You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter your destination and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Queens Head Inn and Restaurant


Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside, LA22 0NS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (15)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • G Courtney

  • July 2016

It Ain't Cheap, But It's Worth It

You get what you pay for.

At first glance, a stay at the Queens Head in Hawkshead can seem a tad more expensive than other places in The Lakes. However, it's worth it because this is a gem of a place. You park in the main public car park, only a 5 minute walk to the hotel, but the cost of this is covered by your stay. Don't feed the machine for a ticket.Saunter along to the hotel and you head straight into the cosy bar reception area. The staff are great. Really helpful. The bar has several local brews and there's Prosecco on draught. We've now stayed in 3 different rooms, all fine, all comfy, all nicely appointed and all spotless. If you want dinner at the hotel, you'll need to book. I'd recommend that you book before arriving there. It gets busy. This is hardly surprising 'cos the meals are outstanding. Good wine selection too. Breakfast is either cooked or continental, both have a good selection. It's the sort of place where you can either plonk yourself in the corner and read a book or just use it as a base for walking trips. The wifi is free and quick. Overall, you can't go wrong.

  • IAN M

  • February 2016

A very pleasant stay. Great room, all hotel staff friendly and helpful Food also great.

Didn't know what to expect after booking a last minute break at the Queens Arms.

But pleasantly surprised and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • B Ashman

  • February 2016

Great rooms, beautiful location, service spot on

Great place, lovely rooms, attentive staff.


  • December 2015

A great place to stay and eat!

All staff were very welcoming and the room was beautifully decorated and very clean.

We ate in the restaurant Friday and Saturday and the food was excellent both times.

  • Maxine M

  • November 2015

Mid week Lakekand Winter Break

Warm and very friendly welcome from staff and pub goers ( 4 legged variety included) Due to bad weather and flooding we were the only guests who continued their reservation.

The local beer is a must especially the Taster trio. Once the fires had been lit in the bar, warm and cosey was the order of the evening. Steak night is well recommended. Their 'Fish Finger Butty' was exceptional for a midday nibble . ( couldn't eat an evening meal later as still full). Although the rain continued all week this did not dampen the local attendance in the restaurant bar. Dog owners are also made very welcome. The Superior room which was set above the main entrance was warm and the facilities provided were as expected. Only the pillows could have been better - too soft and felt like feathers. Bathroom brilliant , however watch out for the hot water in the sink. Very hot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Queens Head. The Breakfast set us up for the whole day, the surrounding village, shops and people of Hawkshead were also friendly and welcoming. Advice on local history, routes freely given we will return in the new year if possible .

  • Hayley W

  • October 2015

Lovely bed and breakfast.

Perfect for a trip in the lakes. Away from the hustle and bustle of Windermere but only a quick car trip away.

  • David Fraser

  • September 2015

Lovely experience

This is a 17th century coaching inn in a very beautiful little village .

Our room wasn't large but it was very well appointed with high quality bedding, fittings and superb shower room. Food was very good and staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Elaine G

  • September 2015

A bit disappointed

I felt it was quite an expensive stay for a room in a pub!.

Shower didn't work properly & no porridge on the menu - to me these are basics that I expect from accommodation I have paid £130 for. Also no phone signal anywhere. Will not b returning although food was lovely & staff great.

  • Anita S

  • July 2015

Haws head hotel

Beautiful rooms and attention to detail was superb

  • A Bynoe

  • April 2015

A lovely weekend away!

We had a really nice weekend away in this quaint and charming little inn.

The food was great. A good variety and quality of food. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy, and a lovely design. It was a very cosy room that we stayed in.