Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > West Down Hotels > Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

3Visit England Assessed Small Hotel Ratings explained
TRIMSTONE , WOOLACOMBE, EX34 8NR
Nestled within 44 acres of picturesque gardens and countryside near to Exmoor and the North Devon Coastal Path, this elegant Hotel boasts tranquil surroundings, superb dining and free Wi-Fi.

The property, with origins in the Domesday Book and parts dating back some 400 years, has retained many of its original features including a static water wheel and mill house.

There are 11 en-suite rooms each of which is well-maintained and furnished to a high standard.

The delightful Tyme Restaurant offers relaxed surroundings, beautiful views and quality modern cuisine created from fresh, locally sourced seasonal produce.

Other on-site facilities include an indoor heated swimming pool, tennis court, sauna, fitness room and games room.

It’s about an hour from Junction 27 off the M5, 85 minutes from Exeter and 20 minutes from Barnstaple. There are plenty of nearby attractions including Exmoor National Park, Woolacombe Bay, Saunton Sands and Croyde.
Picture of Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel, WOOLACOMBE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended - beautiful place
Very attractive building in a really beautiful setting. The staff could not have been more helpful and pleasant - thoroughly recommended.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We shall look forward to seeing you here again! My very best wishes, Philip J Milton, Owner, Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Reviewed by
Tony P

From Burnham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Devon hideaway
We had a wonderful two days here, the staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and there are plenty of places inside and out to relax. The hotel is in a pretty Devon valley but very near the seaside at Woolacombe, Croyde, Ilfracombe and Saunton Sands. A great place for families with small children with the indoor pool with its inflatables and toys and fields and gardens to run around in.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From Wallington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very quiet, peaceful, comfortable hotel
The hotel, in a lovely quiet countryside location, is 'old fashioned' and certainly in need of some updating but our room was very comfortable, clean and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent. For a relaxing, short break it was good.

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was absolutely fabulous, great service and catered for our every needs.

Reviewed by
Adam Reid

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trimstone Manor hotel.
Initial impressions of hotel were not good. The lane down to the hotel was only wide enough for one car and grossly overgrown scratching my car on both sides. At the hotel it looked in a very poor state of repair looked like it hadn't been decorated for years. No one on reception to greet us had to ring bells to get attention. Room not ready but we only wanted to leave our bags and go in to Woolacombe. We were told our bags would be put in our room when it was ready.On our return to the hotel our bags hadn't been put in the room. The room was spacious with fourposter bed, chaise longue, other furniture and a fridge. But it all looked very dated apart from the TV but that only had a signal for one day out of the three we were there. The bathroom also had no door or even curtain for privacy, not to our taste. Fotunately the toilet was separate. We had two evening meals there both not worth the money. Obvious then why we were the only ones in there. Finished our meal one night and took our drinks outside to finish went back for another at 10.35pm no one about just a note on reception saying "gone home"' and an emergency contact number. Staff friendly, what few there were but hotel not run very well for the prices charged. Breakfast was good. Shame about the rest as it was a nice spot and very quiet.

