No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Roman Way Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Watling Street Hatherton, Cannock, WS111SH
Our modern hotel was built in 1980 to a Roman theme, and is located on the outskirts of Cannock. Situated on the A5, under five minutes from M6 junctions 11 and 12, and also the M6 Toll road it offers easy access to the motorway network of the West Midlands and is well placed for Staffordshire, Derbyshire and the potteries.

Our 55 bedroom hotel has a comfortable Bistro and Bar area offering homemade dishes from bar snacks and light bites to a 3 course meal. With the hotel having a recent face lift the home from home feel creates a relaxed ambience ideal for business and leisure guests alike.

We offer free Wifi in all bedrooms and public area's.

Whatever your reason for staying with us, our experienced team will ensure your nights stay, meeting, wedding or dinner will be professionally dealt with from start to finish.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Roman Way Hotel
Picture of The Roman Way Hotel , Cannock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 68% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romam way hotel
reception staff very friendly, room was clean and warm, extra pillows were available in room.
would stay again.

Reviewed by
jayne s

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very interesting
This was a bit of a spontaneous stay and this place was very interesting.
I thinks it's seen better days - some of the facilities were looking a bit 'tired'! But the welcome was good and the staff were very cheerful in spite of the obvious fact that there were not many of them. Definitely under-staffed, but the service was nonetheless still acceptable.
The food was good - hot, well-cooked and plentiful.
Good value for money.

Reviewed by
Mike John

From Winkleigh, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Roman Way
3 stars
Don't expect anymore
Could do with a tidy up
Yet £50 stay can't really complain
Apart breakfast quite poor..

Reviewed by
J Garner

From Frodsham, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One Overnight stay on route to the Lakes
Apart from two members of staff not aware that I had already prepaid for breakfast, I found the hotel satisfactory for a one night stop over.

Reviewed by
P NORMAN

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel badly needs a facelift
Hotel clean but fixtures and fittings very worn.
Ideal location and easy parking for Cannock.
Bar closes at 23.00 on a Saturday night!
Breakfast OK but sausages and mushrooms deep fried.
Continental breakfast rubbish, frozen croissants stale.
Hotel needs to be completely updated.
£55 per night too high for quality of rooms, breakfasts extra £7.00 - in total not worth it

Reviewed by
m hodgkins

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Value for Money
Real value for money for the accomodation and food. Staff helpful and were quick to respond to any request. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
shaun m

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not good room was poor no access to TV

Reviewed by
A Gold

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Problems with first room
Checked into my room only to find the shower did not work!!, tried to phone reception to inform them of this and found the phone did not work!!!!! so walked back along the long corridor to reception where I was given the key to another room on the floor below. This room had a dated shower which barely trickled out!! but it was an improvement!!!

Reviewed by
David M

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could be better
Room let down by poorly ventilated bathroom causing damp smell. Room door had to be slammed to close properly. Was awoken late night/early morning by people with a similar problem. Croissant ordered at breakfast never arrived despite being only person in at the time. Room was otherwise very comfortable and evening meal very good

Reviewed by
Alex V

From Crewe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed feelings
Pleasant enough stay - staff friendly, polite
The off putting thing was the musky smell all the way along the hallway leading to my room.
Room was adequate, no real complaints. Curtains could beter lined to keep light out and also easier to pull together - bed a little soft.
Late-rooms discounted at half-price. Certainly would not merit the full price of £110 (excl. breakfast) a night. would stay bagain ay half-price

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next