No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kenwood Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
14 STOKE ROAD , STOKE-ON-TRENT, ST4 2DP
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g. Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, Wade and many more.

We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit.

The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away.

A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU.....

*Please notify us of your estimated time of arrival and if you will require parking, thank you.
*Check-in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm only.
*Check-out: 10.00am
Picture of Kenwood Guest House, STOKE-ON-TRENT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

stayed on the 8th nov, very nice people, could'nt do enough for us. room clean. lovely breakfast.
would recommend to anyone. good value. ideal spot near the theatre.

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your positive review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Kenwood. It was a pleasure to meet you, come back soon, you will be made most welcome.

Reviewed by
C Jarvis

From Wrexham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B and B, would recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Stoke on Trent. We were made to feel very welcome and the home made complimentary biscuits were delicious!

ManagementResponse

What a lovely review, thank you so much! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we will look forward to your return to the Kenwood very soon!

Reviewed by
J Ogle

From Horncastle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guest house with very friendly and helpful hosts. Nice touches like the biscuits,bottled water, & games, much appreciated. Area not the best but wouldn't put us off staying again. The house and garden were very well kept. Location was good for Alton Towers and our hosts gave us useful tips for our visit. The breakfast was excellent and there wasn't a long wait for it. We would definately recommend this hotel.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your positive review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to seeing you all again when you return to visit Alton Towers

Reviewed by
W Barr

From Crowthorne, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable break
Excellent service and we loved the extra touches like fresh homemade biscuits left in room daily.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and we will look forward to your return to the Kenwood very soon!

Reviewed by
Helen C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The single room was adequate for a short stay however the en suit was very very small .Home made biscuits were lovely,breakfast superb again home made jam and marmalade fresh fruit salad Full English and oat cakes with various fillings.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your positive review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to meet you. The en-suite in our Single Room is, as you say, perfectly adequate for a short stay, the size of which we cannot do anything about – this is reflected in the extremely competitive room rate - to make alterations would cost far more than we could ever hope to make a return on! However, the en-suite is modern, well equipped and includes many complimentary extras to ensure a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
M Armitage

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly, comfortable B&B
Very friendly owners. They apologised for disorder when there was none. The room was clean and comfortable, with homemade biscuits provided. I would certainly stay there again if I'm in Stoke. Try the oatcakes (Stoke speciality) for breakfast.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you, come back soon, you will be made most welcome.

Reviewed by
N Jackson

From Marlborough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely
We had a wonderful stay in a lovely mansion with a delicious breakfast and very nice hosts.

ManagementResponse

What a lovely review, thank you so much! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you both enjoyed your visit to the Emma Bridgewater factory. Come back soon, you will be made most welcome!

Reviewed by
Karen Walrave

From Heteren, Netherlands
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent Bed & Breakfast in Stoke.
Basically this was an excellent B&B. A clean and very pleasant, well decorated and equipped room. The two things that were missing, in my opinion, were face flannels and drinking glasses (flimsy disposable cups were provided). Breakfast was of a very good quality and service very attentive, but it was a pity that a lighter fish option was not offered, but perhaps this is unrealistic to ask of a smaller B&B establishment. Getting a good quality non Indian evening meal within walking distance was more of a challenge. Naturally this is in no way the fault of the B&B, but might affect one's decision where to stay, if you wanted a good quality non Indian meal locally. We would have no hesitation in staying again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! May we answer some of the points you raised. A face flannel is an extremely personal item, a very small minority of guests who use them will bring their own, as do those who use mesh shower sponges. With porcelain sanitary ware, there would be quite a major safety issue in providing breakable glass drinking glasses in our bathrooms. We can however provide wine glasses if you want to enjoy a glass of wine in your room! We have actually considered offering a fish option at breakfast, but you are right, we are a small guesthouse and it simply wouldn’t be financially viable. One idea would be that perhaps in replying to our confirmation email, a guest could request fish (just as they often request dietary requirements). Although, our extensive cold buffet selection, Staffordshire Oatcakes and our homemade vegetarian sausages (which are unique to the Kenwood), offer a good variety to satisfy as alternatives to our cooked Staffordshire breakfast. We are powerless in regards to other businesses in the immediate area, but within a short 15 minute walk you will find a variety of excellent, high quality non-Indian restaurants, some of which are included in our Welcome Pack because they have been highly recommended by our previous guests!

Reviewed by
M Gardiner

From Kyle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The way a Hotel should be .
I found the Kenwood an excellent experience ,it was a very comfortable and is in a peacefull environment . I found the couple who run the Hotel enjoy what they are doing and this reflects in there communication with visitors , long may that continue .Overall perfect stay ,for once in my life no complaints.thanks again.

ManagementResponse

What a fantastic review, thank you so much! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and next time Rod Stewart comes to town, be sure to come back to see us, you will be made most welcome!

Reviewed by
James C

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay, wonderful sausages
Wonderful spacious room, very clean. Homemade cookies on arrival. MUGS instead of cups - Hoorah! Breakfast was excellent, cooked fresh and you must try the homemade veggie sausages, they were delicious and we are not vegetarian. Made to feel very welcome in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we very much hope you will come back again soon to enjoy our homemade veggie sausages which are unique to the Kenwood!

Reviewed by
LISA WEIR

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next