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr and Mrs C, Thank you for your review though I am sorry you were unhappy with so many things of your stay. We try really hard to ensure that our guests' expectations are met when they arrive and indeed exceeded and why our marketing material on the website and Laterooms' site is full of photographs and information so that guests arrive with an expectation of who we are and what we do. I am sorry that evidently we failed in this instance in that we are and were not for you but I am also quite disappointed with a number of things about your review itself. Our Lane is a Council Highways' maintained road. We drive a large 4x4 and a van and even articulated lorries occasionally make it to us - all 300 yards from the A361. The hedges are traditional 'Devon Lanes' and are cut by field owners/farmers when nature and wildlife is ebbing away - not at the height of July and 'life' when you stayed. Our name suggests we are in the 'Country' and that is a key reason why people select us to come and stay and not a Town or city 'box' hotel. Devon lanes have passing places too - there are two on the 300 yards from us to the main road but the Lane is very quiet anyway. As for scratching your car this is ludicrous and defamatory - the foliage is all lush green material, that Spring's growth, which is cut-back every year and only if you scrape the roots of the hedge by driving far too close to it would you scratch your vehicle - the same as if you drive too close to a wall in your home area! I take umbrage at your defamatory comments about decoration of the Hotel. Since we moved here and then reopened in 2009 we have spent the best part of £1million on refurbishment, improvements and all such things - including thorough redecoration and recarpeting, etc (yours was one of the last rooms to be recarpeted). Of course we don't do that every year but how dare you be so rude to say that our Hotel is in a 'poor state of repair'. The fact that Trimstone is mentioned in the Domesday Book and has been worked in and lived-in for well over 1000 years is hardly something to criticise and if that is what you wanted to do- why did you ever choose our characterful and homely property (which is also our home) in the first place over a clinically utility 'Premier Inn' or something like that as we should never satisfy your expectations? You describe some of the furniture as 'dated' well... usually antiques are old for goodness sake! I apologise that there appeared to be no-one at Reception when you turned-up much earlier than the check-in time when you were expected (we try to ask arrival times from all guests). That is why the bells are at Reception of course..... so you could ring them for attention and perhaps the Receptionist was taking a toilet break? I think she was entitled to do so! We are only a small Hotel - not a sprawling five star metropolis! My Family was away whilst you stayed and usually we are always 'there' as extra relief but the staff would have been busying themselves around the property - but sorry regardless. Of course you could leave your bags and yes, I agree, they could have been taken to your Room in advance of your return but they were safe whilst you were out and I trust you had help to take them to the room if you wanted it, when you returned? You have commented on the room in which you stayed for three nights. In fact, you were upgraded free of charge to our Prestige Plus Room too! Why did you not say that you did not like it as soon as you arrived - or right afterwards? The four poster bed and corner bath are usually seen as 'plus features' and the quirky ability to sit in the bath and watch the television! We could even have moved you the next morning and without charge as we should have done whatever we could to make sure you were happy. We had our prestige 'Arlington' Double available the three days so there is no excuse for not mentioning your subjective dissatisfaction. However, I think you enjoy writing a list of 'criticisms' so had we resolved any issues you wouldn't have been happy after all as that would have taken the wind out of your sails. You have said how helpful the staff were. In fact, I am unaware that you actually said anything negative to anyone whilst you were with us as certainly there were no reports whatsoever of any problems and everyone was noted as being 'nice people' and you have said how friendly (and approachable) the staff all were. The lovely couple who were in the room right before you (and who stayed thirty years before as well) had a super time and left some really nice comments with oodles of 'excellent' marks on the questionnaire (which you chose not to complete). On their form they described the room as 'a luxury room' 'commanding a high price'. The TV - why on earth did you not mention that you were having trouble with your TV? You had depressed some switch on the remote control which needed resetting, a simple task and we could have attended to that immediately. Then you talk about Tyme Restaurant. So, four choices of each of three courses primarily of home-prepared fare at £23.50 (pre-booked by residents) and personal service is expensive when we often had sirloin steak on the menu as well (which I have seen nearby is £19.95 alone)? A nearby hotel charges £42 for the same! I think you want a 'Wetherspoons' if you think we are expensive! I am sorely entertained however in that if it was so awful and poor value, you still came back for a second helping the next night... come, come! We have some excellent accords for our food so please do not criticise inappropriately with snide comments but remember too we are a small and intimate Hotel.. When you finished your drinks outside I suspect the staff member assumed you had gone to your room so I am sorry about that. They always ask guests who are finishing drinks, should everything else be done and it would seem sensible for them to finish unless guests want them to remain. A staff member was resident on duty whilst we were away and had you wanted extra drinks, as the notice says, all you needed to do was buzz the bells on Reception. So, always sorry when the 'wrong' type of guests appear when we try so hard to describe ourselves as we are. You suggested our prices were high but they are much lower than other local three and four star hotels and you knew what they were before you came. I think you are the type of people who expect five star service, etc, for two star prices! I think too you failed to put a value on where we are, the surroundings and what we do but please, next time stay in a Town and a big modern, noisy, impersonal Hotel as we are unlikely to ever be able to meet your exacting needs - certainly at the price you are prepared to pay. I wish you well with your future holiday choices and do encourage you to research your choices carefully in future to make sure they are likely to meet your expectations - at the price you are prepared to pay. Yours sincerely, Philip J Milton, Owner

