No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Smith & Western

4Visit England Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
LINDEN PARK ROAD , TUNBRIDGE WELLS, TN2 5QL
Smith & Western is an American themed hotel, just a short walk from the historic Pantiles in Royal Tunbridge Wells. Formerly, Tunbridge Wells West Station, which opened in 1866 with train services running to the South Coast, this historic Grade II listed building still showcases the original ticket office and clock tower.

The American restaurant theme continues through the hotel, bedrooms are named after South American tribes like, Sioux, Cree or Arapaho to name a few. With bedside lights in the shape of antlers or cowboy boots these bedrooms are finished to a very high standard, with all modern facilities of flat screen TVs with freeview channels, coffee machines and Wi-Fi. Room rates start from £85 for a double bedroom, which includes a hearty cowboy breakfast the following morning. When you're done kippin', just saddle up and go before the Sheriff locks you up!

Please note the hotel reception is not 24 hours
Picture of Smith & Western, TUNBRIDGE WELLS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 61 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Unique place with it's cowboy theme, very clean and tidy and the food was excellent.

Reviewed by
T Norman

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place to stay in the heart of Tunbridge wells with plenty of free parking. Staff helpful quality of room good. As with previous reviewers length of bed is a problem being over 6' 2 tall with end / foot board attached. Small point to be aware if you are tall and on a long stay. Could not fault hotel in any other ways enjoyed stay.

Reviewed by
Adrian W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything that is great about America here in the UK
Everthing about our stay was great, from the spacious secure car park through the welcoming reception where our bags were carried by two members of staff to our room, which was a delight to experience. It was immaculate modern and beautifully appointed with an authentic American atmosphere. The evening meal was wonderful, complemented by the friendly attentive service of the staff which was repeated at the most wonderful inclusive breakfast, It would be worth the drive from our home in Nottingham just to spend another stay at the Smith & Western, many thanks for a wonderful stay.

Reviewed by
ROY S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast
Breakfast on second morning was cold member of was very indifferent to our complaint also the fresh fruit we ordered took so long in coming we gave on waiting for it

Reviewed by
M Rowe

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay in Tonbridge Wells Smith & Western Hotel.
Enjoyed our 6 night stay. Starting the day with agood breakfast is important to us and the Smith & Western provided this with a good choice of cereal, juices, fresh fruit, cooked English, or fruit salad. Over the week we tried them all.
We were expected and greeted well. Formalities short and sweet and shown to our room. Very spacious doublembed room and a large ensuite with shower (no bath) that suited us. We had plenty cupboard space but for a 6 night stay found the wardrobe space just a bit lacking. Plenty of bedding and pillows available. There was a coffee/tea making machine, witj plennty of supplies ofmthe necessaries plus suply of wrapped biscuits. This tray was attended to every day and replenished. Room service was good, tidied every and ensuite/shower cleaned every day with towels being changed if we indicated.
32" flat screen tv with freeview handy to keep in touch with programs if you chose.
Wi-fi available throughout the hotel which was handy.
Biggest negative was the carpets on the stairs/landing and in the rooms needed a professional clean. The quality of the carpets was high, but as very recently retired carpet cleaner, I am critical of carpet cleanliness. The carpets were far frm really bad, but need a regular professional clean to stay in top condition.

Reviewed by
JOE H

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Food
The food was a hit and miss as we only had three meals but only one was hot. The other two was warmish. Suggest the plates be heated to keep the food hot but other than that great.

Reviewed by
H CAMPBELL

From Godalming, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to leave hotel as we only wanted a light lunch at arrival, but did not do sandwiches also at evening time we had to walk to another pub as they did not sell guiness or bitters only seemed to sell lagers ect also did not warrant 4star, beds are wooden with head & foot boards so I could not get comfortable as I am 6ft plus and feet hitting footrail all night would not go again wife ordered egg &beacon with toast and received egg on toast

Reviewed by
michael john Allen

From Brandon, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very happy with everything
we enjoyed our short stay and hope to return for a longer time. We especially enjoyed the fantastic shower!

Reviewed by
Peter F

From BRIGHTON AND HOVE, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Try It You'll Like It
This was our first stay. We were visiting relatives and needed somewhere close by The Smith and Western was in the same postal area and compared reasonably or better than other local hotels. There ere three of us visiting all over retirement age including one almost 20 years older than my wife and I. All the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived. Rooms were spotlessly clean and bed was very comfortable. The only down side is the lack of a lift which would have been a great help to my wife who has an injured spine, but was able to slowly climb the stairs. We agree we would definately stay at The Smith And Western again.

Reviewed by
W Burbridge

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fun place to recapture youth
Lovely hotel and bar in Tunbridge where we stayed one night whilst visiting friends. Very pleasant room with all mod cons and very comfy. Liked the bathroom too. Extremely friendly staff who were youthful and helpful. Breakfast was good (yummy pancakes and lots of them) and our friends ate lunch which looked good. Very child friendly I'd say although we were without children. Would definitely recommend this fun place which, with its theme, felt different and a laugh for a change from the middle aged places we often end up staying at. Thanks a lot Smith & Western!

Reviewed by
HEIDI W

From west hampstead, England
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next