No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Queens Head Hotel Hawkshead

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Queens Head Hotel , Hawkshead, LA22 0NS
An open fire and open-arms welcome greet you as you enter the flag-floored, oak-beamed Queens' Head Hotel, in the English Lake District. New face or old flame, we offer you the same cosy reception.

You'll feel instantly at ease amongst our real ales, genuine hospitality and food so local, so fresh and so full of flavour, it's a revelation.

Our hotel has been part of picturesque Hawkshead since the sixteenth century. It was around when William Wordsworth attended the local grammer school. You can still see the desk where he carved his name - he was nifty with a pen knife rather than a pen in his early days.

Surrounded by fells and forests, a stone's throw from Esthwaite water, close to Lake Windermere & centrally positioned to explore the whole of the Lakes our hotel offers every element for the perfect break.
Picture of Queens Head Hotel Hawkshead, Hawkshead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great all round

Reviewed by
R Hall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice place to stay
Room condition was excellent - clean and modern.
Staff were very nice and helpful
Food and bar very nice and well stocked

Reviewed by
J Burnett

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice room. Staff very helpful.

Reviewed by
chris oram

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointed! :(
Being Wedding Planners & looking for new hotels for our brides, we took our anniversary weekend as a chance to check out a different location & accommodation, & booked a twin room in a pretty Inn, which altho a little more expensive than others, was chosen for its looks, & the fact we had never stayed in a building like that before.
After being stuck on the motorway in blistering heat for 8hrs, we arrived 15mins before the kitchen closed at 9pm, so had a long drive out to find some food as nothing was available.
When checking in it was embarrassing taking our bags into a bar full of folk, as we were soaking wet in creased clothing. We hadnt seen a reception area as it was a small window tucked behind where a band was setting up... we were told room 12, & then disappointingly ushered out of the Inn & down a side lane to the ground floor of a small cottage which had a fire door to the upstairs flat right next to the bed, with a bolt on their side! ..needless to say I didnt sleep, & we took all valuables when we went out as didnt feel secure.
The twin bedded room I'd booked turned into a double bedded room, so hubbys snoring was right in my ear! & when the folk upstairs came in around 01.30 every sound could be heard, & our ceiling was creaking & sounding like all the lights etc; were going to come down.
As the insulation was so poor I was embarrassed about my husbands loud snoring, & I also muted the tv, so as not to disturb them. Not the sort of thing I would expect in a hotel.
The bathroom, however was gleaming, with all you needed & the bed was soft, altho the room was rather small.
We didn't care for the long walk from the carpark with heavy bags, but all staff were lovely & breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
Carol McGregor

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful hotel and good food staff very helpful and very clean rooms

Reviewed by
J CHATTAWAY

From South Ockendon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous little find
Beautiful pub and small boutique hotel. Stayed for one night but wish it could have been longer so that we could have explored the area more. Lovely meal and great atmosphere. We will be back!

Reviewed by
Tam Farrell

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place
Stayed in the family room (101) great room ,traditional beams with modern touches ,fabulous bathroom.The Queens is a busy lakeland pub serving good food and the choice of 4 real ales.
The staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfasts are very good my son especially liked the american style pancakes.
I would recommend the Queens and Hawkshead as a great venue and destination

Reviewed by
Keith M

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Little Place To Stay
Very clean and comfortable room with tasteful decor, excellent en-suite and friendly service. Supper was delicious.

Reviewed by
Caroline Griffiths

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Experience
I booked into the Queens Head Hotel, as an overnight stay, when returning to Scotland. I foiund the Hotel and the Village itself very quaint. The staff and Hotel ambiance was very welcoming! I was not disappointed with my selection of the Hotel. Would highly recommend The Queens Head Hotel

Reviewed by
John L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very welcoming and friendly place. The pub downstairs served delicious food (breakfasts were great!) and the newly refurbished room and bathroom were lovely. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
J Herman

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next