Tolhurst

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff friendly, accommodation first class, food really good.
I will be going back.

Reviewed by
keith Evans

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fleeting visit to Lakes to join up with our daughter on scout camp as helpers for camp pack up
Made to feel very welcome on arrival mid afternoon. Enjoyed a brief visit to Coniston Water and returned early evening for a drink in the bar and dinner. Fortunately the landlady had reserved us a table as it became very busy in the restaurant and is obviously well known locally for serving good meals. We were very pleased with our main meals which were large so passed on the puds but they looked great as well.
Comfortable bed and very functional bedroom. The shower had body jets so a little surprised at how little power there was but not a problem.
Breakfast was delicious, well presented and plentiful.
Would definitely visit again. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
M Rigby

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely place to stay in beautiful location and will soon be back

Reviewed by
Christine Gill

From Maidenhead, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly accommodation , rooms are clean and tidy though the shower in tge bathroom is not very good but adequate , the staff are friendly and the food is excellent especially the breakfast it really sets you up for the day , I will definitely return ,

Reviewed by
derek dyment

From Rossendale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next