No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head Hotel Hawkshead

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Queens Head Hotel , Hawkshead, LA22 0NS
Since the early 17th Century The Queen's Head Inn has been welcoming weary travellers and visitors to the village of Hawkshead. Some things don't change, whether you want to drink, dine or unwind, you will find The Queen's Head the perfect base to explore the beautiful South Lakes of Cumbria and beyond.

We have thirteen comfortable guest rooms all with private bathrooms and all individually styled and furnished. Free Wi-Fi is available for all our guests throughout the entire hotel.

Our restaurant, has a menu to suit all tastes. Each dish is devised and perfected by our head chef and is designed to utilise local ingredients from local suppliers. Whether it's a light lunch or an evening meal, The Queen's Head offers a warm welcome and good food to those in search of a relaxed and traditionally English environment.

The village of Hawkshead is within a 10-minute drive of both Coniston Water and Windermere, and within 15 minutes by car, hikers can be at the feet of the renowned central Lakeland fells.
Picture of Queens Head Hotel Hawkshead, Hawkshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely place.
Every inch the lovely Village Inn, with a cozy and comfortable bar/restaurant and a wonderful room, complete with 4 poster! The bathroom was modern, up to date, clean and large. Was there an issue, if you need one, maybe the shower could have been a bit more powerful, but really, it was everything you could want. Be warned though, Villages wake up early, and cleaning lady's like to say a very hearty hello to all they meet, even under your window, but you have to give it a try.

Reviewed by
Rod S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Late getaway
We booked this hotel having seen the hotel from the outside many times and discovering that it had recently been refurbished. The rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard, nice decorations, great bathroom and spotlessly clean! The breakfast was very good, with good local ingredients! Had an unfortunate incident on final night with boiler making a noise for several hours, but we're moved to another quieter room!

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay. The room was excellent and well presented. Nothing else to say except that I would stay again.

Reviewed by
William l

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great all round

Reviewed by
R Hall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay
Room condition was excellent - clean and modern.
Staff were very nice and helpful
Food and bar very nice and well stocked

Reviewed by
J Burnett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room. Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
chris oram

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed! :(
Being Wedding Planners & looking for new hotels for our brides, we took our anniversary weekend as a chance to check out a different location & accommodation, & booked a twin room in a pretty Inn, which altho a little more expensive than others, was chosen for its looks, & the fact we had never stayed in a building like that before.
After being stuck on the motorway in blistering heat for 8hrs, we arrived 15mins before the kitchen closed at 9pm, so had a long drive out to find some food as nothing was available.
When checking in it was embarrassing taking our bags into a bar full of folk, as we were soaking wet in creased clothing. We hadnt seen a reception area as it was a small window tucked behind where a band was setting up... we were told room 12, & then disappointingly ushered out of the Inn & down a side lane to the ground floor of a small cottage which had a fire door to the upstairs flat right next to the bed, with a bolt on their side! ..needless to say I didnt sleep, & we took all valuables when we went out as didnt feel secure.
The twin bedded room I'd booked turned into a double bedded room, so hubbys snoring was right in my ear! & when the folk upstairs came in around 01.30 every sound could be heard, & our ceiling was creaking & sounding like all the lights etc; were going to come down.
As the insulation was so poor I was embarrassed about my husbands loud snoring, & I also muted the tv, so as not to disturb them. Not the sort of thing I would expect in a hotel.
The bathroom, however was gleaming, with all you needed & the bed was soft, altho the room was rather small.
We didn't care for the long walk from the carpark with heavy bags, but all staff were lovely & breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Carol McGregor

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel and good food staff very helpful and very clean rooms

Reviewed by
J CHATTAWAY

From South Ockendon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous little find
Beautiful pub and small boutique hotel. Stayed for one night but wish it could have been longer so that we could have explored the area more. Lovely meal and great atmosphere. We will be back!

Reviewed by
Tam Farrell

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Stayed in the family room (101) great room ,traditional beams with modern touches ,fabulous bathroom.The Queens is a busy lakeland pub serving good food and the choice of 4 real ales.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfasts are very good my son especially liked the american style pancakes.
I would recommend the Queens and Hawkshead as a great venue and destination

Reviewed by
Keith M

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next