No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Farmers Arms

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lowick Green , Ulverston, LA12 8DT
The Farmers Arms Hotel is set in the beautiful English Lake District, with views of the Crake Valley and the Old Man of Coniston.

We are situated 5 miles outside Ulverston near Coniston Water

The building offers a superb bar/restaurant serving home cooked food from our main menu plus a 'specials' menu which is updated each month. There is also a Stables Bar that dates back to the 14th century with original stone floor. There are also two outside seating areas to front and rear of property.

There are 10 guest rooms for all visitors to the Lake District, including single rooms for walkers, beatifully appointed rooms for couples and a four poster room for a romantic getaway. There is also a large car park to the rear of the property.
Picture of The Farmers Arms, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 74 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely
Lovely welcome. Speedy reception and very informative. Clean basic room and bathroom. Lovely hearty food in nice set out eating area.

Reviewed by
Carol L

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get away from it all
If you want to get away from it all, go here - there will be no be mobile signal. At all. Wifi is limited to the reception, bar and restaurant area only. If you're over 5 feet tall, always duck your head as there are very low beams in most areas. Breakfast served from 8 - not ideal for someone who's meant to start work 13 miles away at 8 although they will leave sandwiches and cereal for you in the morning...

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue. friendly professional staff. food very good. real ale selection excellent.

Reviewed by
Leslie P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was a lovely traditional quaint pub, with a wonderful menu of wholesome food. Our room was good and the power shower was fab...Staff were all friendly, although we would have loved to of learnt more about the history of the building as it is a 14th century building.

Reviewed by
S M

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B
We were instantly impressed with The Farmers Arm on pulling up. It's a very quaint & well maintained property. On arrival & throughout our stay the staff were very helpful & welcoming. We booked a double ensuite room, very pleasant & clean with fresh towels & toiletries. I would recommend an evening meal, the food was superb. Overall excellent value for money & the website pictures don't do the accomodation justice. Just one thing to mention is that we used a taxis to go into Ulverston on the evening & for a 15 minute journey we paid £16 each way! A little pricey we though. Other than that I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
A Hall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On entering my room i was greeted by gang of
black flies of various sizes, a dirty bath towel
behind a small table. Unable to ventilate the room
as the windows did not open, so i fried during the night.
Bed linen lovely and clean, crisp and comfortable bed.
Left early before breakfast with a promise of cereal
and fresh milk available as an alternative, however
none to be found.

Reviewed by
J Green

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surprisingly great value inn
Was a bit apprehensive at paying £35 for a single room and breakfast but needn't have worried. This place is charming. The actual bedroom was a bit 70s and quite small but had everything that I needed.

Reviewed by
j livingstone

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Repeat visit
Excellent service and accommodation

Reviewed by
Mike L

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Stay
Just sheer value for money, Friendly staff, excellent food, just perfect for a country pub experience.

Reviewed by
j mason

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Good value for money - in an ideal location for the Lake District (South). Good service and good food choice - recommended

Reviewed by
H Chapman

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next