No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to South Lakes Wildlife Park (the top tourist destination in the Lake District), Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions.

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every lunchtime and evening with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 250 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty good value for money - if you want a cheap accommodation for the night and are not too fussy then this is a good place to stay. Parking is limited next to the hotel but its pretty central and staff are always friendly.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean hotel, with reasonable sized rooms
I stayed here as I was visiting a family member who lives locally. I only stayed one night, but I can't complain. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly.

Reviewed by
Hazel C

From Teddington, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality and value
Everything you could ask for quality hotel and at a good price

Reviewed by
c james

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Disappointing when arrived as nothing like the pictures, totally basic and a place for workmen!!
Upon arrival was greeted by a young gentleman who was very polite but not really informative, on where to direct us to room if any problems etc to to contact. unfortunaly there was a lift but was out of order so carrying a small child and all items up n down stairs with no help or offered help which would of compensate for broken lift was a struggle. The room was totally shocking, clean but I can't even believe they gave us this room with a 1 year old, which we also stated a cot was required on arrival so wouls of thought this would of been thought about when giving this room out (and luckily we had taken the travel cot as none was provided). The wall in the room was completely damp with paint coming off and not even in a small amount the whole wall I between the windows from top to bottom (which my husband took pictures as he was shocked of the state and still letting this room out) this was far from a family room no phones to contact reception no hairdryers, no complementary biscuits hot chocolate just tea, coffee sugar and soap oh n shower gel/bath wash. The rooms were clean but sooo basic and falling to bits the cupboard with the Kettle and tele in had bits falling off and look so dangerous when having a little one in the room. Such a shame as the reason we stopped there as it was our little girls 1st birthday and we was going to the south lakes zoo (4,1/2 miles away) and this was rated a 4 star not at all this really needs to be looked at again as in my eyes a 2 star and this hotel seems to have been left and neglected, also I found it difficult to sleep as the inside door wouldn't lock at night and with my first time away with my little girl I was a little worried. The breakfast however in the morning and staff were both good, the staff seemed friendly and prompt and the continental and cooked breakfast was lovely and seemed fresh and clean (bacon was too well done and chewy that couldn't even eat but that's picking) know I seem to be moany just totally disappointed its a shame it's falling to bits and has no care or attention to detail I feel the owners have just let this place go.

Reviewed by
n berry

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel needs double glazing
The hotel is generally good. The bathroom was large and the bath a good size. The showers are useless which is what you would expect. The windows facing the clock tower will guarantee you will know the time. There is no double glazing but whichever guest put tape around the window is a genius. It helps with the rattle and wind as well as reduces a little of the noise.
The staff are great and the breakfast is good. The lift does not work so don't take too much luggage.
The car park is small and the van drivers take the easy places. Town centre car park across from the police station is free after 6pm til 8am. Put an hour on before you leave it and collect it at 9am!

Reviewed by
Adrian T

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money. get what you pay for
Hotel staff excellent, food excellent, this was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it wont be our last. Lift still out of order but we have always been on 1st floor so didnt matter to us.

Reviewed by
S Wilson

From newcastle upon tyne, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Interesting stay at the Majestic
This is a very old hotel which has tried to move with the times. I booked an Exec. Room (305) which at first glance was very nice but there was no phone in the room. The windows could not be opened so if it was hot in the room there was not a lot you could do about it. Breakfast was good. The car park was small and I witnessed cars being blocked in, this could be a big problem if one had a meeting to go to. Price was reasonable.

Reviewed by
Chris Lyons

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic quality accommodation for the price
When I choose a hotel, the most important thing for me is cleanliness. The rooms myself and my party used in the Majestic were exceptionally well cleaned and very spacious and comfortable. One of the walls in one room had some damp (with some peeling paint) but this didn't particularly affect our stay. The hotel's lift appears to have been out of order for quite some time, and visitors should be notified of this before booking. The breakfast was excellent. The cost of the rooms was much lower than I would have expected for the general quality of the accommodation.
In short, a lovely hotel, if slightly run down, with clean & comfortable rooms and a great breakfast for a very good price.

Reviewed by
F Hughes

From Loughborough, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable. clean and roomy.
on arrival, my room hadn't been vacated so I was given a twin room in place of a single room. It was
Nice and big and very clean. I have been here on a few occasions now and never been disappointed.

Reviewed by
DAVID E

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent value
as with all my previous visits, the majestic give great value for money.
friendly service, nice clean room and good food .what more can you ask for !!

Reviewed by
l mckinnon

From Dollar, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next