Reviews - The Roman Way Hotel

3

Watling Street Hatherton, Cannock, WS111SH

Price From 116.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (24)

63% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Brazier

  • January 2016

Happy to stay at the Roman Way Hotel

Stayed here many times and prefect for our needs.

There is a radiator which I like so can dry damp clothes on and can actually open the window to let fresh air in for a better nights sleep. Some modern hotels you can not open the window and they can feel stuffy. There is a tv and a ensuite shower room to freshen up. For me it always offers great value for money compared to most and the staff are always friendly and helpful, well done :):)

  • A Brazier

  • December 2015

Always available at the the best prices

This hotel in generally always comes up as the cheapest when you do hotel search of the local area.

I have stayed here many times as windsurf at Chasewater sailing club and saves time and money driving home and back to area in the morning. The staff are are always very polite and make you feel welcome. Some A-hole woke me up at 3.45am as they went passed the door being load and obnoxious, yes it was a Saturday night but still, could not get back to sleep after that. So if your wedding this please can I suggest lots of please be silent signs as another popular Hotel does, the one with Lenny Henry advertising it. I will say honestly depending on which room you get, the decor does vary and personally I think the hotel could do with a makeover. It's also a shame that the reception is not in the middle of the rooms as it can be a very long walk if you're situated right at the other end of the building and think this hotel has so much Potential. Imagine what premier would do with it if they revamped it, no offence intended, just my honest opinion. And yes, I will stay here again.

  • J Jackson

  • November 2015

The Roman Way Hotel

There could of been more towels as there was 2 of us they only left 1 bath towel for the price I payed it was good but wouldn't of wanted to pay anymore than I did the staff were polite I would stay there again if the price was the same but I wouldn't if I had to pay more for the room

  • Paul C

  • April 2015

Biggest disappointment since Girls Aloud split up...

I used to live in Cannock 20 years ago and the Roman Way Hotel was always the best place to stay.

I now live in Southampton and visited Cannock for a funeral. I thought it would be nice to stay in The Roman Way Hotel. What a mistake that was. The reception staff were unsympathetic to the fact we had travelled from Southampton to Cannock to attend a funeral at midday and insisted we had to vacate the room at 10:30 in the morning unless we paid £15.00 - for 30 minutes?. We went in the restaurant to experience everyone complaining about their food - we decided not to eat there at that time. We decided to go into Cannock instead. When we got back to the hotel in the evening we decided to risk some food. When we finally found someone in the hotel to serve us at the bar we ordered nacho's. I think these had been someone else's at some time during the day and reheated because they were pretty much inedible. The room was dirty and I think the bath hadn't been cleaned since the last guests. There were serious stains on the carpet that I didn't want to even think about. There was also a 2 inch gap at the bottom of the bathroom door where it had been planed away and refitted (and I'm not exaggerating). I know we should have complained but when you're going to a funeral, it's not the first thing on your mind to do. I wouldn't go back anyway.

  • Hannah G

  • February 2015

The Roman Way Hotel

We stayed here after a wedding just up the road.

We just needed a bed and a car park and that's what we got, the room was fine, just not fancy, and lacked any charm, but was clean and had everything we needed. Staff were good and when we had a very noisy neighbour disturb our sleep they responded quickly and efficiently and we were soon able to get back to sleep. It's not a destination hotel and I wouldn't return unless I was attending an event or business nearby but if you need a bed in the area it is a good safe choice.

  • Mike John

  • December 2014

Very interesting

This was a bit of a spontaneous stay and this place was very interesting.

I thinks it's seen better days - some of the facilities were looking a bit 'tired'. But the welcome was good and the staff were very cheerful in spite of the obvious fact that there were not many of them. Definitely under-staffed, but the service was nonetheless still acceptable. The food was good - hot, well-cooked and plentiful. Good value for money.

  • jayne s

  • December 2014

romam way hotel

reception staff very friendly, room was clean and warm, extra pillows were available in room.

would stay again.

  • J Garner

  • November 2014

Roman Way

3 stars

Don't expect anymore

Could do with a tidy up

Yet £50 stay can't really complain

Apart breakfast quite poor..

  • P NORMAN

  • October 2014

One Overnight stay on route to the Lakes

Apart from two members of staff not aware that I had already prepaid for breakfast, I found the hotel satisfactory for a one night stop over.

  • m hodgkins

  • September 2014

Hotel badly needs a facelift

Hotel clean but fixtures and fittings very worn.

Ideal location and easy parking for Cannock. Bar closes at 23.00 on a Saturday night. Breakfast OK but sausages and mushrooms deep fried. Continental breakfast rubbish, frozen croissants stale. Hotel needs to be completely updated. £55 per night too high for quality of rooms, breakfasts extra £7.00 - in total not worth it