No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Riverdale Hall Hotel & Leisure

3Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
BELLINGHAM , HEXHAM, NE48 2JT
Nestled in the picturesque Northumberland countryside, close to the Town of Bellingham, this striking Country House Hotel offers award winning cuisine, a quaint riverside location and extensive leisure facilities, including an indoor heated swimming pool, sauna and superb river fishing.

Each of the 28 en-suite guestrooms have their own individual charm and character, with a combination of traditional yet elegant décor and comfortable furnishings they offer an ideal retreat for those looking for a stress-free night’s sleep.

Award winning, gourmet dining combined with friendly, efficient service creates a unique gastronomic experience at the Riverdale Hall Hotel Restaurant. The stylishly appointed restaurant delivers a delightfully relaxed setting for guests to enjoy the truly inspired range of dishes on offer.

With a wealth of leisure and sporting facilities available within the grounds of the hotel and the scenic Northumberland countryside at your door step, guests are never short of something to do at the Riverdale Hall Hotel. The onsite indoor swimming pool and sauna offer a haven of tranquillity for those looking to get away from it all.
Picture of Riverdale Hall Hotel & Leisure, HEXHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Riverdale Hall Hotel, Bellingham, Hexham
I have just had the most superb stay at the Riverdale Hall Hotel. The staff are friendly and so helpful - nothing was too much trouble. I dined every night and had the most delicious food: succulent, juicy burger with hand cut chips, sea bass and then hake - so fresh and served with perfectly cooked vegetables - all cooked to perfection - many compliments to the chef. I enjoyed a cooked breakfast every morning and it was no trouble at all to have an early breakfast. I could not have been treated better and will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
J Lewin

From Lutterworth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shame about the dust and cobwebs
Food amazing, beautiful location, staff friendly and helpful, windows filthy, dust on surfaces, cobwebs around the chandelier. tired paintwork.

Reviewed by
S James

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel
Set in a lovely countryside location, the staff in this hotel welcome you with a cheery smile. We had a Superior Double room which had it's own balcony. The room was very clean and tidy, although slightly let down be a tired avocado bathroom suite. The Full English Breakfast had a bit of everything expected and they didn't skimp on portion size. The evening meals were superb. I can't rate the restaurant highly enough. We had 3 meals there and each would be worthy of a Michelin star, the quality and portion size could not be faulted.

Reviewed by
Nancy S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely setting - Lovely Hotel
Second stay here and just as good as the first.
The Garden rooms are lovely with a peaceful view down to the river.
Staff very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
P Mason

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite up to expectations
A small country house which has been extended rather unsympathetically. Many of the bedrooms are in adjacent buildings, albeit very close to the main house. Feels a bit jaded and needs some investment to bring it up to country house hotel standard. I didn't use the pool but my wife reported it as 'not particularly clean'. Breakfast was OK but dinner disappointing - the quality of the ingredients was fine but unimaginatively presented - just like the whole experience really. Bellingham a fab village though with some great independent shops and you can eat much better at the Cheviot Arms.

Reviewed by
Paul Williams

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little disapointed
We stayed in room 18 for the disabled and we thought the shower seat could have done with a good scrub, it was black with mildew around the feet area.
Also outside the shower cubicle was dirty.
There was a lot of dead blue bottles in the bathroom.
There was a blind at the window that did not open, the glass was not frosted on the window it was covering.
No bottled water, one plastic glass.
One bath towel and one hand towel for two people. no flannel.

Reviewed by
C Clark

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
The Riverdale is a lovely hotel, we had a superior double which was separate from the main hotel and looked out over the cricket field. The view was beautiful as was the peace and quiet. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and the hotel staff were all very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Will certainly be staying there again in the future.

Reviewed by
B White

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Lovely spacious and well equipped room and bathroom. Cooky rambling routes through the hotel.

Reviewed by
Peter J

From Matlock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good except for breakfast service.
Stayed here when visited Kielder Observatory. Our room overlooked the green lawn at the rear of the property, and it was such a treat to have a swimming pool in a small country-house hotel like this. Our room was newly decorated and fine. The swimming pool was warm, but the paint on the ceilings needed replacing and the sauna was just off lukewarm. Breakfast was the worst part. Only one woman was serving the whole room, so we had to wait for our order to be taken, it took ages for breakfast to arrive, three attempts to try and get a refill of coffee (and the refill was just coffee-stained hot water when it arrived!), and the toast did not turn up either. People all around us were becoming frustrated at the breakfast service. Other than that, fine.

Reviewed by
T Kirby

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel staff second to none
I have never written a review before but feel I need to for our stay at this hotel. We booked it last minute and didn't know what to expect but our expectations were totally exceeded. From the minute we checked in our experience was first class. It was made so by the staff at the hotel, the friendliest staff I have ever experienced. The receptionist, the barmen, the cleaner, the breakfast waitress and even the maintenance man. All really pleasant and couldn't do enough for my husband an I. The room (room 3) was spotless and unique and we also had a swim and a sauna. Lovely hotel, lovely staff. Thank you 😊

Reviewed by
T Richards

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next