No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park (the top tourist destination in the Lake District), Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions.

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every lunchtime and evening with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 244 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money. get what you pay for
Hotel staff excellent, food excellent, this was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it wont be our last. Lift still out of order but we have always been on 1st floor so didnt matter to us.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting stay at the Majestic
This is a very old hotel which has tried to move with the times. I booked an Exec. Room (305) which at first glance was very nice but there was no phone in the room. The windows could not be opened so if it was hot in the room there was not a lot you could do about it. Breakfast was good. The car park was small and I witnessed cars being blocked in, this could be a big problem if one had a meeting to go to. Price was reasonable.

Reviewed by
Chris Lyons

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable. clean and roomy.
on arrival, my room hadn't been vacated so I was given a twin room in place of a single room. It was
Nice and big and very clean. I have been here on a few occasions now and never been disappointed.

Reviewed by
DAVID E

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
as with all my previous visits, the majestic give great value for money.
friendly service, nice clean room and good food .what more can you ask for !!

Reviewed by
l mckinnon

From Dollar, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

shocking
We have stayey at hotel majestic previously and it has been ok but the room which we had this time round was just ridiculous, when we inspected the room we were ok until we inspected the bathroom, the shower which we were provided with was not.placed on a bracket high enough for us to have one we decided that due to how late we had got there we decided to leave it, when we checked the water the morning after the shower didnt work properly and there was no hot water. I can safely say that we will never stay there again.

Reviewed by
K Johnson

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, room a bit drafty but can't help the weather! Staff Lovely & helpful. Breakfast Gorgeous, well worth the money we paid. Would certainly stay there again

Reviewed by
D taylor

From York, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent staff
We stayed at the majestic for one night the room was nice and clean it was fitted with a whirlpool bath which didn't work but shower did but the biggest let down was the lift wasn't working this is not acceptable when your on the third floor the staff was excellent though so was the breakfast

Reviewed by
S Lee

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall
The staff were really great in the hotel, friendly and professional. The rooms were what we needed, there was an issue with the 2nd room we had booked, 2 of the group that were in that room said they struggled with the shower saying it was quite low down and difficult to use.
The other room there was no issues with at all. The price we paid was brilliant and definitely worth it.
Location was easy to find, car park is small, but there is a massive one literally round the corner and I could see my car from my window. Its right near all the shops so if you didnt have something its a 2 minute walk to get it sorted.

Reviewed by
Kimberley D

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice freindly staff very welcoming on my arrival !
room was very nice and clean. Beds very comfortable lovely duvet pillows etc sleept like a log breakfast was well prepared unlimited tea and coffee plus fruit juices lovely waiting staff served you with a smile nice restaurant nice décor had a lovely feel all in all first class hope to see you soon!

Reviewed by
H Humphreys

From Hassocks, England
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Young 18month old toddler night away
One of the wallas was covered floor to ceiling In mould damp missing plaster and paint ... I always considered mould to be a health risk so was very worried with a young child crawling around the floor. Not what I would expect from a family room. If the wall was ok it would of been great but it was a major issue... Breakkie was great and room was actually nice if you stood with back to affected wall...

Reviewed by
A Earl

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next