No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stone House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Stafford Road , Stone, ST15 0BQ
Former country house, set in attractive grounds, restored and enlarged with modern amenities, leisure and function facilities. Quiet location, yet easy access to the M6, and most of Staffordshire’s attractions. The Hotel has beautiful gardens with an attractive patio area, and guest facilities include an excellent restaurant, the Garden Restaurant with original fireplaces, lounge bar, indoor swimming pool, sauna, and gym. The Stone House Hotel serves as an ideal business venue, with conference facilities to suit. Our facilities are also ideal for functions and weddings alike. The hotel is situated just off the M6, between junctions 14 and 15 with easy onward access to the M56, M5 and M42.
Picture of Stone House Hotel - a Bespoke Hotel, Stone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 111 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Very well presented , clean and breakfast wide variety only complaint was that it was a warm summer night and the said the heating was off however the raidiator in the bathroom was on constantly when asked if could be turned off was told no it was a towel rack and could not be switched off made room very hot.

Reviewed by
A Mccormick

From Paisley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would go back.
We found the Stonehouse to be very easy to find, it was surrounded by beautiful greenery and our stay was welcoming and all we needed. It was nice and quiet too.

Reviewed by
J Parker

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and pleasant
This was a lovely place to relax after a day at alton towers

Reviewed by
D Hunt

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly staff, food was amazing and I couldn't fault our room. I would 100% stay again

Reviewed by
Shakira P

From Walton on Thames, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, comfortable room, great food, staff helpful & provided good customer service & good value for money. Enjoyable stay overall but the hotel could do with a bit of TLC as it was looking a bit tired

Reviewed by
Steph J

From Rochdale, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth no more than the £54 paid
"Bespoke" hotel in the middle of an industrial estate just off a duel carriage way!Tired hotel and the staff seemed the same, almost bored in their attitude.. Had to keep asking for sight of the evening menu. Fire doors to bedrooms absolutely filthy. Scrambled egg was not made with fresh eggs, watery and tasteless. Did not look like the toilet had been bleached in a long time, visible tide line. Drain outside bedroom window stank. So glad we were only there for one night and hadn't paid anymore.

Reviewed by
Jennifer D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

If I had paid full price I would have been horrified by the indifference of the staff and quality of the room. At the price I paid it was reasonable value.

Reviewed by
Paul Garner

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, in desperate need of a refurb and a new chef! Breakfast shouldn't be difficult but burnt bacon, burnt toast, very well done sausage, half a mushroom!!!!! No black pudding! Broken hard fried egg! Dinner was far from perfect to. Staff are very friendly though! Whole stay was a bit like being in an episode if Fawlty Towers!!

Reviewed by
Sally N

From Potters Bar, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

needs updating
we really enjoyed our 2 day stay In between going to Alton Towers, we didn't know what to expect but was impressed, beds were very comfortable but the rooms were very warm at night, couldn't open the window during the night as when opened they we very wide, the swimming pool was great our young boys really enjoyed this and spent as much free time we had in the pool. breakfast was ok and had a lot of choice. it needs to be updated really, too many flowery carpets, curtains and décor, seemed a bit dated.

Reviewed by
Nicholas B

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly disappointing
Although the room was big and clean, it was not what we expected from the pictures on the website. The food was terrible. The decor in the public areas was dated, if not downright grubby (bring your own antimacassar). The staff did their best (other than the initial receptionist that 'welcomed' us). The garden was very pleasant, if you faced the right way. The hotel has potential with a complete refurb.

Reviewed by
A Cornell

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next