No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kenwood Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
14 STOKE ROAD , STOKE-ON-TRENT, ST4 2DP
Kenwood is a family run guesthouse and is a winner of the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence. Located on the A5006 easily accessible from the A500 which connects with both junctions 15 & 16 of the M6 motorway. Kenwood is within walking distance of Stoke Railway Station and Hanley, which is the city centre and in close proximity to Stoke-on-Trent College and Staffordshire University. Stoke-on-Trent being home to the world's greatest and most respected pottery manufacturers is steeped in history, having many Visitor Centre's, Ceramic Museums and Factory Shops. Potteries Visitor Centre's are nearby e.g. Wedgwood, Royal Doulton, Wade and many more.

We offer six relaxing en-suite letting rooms, each with complimentary toiletries, fridge with complimentary bottled mineral water, courtesy tray to include Fairtrade tea, regular and decaf coffee and homebaked biscuits. There is a spacious dining room to enjoy our traditional English breakfast, freshly cooked to order using locally produced ingredients with a homemade vegetarian sausage option, an extensive cold buffet with a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurt and fresh fruit.

The guesthouse benefits from a secure, CCTV monitored car park at the rear and there is a bus stop immediately outside. There is a wide range of shops, restaurants and takeaways close by and is located close to popular attractions such as Hanley Park, the Brittannia Football Stadium, the Regent Theatre, the Cultural Quarter and Waterworld, UK's No 1 indoor tropical Aqua Park. The world famous Alton Towers theme park is only 13 miles away.

A WARM WELCOME AWAITS YOU.....

*Please notify us of your estimated time of arrival and if you will require parking, thank you.
*Check-in: 4.00pm - 9.00pm only.
*Check-out: 10.00am
Picture of Kenwood Guest House, STOKE-ON-TRENT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent Bed & Breakfast in Stoke.
Basically this was an excellent B&B. A clean and very pleasant, well decorated and equipped room. The two things that were missing, in my opinion, were face flannels and drinking glasses (flimsy disposable cups were provided). Breakfast was of a very good quality and service very attentive, but it was a pity that a lighter fish option was not offered, but perhaps this is unrealistic to ask of a smaller B&B establishment. Getting a good quality non Indian evening meal within walking distance was more of a challenge. Naturally this is in no way the fault of the B&B, but might affect one's decision where to stay, if you wanted a good quality non Indian meal locally. We would have no hesitation in staying again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! May we answer some of the points you raised. A face flannel is an extremely personal item, a very small minority of guests who use them will bring their own, as do those who use mesh shower sponges. With porcelain sanitary ware, there would be quite a major safety issue in providing breakable glass drinking glasses in our bathrooms. We can however provide wine glasses if you want to enjoy a glass of wine in your room! We have actually considered offering a fish option at breakfast, but you are right, we are a small guesthouse and it simply wouldn’t be financially viable. One idea would be that perhaps in replying to our confirmation email, a guest could request fish (just as they often request dietary requirements). Although, our extensive cold buffet selection, Staffordshire Oatcakes and our homemade vegetarian sausages (which are unique to the Kenwood), offer a good variety to satisfy as alternatives to our cooked Staffordshire breakfast. We are powerless in regards to other businesses in the immediate area, but within a short 15 minute walk you will find a variety of excellent, high quality non-Indian restaurants, some of which are included in our Welcome Pack because they have been highly recommended by our previous guests!

Reviewed by
M Gardiner

From Kyle, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The way a Hotel should be .
I found the Kenwood an excellent experience ,it was a very comfortable and is in a peacefull environment . I found the couple who run the Hotel enjoy what they are doing and this reflects in there communication with visitors , long may that continue .Overall perfect stay ,for once in my life no complaints.thanks again.

ManagementResponse

What a fantastic review, thank you so much! We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you and next time Rod Stewart comes to town, be sure to come back to see us, you will be made most welcome!

Reviewed by
James C

From Rushden, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay, wonderful sausages
Wonderful spacious room, very clean. Homemade cookies on arrival. MUGS instead of cups - Hoorah! Breakfast was excellent, cooked fresh and you must try the homemade veggie sausages, they were delicious and we are not vegetarian. Made to feel very welcome in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you both and we very much hope you will come back again soon to enjoy our homemade veggie sausages which are unique to the Kenwood!

Reviewed by
LISA WEIR

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely little guest house,very clean and comfortable,niclely decorated,good value for money.
We would defo go back to this guest house again,only sorry we couldn't of stayed longer,had the family room, which was two rooms ,kids even had there own TV! Nice size with tea and coffee and homemaid biscuits ,very yummy.breackfast was lovely,all local produce,kept us full all day !
Thank you for a wonderful stay we shall stay next visit to alton towers !

