Reviews - The Queens Head Inn and Restaurant


Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside, LA22 0NS

Price From 192.53 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • David Fraser

  • September 2015

Lovely experience

This is a 17th century coaching inn in a very beautiful little village .

Our room wasn't large but it was very well appointed with high quality bedding, fittings and superb shower room. Food was very good and staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Elaine G

  • September 2015

A bit disappointed

I felt it was quite an expensive stay for a room in a pub!.

Shower didn't work properly & no porridge on the menu - to me these are basics that I expect from accommodation I have paid £130 for. Also no phone signal anywhere. Will not b returning although food was lovely & staff great.

  • Anita S

  • July 2015

Haws head hotel

Beautiful rooms and attention to detail was superb

  • A Bynoe

  • April 2015

A lovely weekend away!

We had a really nice weekend away in this quaint and charming little inn.

The food was great. A good variety and quality of food. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy, and a lovely design. It was a very cosy room that we stayed in.

  • Monika S

  • April 2015

Easter Break

A very cosy pub with great accommodation.

Very helpful, friendly and welcoming reception and bar staff. Rooms pretty decorated with complementary refreshments. The only minus is that flush in the the toilet did not work properly. Would go back again.

  • Mark T

  • April 2015

Perfect for a weekend getaway

Really enjoyed our weekend at the Queens Head.

Great combination of good accommodation, great food, lively atmosphere in the evening with restaurant being full and live music yet a lakes pub feel. Staff excellent, perfect location for exploring the lakes....we will definitely be back.

  • P Pringle

  • March 2015

Queens Head Hotel Hawkshead

The room was a very high standard, comfortable beds, with both a shower and bath.

Very quiet and very relaxing. Staff were also very friendly and accommodating. Hawks head is the perfect spot for exploring the Lake District.

  • E Coyne

  • March 2015

lovely weekend break

Wonderful hotel.

We stayed in one of the cottage rooms. It was really peaceful. I would definitely stay there again.

  • S anderson

  • March 2015

Super stay

The hotel in the public area is lovely old beams dark wood floors and great fires a real olde world charm.

By contrast our room was a lovely stylish well presented area and a very modern bathroom all very clean and we enjoyed our three day stay. We ate in the hotel on two occasions and the food was of a very high standard and the staff very good.

  • Rod S

  • October 2014

What a lovely place.

Every inch the lovely Village Inn, with a cozy and comfortable bar/restaurant and a wonderful room, complete with 4 poster.

The bathroom was modern, up to date, clean and large. Was there an issue, if you need one, maybe the shower could have been a bit more powerful, but really, it was everything you could want. Be warned though, Villages wake up early, and cleaning lady's like to say a very hearty hello to all they meet, even under your window, but you have to give it a try.