No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverdale Hall Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
BELLINGHAM , HEXHAM, NE48 2JT
Riverdale Hall Country House Hotel and award winning restaurant. Free wifi, open log fires, indoor heated swimming pool, sauna, bar and terrace, cricket field and salmon river in its own delightful grounds.

Riverdale Hall Hotel is situated in a beautiful, tranquil setting, a short riverside walk to the small town of Bellingham - gateway to Northumberland National Park, near Hadrian's Wall and Kielder Water and Forest, just some of the county's major tourist attractions.

Our Les Routiers Gold Plate award winning restaurant, and team of chefs, headed by Iben Cocker, Stuart Naylors and Tony Johnston, have established for themselves an enviable reputation for the standard of their cuisine. Our menu changes daily and uses seasonal and local produce of the finest quality.
Picture of Riverdale Hall Hotel, HEXHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting - Lovely Hotel
Second stay here and just as good as the first.
The Garden rooms are lovely with a peaceful view down to the river.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
P Mason

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite up to expectations
A small country house which has been extended rather unsympathetically. Many of the bedrooms are in adjacent buildings, albeit very close to the main house. Feels a bit jaded and needs some investment to bring it up to country house hotel standard. I didn't use the pool but my wife reported it as 'not particularly clean'. Breakfast was OK but dinner disappointing - the quality of the ingredients was fine but unimaginatively presented - just like the whole experience really. Bellingham a fab village though with some great independent shops and you can eat much better at the Cheviot Arms.

Reviewed by
Paul Williams

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disapointed
We stayed in room 18 for the disabled and we thought the shower seat could have done with a good scrub, it was black with mildew around the feet area.
Also outside the shower cubicle was dirty.
There was a lot of dead blue bottles in the bathroom.
There was a blind at the window that did not open, the glass was not frosted on the window it was covering.
No bottled water, one plastic glass.
One bath towel and one hand towel for two people. no flannel.

Reviewed by
C Clark

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
The Riverdale is a lovely hotel, we had a superior double which was separate from the main hotel and looked out over the cricket field. The view was beautiful as was the peace and quiet. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the hotel staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly be staying there again in the future.

Reviewed by
B White

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely spacious and well equipped room and bathroom. Cooky rambling routes through the hotel.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good except for breakfast service.
Stayed here when visited Kielder Observatory. Our room overlooked the green lawn at the rear of the property, and it was such a treat to have a swimming pool in a small country-house hotel like this. Our room was newly decorated and fine. The swimming pool was warm, but the paint on the ceilings needed replacing and the sauna was just off lukewarm. Breakfast was the worst part. Only one woman was serving the whole room, so we had to wait for our order to be taken, it took ages for breakfast to arrive, three attempts to try and get a refill of coffee (and the refill was just coffee-stained hot water when it arrived!), and the toast did not turn up either. People all around us were becoming frustrated at the breakfast service. Other than that, fine.

Reviewed by
T Kirby

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff second to none
I have never written a review before but feel I need to for our stay at this hotel. We booked it last minute and didn't know what to expect but our expectations were totally exceeded. From the minute we checked in our experience was first class. It was made so by the staff at the hotel, the friendliest staff I have ever experienced. The receptionist, the barmen, the cleaner, the breakfast waitress and even the maintenance man. All really pleasant and couldn't do enough for my husband an I. The room (room 3) was spotless and unique and we also had a swim and a sauna. Lovely hotel, lovely staff. Thank you 😊

Reviewed by
T Richards

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverdale Hall Hotel
Although I felt the room (No. 2) we stayed in was not worth £129 per night (that may be because it was a bank holiday weekend) and thought it was quite basic and in need of sprucing up, we both enjoyed the experience. The area was tranquil, the staff very friendly and excellent in their service, the food was reasonably priced and delicious, big thank you to the Chef. I would not choose to stay there again at that price but I would certainly recommend it for eating out if you are in the area.

Reviewed by
J Skelton

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverdale Hall Hotel review
Excellent value for money, really enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Mary O

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming staff
Really enjoyed my stay. Lovely room with good view. Staff very friendly and helpful. Don't be put off by the fact it is only 2 star. I'd looked at this over a year ago and ruled it out due to the 2 stars but had a better stay here than in some of the 4 star places I've stayed in. Would definitely return.

Reviewed by
MARGARET B

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next