ManagementResponse

What a wonderful review, thank you so much! It is always nice to know that what we are doing is appreciated by our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, it was an absolute pleasure to meet you all, come back soon you will be made most welcome.

Reviewed by
Christina Miliziano

From Conwy, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Complementary homemade biscuits!
A very pleasant B&B. Extremely nice owners, good value for money & good breakfast. Complementary homemade biscuits were lovely and a nice touch in the room. Short walk from the station. Relatively small and basic room but no issue for me as travelling alone on business. Would recommend.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your positive review, it was our pleasure to welcome you to the Kenwood!

Reviewed by
Ben W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendest b&b
Clean and friendly breakfast good

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review We note you say the breakfast was good and yet you marked us down one point for food quality! We pride ourselves on offering an extensive breakfast menu to include a selection of fruit juices, cereals, pastries, yoghurts and fresh fruit salad. Our Staffordshire breakfast is made fresh to order, nothing is pre-cooked, we use locally sourced and free range ingredients and our homemade preserves and vegetarian sausages are unique to the Kenwood! We also note you marked us down two points for value for money, as we explained to you, when booking through an online booking site you do pay a premium room rate. You actually only paid £37.00 per person for bed & breakfast, a very competitive rate considering the many complimentary extras we offer in our rooms such as good quality toiletries, a selection of hot beverages, a fridge with bottled mineral water, free WIFI and of course our wonderful homemade biscuits!

Reviewed by
L Guyton

From Sidcup, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfaction guaranteed
We couldn't fault this guest house. Clean, beautifully decorated and a warm, friendly, family welcome. Plenty of home cooked food and those little extras that make a stay perfect!

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely comments, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure to meet you both. We are sorry you marked us down 2 points for value for money, however it should be noted that booking through an online booking site does mean you will usually pay a premium rate!

Reviewed by
Derek Y

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stoke
Lovley place to stay great breakfast

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your positive review, we are delighted your enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you, if you ever find yourself back in Stoke on Trent, you would be made most welcome.

Reviewed by
A Taylor

From Barmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Travelling as a lone female
I thought that there should have been a warning that there were no local facilities for food or drink. Nearest establishment was a "10 minute walk" through an area not really conducive to a female walking alone. Maybe a couple of takeaway delivery menus would be a good idea.
The décor is quite tired could do with new carpet although everything was spotlessly clean. I didn't feel particularly safe. The area in general is quite run down so I think it would be a good move to include a minibar/bar snacks so that once there you don't need to go out. The owners are really friendly and kind.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review. However we would like to defend some of the points you raised. Firstly, we are only a small, family run bed & breakfast guesthouse with only 6 rooms, it really would not be financially viable for us to provide evening meals or snacks. We do provide complimentary tea, coffee, homebaked biscuits and bottled mineral water in your room. There is a Subway, several takeaway outlets within a 2 minute walk from our front door and we have several takeaway menus for guests to use as we do allow food and snacks to be eaten in our rooms! There is also a huge Tesco supermarket within a 10 minute walk which is open 24 hours. It should also be noted, we do not hold an alcoholic beverage licence so would not be allowed to provide a mini bar, but there are 2 off licences within a 2 minute walk and we are happy to provide wine glasses, bottle openers etc so guests, as you did, can enjoy a drink in their room! We always send a courtesy email to every guest a few days before their expected arrival, providing any information requested, you didn’t reply to our email so we assumed you were happy with your booking and our city approach location. We have only been in the premises 14 months and in that time have redecorated several of the rooms, including the room you stayed in. We inherited the carpets from the previous owner and, although not necessarily to our own personal taste, are good quality and condition. We have actually laid new carpets in two of the rooms and have plans to refurbish the whole house eventually but this will take some time. At the moment our priority is to have the roof replaced at the rear of the property. Finally, upon departure you wrote a positive comment in our Guest Comments Book, saying you had a lovely stay and enjoyed our homemade vegetarian sausages, for which we thank you!

Reviewed by
Nicola W

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Return to Kenwood
I stayed at Kenwood during 2007 staying most weeks for 3 nights due to work commitments, it was superb , friendly and comfortable. When I booked my stay for this December I realised it was under new ownership. I need not have worried as the Kenwood is even better under its new owners! David and Julie made me very welcome , nothing was too much trouble and breakfast was superb!
Stay here with confidence... five star B+B Keith Copple

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! It was a pleasure to meet you and we very much hope you return in the near future, you will be made most welcome.

Reviewed by
Keith Copple

From Needham Market, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next