No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stone House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Stafford Road , Stone, ST15 0BQ
Former country house, set in attractive grounds, restored and enlarged with modern amenities, leisure and function facilities. Quiet location, yet easy access to the M6, and most of Staffordshire’s attractions. The Hotel has beautiful gardens with an attractive patio area, and guest facilities include an excellent restaurant, the Garden Restaurant with original fireplaces, lounge bar, indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. The Stone House Hotel serves as an ideal business venue, with conference facilities to suit. Our facilities are also ideal for functions and weddings alike. The hotel is situated just off the M6, between junctions 14 and 15 with easy onward access to the M56, M5 and M42.
Picture of Stone House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Stone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Their Greatest Asset
The Staff are the greatest asset of this lovely Hotel
We had a fantastic time

Reviewed by
Kim Johnson

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good food
Food was very good, all staff very polite and nice, pool just the right temperature and the bed was very comfy. Very good value, perfect for a quiet night away.

Reviewed by
N Dodd

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, portion sizes have got smaller, but still adequate.
After trying many of the local hotel and the Alton towers hotel itself we now always stay here whenever we go to Alton Towers. Its a short drive (although satnav goes a different random route everytime), the quality of the hotel for the price is excellent.
The food is of good quality, although the portion sizes at breakfast have become smaller since the last time I had one, it was great quality, but I did find myself eating the black pudding to try and fill up which is something I've never done before. Hash browns were a little overcooked, but that is forgivable and the rest of the food was perfectly cooked and I've never had an issue with quality previously.
Arrived too late for a restaurant meal this time as Alton Towers didn't close until 9, but we did arrive just in time for last order on bar food. The barman was great, well turned out and polite, no complaints there, a little odd that if you pay by card you need to go to reception, but not an issue as its only a few feet away. Food came quickly and was again of good quality. You do only get 6 chips with the beer battered fish and chips, but the fish itself is very large.
Will definitely continue to stay here for all future trips, and would recommend over all the other local options in the same price range, and definitely over the Alton Towers hotel itself, which is vastly overpriced since the room quality is lower than here.
I didn't use the pool this time as we arrived too late, but have used it on previous visits and its always been lovely and warm, and quiet.

Reviewed by
Oliver Barnes-Morgan

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb Customer Service & Friendly Staff
Lovely hotel with exceptional customer service and friendly staff. Required an extra night and this was accommodated without any fuss. We stayed with our two young children and visited Alton Towers. We all had a great time and this was topped off with a lovely stay at the Stone House Hotel. We will return.

Reviewed by
B Moore

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good.
Late booking,but very satisfied.Nice food ,good size room but.lack of toiletries ? ,!
French speaking male receptionist,quite puzzling as I am English.My boyfriend said it was probably his chat up line ! Sorry I don't speak french ,but my 11 year old did translate for me.
Thanks anyway.

Reviewed by
Jayne J

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Value Accomodation
We had a nice 2 night break here and would not hesitate to return. Excellent value, great food, comfortable rooms and pleasant staff. The hotel is a bit dated and the rooms are basic but has everything you need for a short break so do not let that put you off and I believe it is due for a refurbishment in few months. If we are ever planning another trip to Alton Towers with our daughter we would definitely consider staying here again. Many thanks.

Reviewed by
Duncan R

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and family friendly
We stayed here midweek the hotel was very clean, beds comfortable, nice pool. The receptionist provided warm milk for my child and was very caring, she interacted well with my toddler. We did not eat on the evening but had a fab breakfast which we all really enjoyed.

Reviewed by
B Jones

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Give it a miss!
The feel of the hotel reminded me of a dated care home, there was duct tape covering frayed carpets and there was a dusty smell to the hotel. The room was ok - there were cobwebs in the room and the bathroom smelled of damp towels. There was hair in the plughole in the bath and overall it did not feel clean.
The service in the bar was poor - asked for a wine list (it couldn't be found), the barman did not know which wines he had for sale or at what price. When we eventually ordered a bpottle of wine it was warm, so we requested an ice bucket.
The dining room for breakfast was a mess, there were very few clean tables and the staff regularly walked past the tables without attempting any clean up. There was no direction from the staff on where to sit, how breakfast was served. The staff had to be asked to top up the fruit juices and buffet items despite regularly walking past the empty containers.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay with us at the Stone House Hotel. I would gladly have discussed any issues with you at the time. I agree however that cleanliness, good service and standards are a must, and I apologise if on this occasion our standards fell below those that we genuinely aspire to. Please be assured that your comments have been discussed at length with those department heads responsible, and where applicable will ensure that further training and guidance is provided. We do appreciate feedback, as it is through comments made such as by yourself that we can truly monitor, maintain and indeed improve the standards of service we offer. Kind regards, Mike

Reviewed by
nichola h

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely
Second visit to stone house and enjoyed it just as much as the first. A few little issue but nothing major as the stay itself was so relaxing. The staff were really friendly and very helpful. We did find that we waited at the bar a while to be served but generally excellent in all other areas including our room which was very comfy and spacious.

Reviewed by
Nick Daniels

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Excellent hotel great location for access to local town

Reviewed by
Chris P

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next