Reviewed by
Maurice C

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Trimstone Manor
Very friendly and accommodating. Beautiful location. Resident peacock, chickens and cockerels delightful

Reviewed by
Julie D

From Christchurch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best Service
This must arguably be one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Faultless for customer service, room was excellent and the food was lovely. The staff there are so geared up to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Their attention to detail is faultless.

Reviewed by
Martin Terry

From Calne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just perfect
Nice welcome perfect service all round, very nice room very good service in the restaurant
food exceptionally nice especially the way the carrots were served in butter and honey.
Altogether just wonderful. Next time I will bring the whole family.
Well done.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review - it was great to meet you and I am so pleased you had a good time with us. I hope you returned fully refreshed! We shall look forward to seeing you again and meeting all the family! I apologise too in that my girls should have upgraded you to a double room as we were quiet so next time, remember to hold me to that! Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments - always most appreciated. My very best wishes, Philip J Milton, Owner, Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Reviewed by
Zeki Tahir

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, lovely setting, shame about the spam financial advice from the owner
Staying in a lot of hotels for work I like to try independent hotels as they are typically better than the identikit chains. This was no different, apart from a few things. On arrival I was greeted by a shout from reception, until she realised I was a guest. As this hotel is quite a long way from the town I ate in the restaurant. I was told there were bar meals until 9. When I got to the restaurant at 8 PM I was told he'd have to check with the chef if they are still doing food. I then asked for a bar meal and was told to pick something off the main menu and they'd make it like a bar meal. Food was good but a little disjointed! The biggest bug bear though is that the owner is a financial advisor, who now has my email address and keeps send me financial advice about investments! I don't want to know how to "fiddle my tax" I just wanted a room for the night!

ManagementResponse

Dear Mr D, Thank you for leaving your comments. I am sorry if anything offended you following your stay as I assure you no such thing was intended and indeed, you will have noted we upgraded you to a Classic Double Room without any supplement. I shall delete your details from the associated database though I suspect you have seen the 'unsubscribe' button on any email. Thank you for your own company's unsolicited brochure incidentally - sorry we haven't ordered anything from you yet! As we only had two sets of guests in residence that evening, my staff tried to contact you during the day in relation to your dinner requirements and I understood you changed your plans last minute and my chef delayed leaving to prepare a large seafood platter for you from the main menu that evening and she only charged a very concessionary price as opposed to the Table d'hôte which could have been £25.50 for two courses. I had understood you had enjoyed that. I am not quite sure what happened regarding the 'shout from reception' though something doesn't sound correct and I am sorry if any greeting was abrupt as that would not have been the intention. Usually we are known for a friendly and courteous greeting. Thank you for leaving your comments and we hope next time that you will be more content with all aspects of your stay. My very best wishes, Philip J Milton, Owner, Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Reviewed by
Daniel D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Holiday at Trimstone Manor
A very comfortable room, we requested a quiet room preferably on the ground floor and this was granted. It was very peaceful. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The swimming pool delightfully warm. A good holiday which we would be happy to recommend or to go again.

ManagementResponse

Dear Dr G M, Thank you very much for your review - it was a pleasure meeting you both and we are so pleased you had a good time with us - and you brought excellent weather too! We shall look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments - always most helpful. My very best wishes, Philip J Milton, Owner Trimstone Manor Country House Hotel

Reviewed by
G M

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next