No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey House Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Victoria Road, , , Penrith, CA11 8HR
A warm welcome awaits you at our Cumbria Bed and Breakfast in Penrith... Abbey House Penrith B&B, offers a warm atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and a hearty traditional English breakfast. Our Guest House is located in the busy market town of Penrith in Cumbria. We are ideally positioned for visiting some of the country's most beautiful scenery including the Eden Valley, The Pennines, Scottish Borders and the Lake District, with the magnificent Lake Ullswater only five short miles away. Many of the finest lakeland fells are easily accessible, including Helvellyn, Blencathra and Skiddaw. We are also perfectly situated for the Coast to Coast Cycle Route, and have secure storage facilities for bikes. Our 5 guest bedrooms are all en-suite, with excellent facilities including TVs, hairdryers and a hot drinks tray. We also have off road guest parking available. Here at Abbey House B&B you are assured of the ideal bed and breakfast base, where you can relax and unwind whether you have had a hard day sight seeing, cycling, fishing or walking! Don’t just take our word for it - why not take a look at some of our guest comments?
Picture of Abbey House Bed and Breakfast, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stop only .....
Due to time constraints I was unable to enjoy the breakfast on offer, but the owner very kindly attended to give us breakfast earlier, albeit only cereal and tea/coffee. The accommodation was extremely well presented, exceptionally clean and well turned out. My room was quiet and comfortable and the ensuite bathroom more than adequate. My only gripe, minor though it is, is that parking turned out to be something of a lottery, as there were really only two spaces available and the third one left something to be desired, as if the second person hadn't parked sensibly, you were is serious danger of achieving a damaged car trying to get in or out. Sainsbury's car park quite close by, so I suppose that could have been an option, but feel to say that parking is availabe perhaps needs a little bit of clarification. Excellent stay though - pleasant host - so thank you.

Reviewed by
Paul Fewtrell

From Dumfries, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
Despite arriving reasonably late on Sunday evening my welcome to Abbey House was very warm. My room was almost a suite with the bathroom off a small entrance lobby. It was extremely comfortable and clean and I enjoyed an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast (vegetarian) next morning was lovely and exactly as I had ordered it the night before. I had managed to park immediately in front of the building and, as I was leaving to work in Penrith, hardly used any of the two hour parking ticket given to me by Abbey House.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this accommodation to friends, family and colleagues.

Reviewed by
S Collyer

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half Way
Very enjoyable,lovely welcome,would stay here again.

Reviewed by
B Davis

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient stay near the centre of Penrith
The entrance of the accommodation is welcoming as we're the staff on arrival - nothing to much trouble and relaxed - all the more important as situated on a busy street leading to the town centre.
We had worried that the room would be noisy but proved to be quiet with excellent facilities and well appointed with everything you might require. The owners have clearly take pride in assuring a comfortable visit and as an overnight stop-off point from the south for a trip to Scotland, was perfect.
The extra £6.00 pp for a lovely cooked Cumberland breakfast is highly recommended, and together with the sunny disposition of the landlady, made for a most positive start to the day. Seemed to be well suited to families and cyclists too!

Reviewed by
Ian M

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay!!
Lovey place to stay, good location 2mins from the shops. Room was extremely clean and very nicely done. Would recommend the breakfast too!!

Reviewed by
C Dale

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well chosen
We were greeted cordially by Ian. Our room was well furnished and appeared to be newly decorated. The B and B itself was easy to find and close to numerous eating places. This was an excellent overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Stella P

From Abergavenny, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room with en suite shower as requested. As an elderly female travelling alone I felt very safe here. Owners were friendly and breakfast was excellent. Ideally placed for M6/A66. Only downside was no opportunity for an evening meal.

Reviewed by
P Gould

From Fort William, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely little guest house
lovely little place, booked last minute and was a lovely stay

Reviewed by
G Harding

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent
havent got a bad word to say about my 2 night stay,very friendly couple,room was spotless &very comfy highly recomended

Reviewed by
julie h

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbey House - Definitely the Abbey Habit.
Excellent and friendly servce, a very well-appointed room with excellent facilities and a good location for visiting the town and surrounding areas - what more could you ask for?

Reviewed by
Leslie R

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next