No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Hotel Majestic residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access. Please note at present there is no elevator service.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every day from noon until late with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 315 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
We stayed here for one night and chose it because it was close to the Forum where we were attending an event. The hotel was great value with the room being clean and comfortable. The staff were excellent and helpful, and the breakfast food was very good but could have done with being served immediately rather than standing under hot lights making it crisp up too much and the poached eggs hard. The only downside to this hotel that we could see was the fact the lift doesn't work and our room was on the 3rd floor in the attic. Over 60 stairs to get there which to be honest wouldn't be possible for everyone. All in all though a good hotel and a good stay.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was overall very good value for money. Reception staff were very helpful at check-in. Room was clean although TV was very dusty. Bed was very comfortable. We stayed bed and breakfast the breakfast was very good although the waitress serving asked us twice if we wanted brown or white toast then didn't bring any with our breakfast, when I asked again she said she would get some we waited a while watching her serve other people before deciding not to let our otherwise really nice breakfast go cold. This was the only small issue during our stay.

Reviewed by
J Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely!
Enjoyed my stay at the majestic hotel, was brilliant for the price. Only marked the food down because I didn't have any. It would have also been nice to have a menu and drinks menu in the room as there was meant to be room service but didn't have one. But overall a great stay.

Reviewed by
lucy king

From Chorley, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet room 101 would request this one again

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great bargain hotel!
My fiancee and I stayed here on a Saturday night after receiving a bargain price deal. We were not sure what to expect but just wanted a base in the Lakes for the night between 2 long days walking. Were were very pleasantly surprised when the helpful receptionist checked us into our room which was large, clean and warm with an en-suite including a bath. We had an enjoyable stay at the Majestic and also ate dinner in the attached restaurant, Francescas, which was fantastic! Food was delicious and really good value, would highly recommend if staying in the hotel but try to reserve a table as they are very popular and fill up early! Breakfast the next day was also good. Great hotel for a quick break and handily located to visit the Lakes.

Reviewed by
Will T

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfy and the staff were very helpful.

Reviewed by
Lyndsey R

From Millom, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
The staff was friendly and helpful The only 3 things what spoilt it was the lift did not work the sign said permentaley broke And The parking was not very good And had trouble getting into the room due to the lock

Reviewed by
D Woodthorpe

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect birthday weekend away!
Staff were all lovely, so friendly and helpful with us taking our little one. Room was spotless and so spacious! Something's looked like they needed renewing but nothing major! Also even though outside it was freezing our room was always perfectly warm, had a lovely birthday weekend away!

Reviewed by
A Murphy

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food review
I only gave 4 because as good as the food was the menu was mainly Italian. This is fine but not every night and being a lone femail I found it difficult finding eating places near the hotel, also over the weekend the restaurant was very busy and noisy.

Reviewed by
J McEntee

From Friern Barnet Road, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little gem!
Had a fabulous night in Barrow. ....fantastic price for the room with full English breakfast included. Room lovely and clean and ideal for seeing anything at the forum just across the road or shopping in the town centre! Definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a night out in Barrow as cheaper than a taxi home for me! Lol x

Reviewed by
Wendy G

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next