No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Hotel Majestic residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access. Please note at present there is no elevator service.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every day from noon until late with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 315 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value and great service. The food at the adjoining restaurant was excellent
We wanted a hotel close to South Lakes Safari park and this option came up. When I called to check about a discount for entry to the park which is available for guests at the hotel, I asked about available rooms and was given an upgrade. On check in, we requested a later checkout and they asked what time we would like at no extra charge. Staff on reception were friendly and the restaurant next door, Francesca's, serves the best steak I have had in a while. The food really was a treat. Staff also very friendly there. For the price of the room, it was a really good deal. We normally prefer hotels that are very rural but this more than served the purpose of staying near to a local attraction.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

How many stairs?
Third floor room, one week post operation on knee and no lift! Offered change of room for second night but not worth saving a couple of flights of stairs once I'd done it once. They really should spend the money getting lift fixed not just say 'most of our guests know it has not worked for ten years!' If you only stay at a place once then you would not go back again with that attitude from the management. Staff were all very nice and helpful otherwise.
Dirty spoon in tea tray. Shower very difficult to get and hold required temperature.
Facilities in rooms good and still look fresh.

Reviewed by
Philip T

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly stay
The staff at this hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. It is a basic hotel with no frills but very clean and excellent value for the price paid. Stayed in room 312 which is quite noisy at 5.15am when the kitchens start breakfast prep. due to a large extractor fan but after first night it just became background noise and didn't disturb our sleep in the very comfortable room :)
Highly recommend the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel, well prepared and tasty food at fantastically low prices!

Reviewed by
julia k

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for visiting the lake district
The hotel had a sort of "old-world" atmosphere and was a good base for exploring the Lake District. The staff that we dealt with were professional and attentive, thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room paintwork could perhaps benefit from some TLC, but in general good value for the price. We were on the third floor with no available lift so anyone with mobility problems should ask for rooms nearer the ground.

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value
As always, clean and tidy room, good food and friendly service.
Only fault. being on the 3 rd floor .no lift

Reviewed by
l mckinnon

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were on a short trip to look at Barrow's Dock Museum, and looking for B&B near the town centre. We thought that the room was a splendid bargain, and were very pleased with it.

Reviewed by
A Blue

From Ardrishaig, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend staff were very friendly and food was excellent!
Great value great staff and great food!

Reviewed by
N Hilton

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great night away
I stayed at hotel majestic for 1 night with my 8 year old son. He was very impressed with the huge room and wifi connection! :-)
One or two minor bits that need touching up in the room but all hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Marie R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly restaurant staff and receptionist (Angel) who, apart from being a great entertainer, was very quick in changing our room for an even better one because the window wasn't closing properly. Very clean, lovely modern bathroom, cosy beds, magnificent towels, good food, great value for money!

Reviewed by
Irina S

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A+

Reviewed by
A Dootson

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next