No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Hotel Majestic residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access. Please note at present there is no elevator service.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every day from noon until late with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 318 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Majestic
Very good.

Reviewed by
Philip Dixon

From Kirkby-in-Furness, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel
Paint coming off ceiling above shower, water in shower very slow also shower thermotap was lose in the wall, door in bathroom would not open fully as the toilet is in the way, breakfast was great.

Reviewed by
m mason

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel Majestic didn't disappoint
Only stayed 1 night, but the room was clean, warm, very comfortable bed, modern TV with subtitles (my wife has some hearing loss, so very useful) & courtesy tray provided.
The bathroom had a bath with shower over. It was 'tightly packed' but quite adequate, with plenty of hot water.
We had a meal in Francesca's, which was absolutely delicious, and not at all over priced.
The service at reception and in the restaurant was friendly and helpful.
This is our 2nd stay here, and would definately come again.
My only other comment is why is there only ever 1 chair in a double room? It means 1 person can sit, but the other has to manage on the bed.

Reviewed by
Malcolm R

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value in a clean hotel
Great value, friendly staff and clean tidy warm room

Reviewed by
diane h

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second visit deffo be a third

Reviewed by
phillip irvin

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel Majestic
Very nice old hotel, pleasant staff very nice rooms, the only problem is the lift doesn't work.

Reviewed by
gillian nelson

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

recommend hotel
as usual staff food in restaurant all good plus comfortable bed . handy place to stay if visiting the lakes

Reviewed by
philip m

From Wirral, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
We stayed here for one night and chose it because it was close to the Forum where we were attending an event. The hotel was great value with the room being clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and helpful, and the breakfast food was very good but could have done with being served immediately rather than standing under hot lights making it crisp up too much and the poached eggs hard. The only downside to this hotel that we could see was the fact the lift doesn't work and our room was on the 3rd floor in the attic. Over 60 stairs to get there which to be honest wouldn't be possible for everyone. All in all though a good hotel and a good stay.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was overall very good value for money. Reception staff were very helpful at check-in. Room was clean although TV was very dusty. Bed was very comfortable. We stayed bed and breakfast the breakfast was very good although the waitress serving asked us twice if we wanted brown or white toast then didn't bring any with our breakfast, when I asked again she said she would get some we waited a while watching her serve other people before deciding not to let our otherwise really nice breakfast go cold. This was the only small issue during our stay.

Reviewed by
J Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
Enjoyed my stay at the majestic hotel, was brilliant for the price. Only marked the food down because I didn't have any. It would have also been nice to have a menu and drinks menu in the room as there was meant to be room service but didn't have one. But overall a great stay.

Reviewed by
lucy king

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next