Reviews - The Queens Head Inn and Restaurant


Main Street, Hawkshead, Ambleside, LA22 0NS

Price From 204.74 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (25)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Maxine M

  • November 2015

Mid week Lakekand Winter Break

Warm and very friendly welcome from staff and pub goers ( 4 legged variety included) Due to bad weather and flooding we were the only guests who continued their reservation.

The local beer is a must especially the Taster trio. Once the fires had been lit in the bar, warm and cosey was the order of the evening. Steak night is well recommended. Their 'Fish Finger Butty' was exceptional for a midday nibble . ( couldn't eat an evening meal later as still full). Although the rain continued all week this did not dampen the local attendance in the restaurant bar. Dog owners are also made very welcome. The Superior room which was set above the main entrance was warm and the facilities provided were as expected. Only the pillows could have been better - too soft and felt like feathers. Bathroom brilliant , however watch out for the hot water in the sink. Very hot. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Queens Head. The Breakfast set us up for the whole day, the surrounding village, shops and people of Hawkshead were also friendly and welcoming. Advice on local history, routes freely given we will return in the new year if possible .

  • Hayley W

  • October 2015

Lovely bed and breakfast.

Perfect for a trip in the lakes. Away from the hustle and bustle of Windermere but only a quick car trip away.

  • David Fraser

  • September 2015

Lovely experience

This is a 17th century coaching inn in a very beautiful little village .

Our room wasn't large but it was very well appointed with high quality bedding, fittings and superb shower room. Food was very good and staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

  • Elaine G

  • September 2015

A bit disappointed

I felt it was quite an expensive stay for a room in a pub!.

Shower didn't work properly & no porridge on the menu - to me these are basics that I expect from accommodation I have paid £130 for. Also no phone signal anywhere. Will not b returning although food was lovely & staff great.

  • Anita S

  • July 2015

Haws head hotel

Beautiful rooms and attention to detail was superb

  • A Bynoe

  • April 2015

A lovely weekend away!

We had a really nice weekend away in this quaint and charming little inn.

The food was great. A good variety and quality of food. The room we stayed in was very clean and tidy, and a lovely design. It was a very cosy room that we stayed in.

  • Monika S

  • April 2015

Easter Break

A very cosy pub with great accommodation.

Very helpful, friendly and welcoming reception and bar staff. Rooms pretty decorated with complementary refreshments. The only minus is that flush in the the toilet did not work properly. Would go back again.

  • Mark T

  • April 2015

Perfect for a weekend getaway

Really enjoyed our weekend at the Queens Head.

Great combination of good accommodation, great food, lively atmosphere in the evening with restaurant being full and live music yet a lakes pub feel. Staff excellent, perfect location for exploring the lakes....we will definitely be back.

  • P Pringle

  • March 2015

Queens Head Hotel Hawkshead

The room was a very high standard, comfortable beds, with both a shower and bath.

Very quiet and very relaxing. Staff were also very friendly and accommodating. Hawks head is the perfect spot for exploring the Lake District.

  • E Coyne

  • March 2015

lovely weekend break

Wonderful hotel.

We stayed in one of the cottage rooms. It was really peaceful. I would definitely stay there again.