No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Abbey House Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Victoria Road, , , Penrith, CA11 8HR
A warm welcome awaits you at our Cumbria Bed and Breakfast in Penrith... Abbey House Penrith B&B, offers a warm atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and a hearty traditional English breakfast. Our Guest House is located in the busy market town of Penrith in Cumbria. We are ideally positioned for visiting some of the country's most beautiful scenery including the Eden Valley, The Pennines, Scottish Borders and the Lake District, with the magnificent Lake Ullswater only five short miles away. Many of the finest lakeland fells are easily accessible, including Helvellyn, Blencathra and Skiddaw. We are also perfectly situated for the Coast to Coast Cycle Route, and have secure storage facilities for bikes. Our 5 guest bedrooms are all en-suite, with excellent facilities including TVs, hairdryers and a hot drinks tray. We also have off road guest parking available. Here at Abbey House B&B you are assured of the ideal bed and breakfast base, where you can relax and unwind whether you have had a hard day sight seeing, cycling, fishing or walking! Don’t just take our word for it - why not take a look at some of our guest comments?
Picture of Abbey House Bed and Breakfast, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely place to stay
very pleased with everything. my kind of place. smart, clean, warm and friendly !

Reviewed by
c small

From Lossiemouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect for our needs
We stayed here to break up our journey to North Wales and we were very impressed. This B&B is very well-located for the M6, a petrol station that doesn't charge exorbitant service station prices and it's also within very easy walking distance of a Sainsbury's, a Co-op and town centre restaurants if you need to stock up on supplies or get something to eat. Room was spotless and had an ensuite shower-room. Ideally, shower would have been a bit more powerful but I'm being picky there. Breakfast was very good quality and there was a good selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt and toast as well as cooked options. Decent coffee too. Add friendly service to all of this and this place was perfect as far as we were concerned.

Reviewed by
Fraser Marshall

From Cupar, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable room

Reviewed by
D Horrocks

From Colwyn Bay, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb location with friendly staff
My daughter and I stayed at Abbey house on Saturday 1st December. Although the temperature outside was -4, the room was lovely and warm with the heating being kept on all night so we were not cold at all. We had extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe and the warm welcome we received was lovely. The room was clean and the tea tray was great.
We ordered a full cooked breakfast which was lovely and the dining room was very clean and pleasant to sit in. The best part of this hotel is the location - it is only a 2 minute walk to the centre of Penrith.

Reviewed by
Cheryl B

From Buckley, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B & B
We had a warm welcome at this central, value for money house. The room was a little small but we were only there for one night. It was very cold outside and the heating was on all night which for my friend and me was too hot, although most people would be grateful. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
S Dee

From Bedford, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time in Penrith
first time we have been to Penrith and we were fortunate enough to
( purley by chance ) stay at the abbey house b & b . The owners are welcoming, freindly and obviously eager to get things just right,. the house is spotlessy clean , the food is of good quality and delicious. Another bonous is the Abbey House is just a 5 minuite stroll from the small but livley town centre. we will certainly be back

Reviewed by
michael sweeney

From Kilmarnock, Scotland
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly Recommended
We booked a room 2 hours before arriving and received a friendly welcome. Excellent b&B accommodation and a short walk to good pubs and restaurants.

Reviewed by
Nick Mallabar

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean
It was a wet and windy night to stay in Penrith but the welcome and accomodation was warm and the breakfast hearty.

Reviewed by
Steven M

From Swadlincote, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable welcoming stay
Very friendly and welcoming. Lovely and clean. The breakfast was excellent. Ideally situated for a wander around Pentrith.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stop. clean , quiet, nice bed, good breakfast and friendly service

Reviewed by
alan hepburn

From Dartmouth, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3