No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Awentsbury Hotel

2Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
21 SERPENTINE ROAD , BIRMINGHAM, B29 7HU
Awentsbury Hotel is a Victorian Country House Hotel close to Birmingham University and only 2.5 miles from the city centre. Set in own grounds in peaceful surroundings

Close to University Hospitals, Cadbury World, Indoor Arena, Convention Centre ,easy access to NEC. and University of Central England.  Ideally located for attractions within Birmingham and the surrounding area.

A warm welcome awaits you
Picture of Awentsbury Hotel, BIRMINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
52% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and tidy friendly people

Reviewed by
P Shiel

From Seahouses, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
I lived in the area as a child and came to go to a friend's funeral. The hotel is near to the centre of Birmingham and the room had everything I needed for my stay.

Reviewed by
M Tozer

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Clean, warm room. Friendly staff. Pleasant location.

Reviewed by
CHRISTOPHER W

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was really more a B and B than a hotel. No Bar. En-suite functional for small people

Reviewed by
Charles B

From Grimsby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't stay here again
The house itself is quite nice but needs a lot of money spent on it. The room I stayed in was small and basic with no en-suite toilet. Breakfast was uninspiring and anemic. Customer service was lacking warmth. If it wasn't such a good location for the University I don't think they would get much trade at all.

Reviewed by
Doug C

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly


This is an inexpensive hotel and, not surprisingly, the accomodation was basic, but adequate

Reviewed by
STELLA B

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice accommodation
It is a nice accommodation. Thanks

Reviewed by
Yongjiang Huang

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Awentsbury Hotel
Close to Birmingham University. Easy to use good cheap basic accomodation. Good breakfast

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic But Good
On first arriving I thought I had done the wrong thing, it looks dowdy and run down, however, the gent who runs everything was friendly and efficient. The room though in need of refurbishment (the whole place needs refurbishment) was clean and provided exactly what I wanted - a comfortable, quiet nights sleep. Breakfast (cooked by the same chap) was excellent. As a place for a business traveler or a budget tourist it is fine, wouldn't recommend for a romantic break though.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and Convenient
I stayed at the Awentsbury hotel whiklst attending a conference at the University. It was comfortable and very reasonably priced. I found it very convenient because of its proximity to the campus.

Reviewed by
G Port

From Stocksfield, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next