No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stone House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Stafford Road , Stone, ST15 0BQ
Former country house, set in attractive grounds, restored and enlarged with modern amenities, leisure and function facilities. Quiet location, yet easy access to the M6, and most of Staffordshire’s attractions. The Hotel has beautiful gardens with an attractive patio area, and guest facilities include an excellent restaurant, the Garden Restaurant with original fireplaces, lounge bar, indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. The Stone House Hotel serves as an ideal business venue, with conference facilities to suit. Our facilities are also ideal for functions and weddings alike. The hotel is situated just off the M6, between junctions 14 and 15 with easy onward access to the M56, M5 and M42.
Picture of Stone House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Stone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 110 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception staff lovely. Room was clean. That's the only good thing about this hotel. Rooms badly in need of updating, outside needs tidying up. Corridor doors constantly banging. We were in a family room and in the next room was a hen party after complaining twice they got louder. Night porter obviously doesn't do rounds. Walls are very thin. Did not appreciate the second night hearing the couple having sex!
Breakfast had a good selection however the bacon and sausage was dry and egg over cooked. Rooms on ground floor have windows that only open fully so couldn't leave open when sleeping as someone can climb in. Very outdated, noisy and overpriced hotel don't recommend for families.

Reviewed by
Kate W

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great staff, shabby decor
The reception staff were great. Giving us directions, suggesting places to visit, and places to eat. Breakfast was great, a large selection and staff were really accommodating for our young children. Room was a good size but too warm. Some of the chairs in the garden room were very shabby

Reviewed by
Victoria h

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel in lovely settings, with friendly staff and nice, big bedrooms.
Upon arrival, staff were friendly, courteous and happy, and this continued throughout our two night stay. We were travelling as a family, with a child and teenager and had a family room, which was lovely and large, and bright and airy. The hotel was very quiet which ensured we got a good nights sleep. The grounds were stunning, and we made use of the swimming pool and gym. Although we did not have dinner in the restaurant, we did have breakfast, which was tasty and came with a quick service, and of course, a smile from the waitress. Will definitely use this hotel again when we're in the area.

Reviewed by
J Soward

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly staff!
Room was not ready on arrival but we were provided with tea and coffee while we waited.
The room was clean and comfortable.
Lounge and bar area were OK but a little tired and in need of updating.
Ate bar meals which were a little limited and would go for the restaurant next time but the breakfast was excellent.
Convenient location from the M6 motorway!
The receptionist was very pleasant and went out of her way to be helpful.

Reviewed by
G Morgan

From Pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money for a stop over for Alton Towers,
I paid £120 for the 4 of us. This included £50 off our meal. Not bad for a hotel with a pool near Alton towers!

Reviewed by
andrew b

From durham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Third time staying so can't be too bad!
The wi fi was not very good - the signal was very hit & miss in our room but it wasn't the end of the world. On both occasions that we dined in the restaurant some items on the menu had run out - even ice cream! Having said that the food that was on the menu was good and room service was excellent. Our room was very spacious and clean. We had a family room which included double bed, single bed, z bed and a cot ( the grandchildren stayed with us overnight). The swimming pool was lovely and warm.

Reviewed by
Dawn C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alton Towers Trip
I have to say that the Reception staff were all very helpful and friendly. On the way back from a trip out we lost our way and called the hotel up for directions. The Receptionist was excellent and gave us clear instructions on how to get back on track. When we arrived we had a very warm welcome. The breakfast in the mornings were lovely and the atmosphere was relaxed. I would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
yvonne c

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location shame about the food
On arrival receptionist on duty lacked any interest, nor had any knowledge about the hotel or the surrounding area, and when we asked about dinner as it was included in the package deal she had no idea about it.
Location of hotel is great, easy to find and a short walk into the town. Also well signposted for both North and south M6. Room clean and good size for the three of us.
Food was terrible, 17 pounds for lamb shank which was tasteless no sauce or veg and a tiny circle of potatoes.. Several customers sent back food while we were there. Restuarant was empty second night which tells a story

Reviewed by
D Bennie

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

keep up the good work
Friendly hotel staff great pool and sauna. Dead comfy and clean room would recommend to anybody with family or business.if eating out watch out for Mojo's Indian place they phone you a taxi which charges you double the price ask hotel for taxi number.please watch out!!

Reviewed by
c burns

From Airdrie, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
My wife and I stayed one night on our anniversary the staff were pleasant and the pool area was good.
We had dinner and breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed both.
On the night we stayed there was a wedding party so the music was a little loud till around 1a.m.

Reviewed by
C Tudor

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next