Reviews - Abbey House Bed and Breakfast

7 Victoria Road, ,, Penrith, CA11 8HR

Price From 154.60 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (15)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Elizabeth L

  • September 2015

Pit stop on journey south.

Easy to find from M6, with parking spaces if you are lucky.

Accommodation very clean, good selection of coffee, tea and biscuits in the room. As we were arriving late, owner phoned us to check arrival time and left a key available for collection. Good breakfast, in clean, bright breakfast room, with good attention from the owner.

  • Chris Joslin

  • May 2015

Excellent value for money.

  • K Brice

  • April 2015

Pleasantly surprised

After a tough day doing Born Survivor at Lowther Castle, the room at Abbey House was very much welcomed.

The room was very clean and the hostess was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Lorna Gallacher

  • December 2014

Perfect in every way.

From the point of first contact , to arrival I was made very welcome.

Bed, pillows so sleep I've had in ages. Room was by main road but sound- proofed by good double glazing. Great breakfast, good choice, and also parking was easy. And so handy for an overnight stop,just off the A66 on the way to scotland.

  • John Davies

  • November 2014


This place is a gem.

  • david mc shane

  • October 2014

the accommodation was excellent and the food was great.The staff were very good and i would not hesitate to book again.

  • stephen w

  • August 2014

nice stay

Had 1 nights stay and we left our luggage on the morning at abbey house and when we returned later the luggage had been put in our room.

Spacious room, lovely bathroom. Had a nice evening watching tv and enjoying the hospitality tray nice biscuits. Could not fault it and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Paul Fewtrell

  • May 2014

One night stop only .....

Due to time constraints I was unable to enjoy the breakfast on offer, but the owner very kindly attended to give us breakfast earlier, albeit only cereal and tea/coffee.

The accommodation was extremely well presented, exceptionally clean and well turned out. My room was quiet and comfortable and the ensuite bathroom more than adequate. My only gripe, minor though it is, is that parking turned out to be something of a lottery, as there were really only two spaces available and the third one left something to be desired, as if the second person hadn't parked sensibly, you were is serious danger of achieving a damaged car trying to get in or out. Sainsbury's car park quite close by, so I suppose that could have been an option, but feel to say that parking is availabe perhaps needs a little bit of clarification. Excellent stay though - pleasant host - so thank you.

  • B Davis

  • May 2014

Half Way

Very enjoyable,lovely welcome,would stay here again.

  • S Collyer

  • May 2014

Excellent Value for Money

Despite arriving reasonably late on Sunday evening my welcome to Abbey House was very warm.

My room was almost a suite with the bathroom off a small entrance lobby. It was extremely comfortable and clean and I enjoyed an excellent night's sleep. The breakfast (vegetarian) next morning was lovely and exactly as I had ordered it the night before. I had managed to park immediately in front of the building and, as I was leaving to work in Penrith, hardly used any of the two hour parking ticket given to me by Abbey House.

I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this accommodation to friends, family and colleagues.