Reviews - Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel


Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, Nr. Woolacombe, Woolacombe, EX34 8NR

Price From 260.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

79% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Andy Tanner

  • May 2015

A Lovely, Relaxing, Easy going, Pleasant Hotel

We had a lovely, relaxing, easy going two nights, it was very clean, would definitely go back and would also recommend it to our family and friends.

It is a 3 star which we were very happy with.

  • Tony P

  • September 2014

Recommended - beautiful place

Very attractive building in a really beautiful setting.

The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant - thoroughly recommended.

  • S Thomas

  • August 2014

Lovely Devon hideaway

We had a wonderful two days here, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and there are plenty of places inside and out to relax.

The hotel is in a pretty Devon valley but very near the seaside at Woolacombe, Croyde, Ilfracombe and Saunton Sands. A great place for families with small children with the indoor pool with its inflatables and toys and fields and gardens to run around in.

  • Maurice C

  • August 2014

Trimstone Manor hotel.

Initial impressions of hotel were not good.

The lane down to the hotel was only wide enough for one car and grossly overgrown scratching my car on both sides. At the hotel it looked in a very poor state of repair looked like it hadn't been decorated for years. No one on reception to greet us had to ring bells to get attention. Room not ready but we only wanted to leave our bags and go in to Woolacombe. We were told our bags would be put in our room when it was ready.On our return to the hotel our bags hadn't been put in the room. The room was spacious with fourposter bed, chaise longue, other furniture and a fridge. But it all looked very dated apart from the TV but that only had a signal for one day out of the three we were there. The bathroom also had no door or even curtain for privacy, not to our taste. Fotunately the toilet was separate. We had two evening meals there both not worth the money. Obvious then why we were the only ones in there. Finished our meal one night and took our drinks outside to finish went back for another at 10.35pm no one about just a note on reception saying "gone home"' and an emergency contact number. Staff friendly, what few there were but hotel not run very well for the prices charged. Breakfast was good. Shame about the rest as it was a nice spot and very quiet.

  • Gary S

  • August 2014

Very quiet, peaceful, comfortable hotel

The hotel, in a lovely quiet countryside location, is 'old fashioned' and certainly in need of some updating but our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. For a relaxing, short break it was good.

  • Adam Reid

  • August 2014

The hotel was absolutely fabulous, great service and catered for our every needs.

  • Julie D

  • July 2014

Trimstone Manor

Very friendly and accommodating.

Beautiful location. Resident peacock, chickens and cockerels delightful

  • Martin Terry

  • July 2014

Best Service

This must arguably be one of the best hotels I have stayed in.

Faultless for customer service, room was excellent and the food was lovely. The staff there are so geared up to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Their attention to detail is faultless.

  • Zeki Tahir

  • April 2014

Just perfect

Nice welcome perfect service all round, very nice room very good service in the restaurant food exceptionally nice especially the way the carrots were served in butter and honey.

Altogether just wonderful. Next time I will bring the whole family. Well done.

  • Daniel D

  • April 2014

Nice hotel, lovely setting, shame about the spam financial advice from the owner

Staying in a lot of hotels for work I like to try independent hotels as they are typically better than the identikit chains.

This was no different, apart from a few things. On arrival I was greeted by a shout from reception, until she realised I was a guest. As this hotel is quite a long way from the town I ate in the restaurant. I was told there were bar meals until 9. When I got to the restaurant at 8 PM I was told he'd have to check with the chef if they are still doing food. I then asked for a bar meal and was told to pick something off the main menu and they'd make it like a bar meal. Food was good but a little disjointed. The biggest bug bear though is that the owner is a financial advisor, who now has my email address and keeps send me financial advice about investments. I don't want to know how to "fiddle my tax" I just wanted a room for the night!