No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Townhouse Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
74 King Street, , , Maidstone, ME14 1BH
The Townhouse Hotel located in the heart of Maidstone town centre was built in 1802 as a rectory and represents a wonderful example of Georgian architecture. This Grade II listed building has been refurbished, transforming it into Maidstone's first 'Boutique' hotel and restaurant. Offering 17 stunning boutique rooms and an exemplary restaurant The Townhouse can cater for most needs. Gareth Cox at the Townhouse is our stunning and highly rated fine dining restaurant. The new head chef Gareth Cox uses only the best of local and seasonal produce to create innovative and unique dishes as well as some tried and tested classics (with a little twist of his own) . Gareth has been trained to a Michelin level under some of Britain's most influential chefs such as Gordon Ramsey, Richard Phillips and numerous 5 star hotels throughout London. The Townhouse Hotel is close to County Hall, Kent archives, Leeds Castle, Hever Castle, Mote Park, Hop Farm Family Park, Hop Farm, Archbishop's Palace, Maidstone Hospital and County Court, All Saints Church and Vintners Park. We are also within walking distance of The Orangery, Turkey Mill for guests who are attending weddings and functions there. The Townhouse Hotel is also ideal for anyone who likes to be close to all the restaurants, pubs, theatres, cinemas, bus and train stations.
Picture of Townhouse Hotel, Maidstone at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 75% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent restaurant
The room needed updating, but the restaurant more than made up for it.
Superb meal.l

Reviewed by
J Matthews

From Waltham Cross, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Over priced
Was assured on arrival that the cheif would prepare me a veggie hot breakfast within meat or diary. I ended up with a fruit salad that took 20 minutes to prepare and a peice of toast that cost £10.

Reviewed by
OLATOYIN F

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous hotel
This hotel deserves a much higher rating than the two stars it has. From the minute we arrived we were made to feel welcome, nothing was too much trouble. The family room was great, decor superb, very clean, lovely tea tray with lots of choice. The food was absolutely superb!. Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Y WOOD

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great place to stay
Very friendly staff, beautiful room, just a bit small with noisy plumbing.
Would stay again and try the food next time.

Reviewed by
Sarah L

From Snodland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I found the staff and accommodation very pleasant. Our room was very comfortable. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
Laura Davies

From Herne Bay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and clean
Nothing bad to say.
Good food, good room helpful staff

Reviewed by
Lorna M

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect boutique hotel
This is a small gem right in the middle of Maidstone. The rooms are lovely, modern and very tastefully decorated , great for a good nights sleep. The restaurant serves exceptionally good food in a relaxing atmosphere. The service throughout is excellent.

Reviewed by
lorraine brown

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but friendly
My husband and I recently stayed at the Town House and was pleasantly surprised on arrival to find such friendly and helpful staff. Our room was clean, tidy and well equipped. However, the down side was the size - or lack of it! The room was tiny and felt like we were in a cupboard. Just about big enough for a standard double bed. The loo was extremely noisy, as was the shower! The hotel bar and dining area unfortunately closed and we had to go elsewhere for an evening meal which was also disappointing. We did indulge in the breakfast which I have to say was delicious! All in all this hotel is a great stop over, so if your just looking for a bed for the night its perfect. If however, your looking for a holiday getaway id recommend that there are better hotels for the price.

Reviewed by
J Cooper

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value boutique hotel
this is a gem of a hotel in the centre of Maidstone , small, individual and perfectly formed , the service and staff are great, very helpful. the décor and overall atmosphere is relaxing and tasteful. best of all though is the food. it is truly amazing. loved every mouthful of my 3 course dinner . and great value. only small criticism is the bathroom in my room could do with modernising.
will definitely go again and recommend it to everyone.

Reviewed by
lorraine brown

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worth a stay
This hotel is in the centre of Maidstone so need for taxis. The Parking was convenient at the mall next door. The staff were courteous and helpful. We had a family room for 4 adults which was a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortable beds. The breakfast was first class with a variety of options. Eggs Benedict were fantastic! Would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Katy L

From Broadstairs, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next