No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Farmers Arms

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lowick Green , Ulverston, LA12 8DT
The Farmers Arms Hotel is set in the beautiful English Lake District, with views of the Crake Valley and the Old Man of Coniston.

We are situated 5 miles outside Ulverston near Coniston Water

The building offers a superb bar/restaurant serving home cooked food from our main menu plus a 'specials' menu which is updated each month. There is also a Stables Bar that dates back to the 14th century with original stone floor. There are also two outside seating areas to front and rear of property.

There are 10 guest rooms for all visitors to the Lake District, including single rooms for walkers, beatifully appointed rooms for couples and a four poster room for a romantic getaway. There is also a large car park to the rear of the property.
Picture of The Farmers Arms, Ulverston at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 73 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Greart place to stay for business or leisure
Lovely staff, great food and service. Highly recommend.

Reviewed by
R Ward-Dooley

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend in the Lakes
Really enjoyed our night away have booked again for two more weekends during March.

Reviewed by
v mcfarlane

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Fabulous Farmers Arms
This place is a gem tucked away near penny bridge, old, characterful and quirky. The breakfasts are amazing with a great range of choice, this is also the case for the lunch and evening menus. The room I stayed in was advertised as a single ensuite, it presented itself with a double bed and good size bathroom including all the usual extras (TV, selection of beverages, kettle and toiletries in the bathroom). The decor of this room suites the character of the hotel and is most likely not to every travellers taste, but, this was top draw value for money and probably unbeatable in the area. I loved it and look forward to staying there again. Damon

Reviewed by
Damon Cox

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly but disappointing
Friendly enough staff in a charming old pub and I didn't expect much for my single room rate, but was disappointed nevertheless with the quality of the room (no. 10). This was very dated and allowed plenty of noise in from both the nearby road and bar / gents toilets below. Most frustrating of all given that I needed internet access for work I needed to catch up on and for planning my hikes was the very poor wifi. On day one, no access possible at all, on day two, some very limited access for a minute or so at a time. Response from the bar staff was 'yes - it's rubbish and doesn't work well with iPhones'. I'd treat this as an urgent technical issue to fix if they want repeat customers. Food was good for evening meals and popular with both locals and visitors. Breakfast quality could have been better. Overall an average experience and I expected much more.

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
nice place to stay clean,friendly,warm,good food,plenty of choice at the bar,this was a over night stay and would stay there again no problem

Reviewed by
steven b

From Bishop Auckland, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No problems.

Reviewed by
Kev Clark

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky pub as you would expect in lake district friendly staff and owners great food great value

Reviewed by
julie Robinson

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Me and husband had lovely stay here at new year, really nice, landlady really helpful. Would definitely stay again place really clean and breakfast fantastic.

Reviewed by
J Mcneil

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Homely
Lovely welcome. Speedy reception and very informative. Clean basic room and bathroom. Lovely hearty food in nice set out eating area.

Reviewed by
Carol L

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get away from it all
If you want to get away from it all, go here - there will be no be mobile signal. At all. Wifi is limited to the reception, bar and restaurant area only. If you're over 5 feet tall, always duck your head as there are very low beams in most areas. Breakfast served from 8 - not ideal for someone who's meant to start work 13 miles away at 8 although they will leave sandwiches and cereal for you in the morning...

Reviewed by
Mark G

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next