No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Hotel Majestic residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every day from noon until late with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 297 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service very accomodating this is the second time we have stayed here and would again
only fault we could find was the lift was out of use and we were on the 3rd floor last time we stayed it was out of use then.

Reviewed by
janet hagan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Helpful,Friendly Staff, Great Food!
Hotel was on busy roundabout.Room was average size, lovely clean white linen on comfy bed. Bathroom was very modern. Wardrobes looked like they had seen better days.Very big positive for us were the STAFF....very friendly and helpful..always smiling and welcoming.Food in the restaurant was amazing (gorgeous breakfast was included) nothing too much trouble and plenty of choice. Had evening meal which was delicious and very fairly priced.Looked like it was still undergoing some refurbishment so maybe our room (wardrobes) would be getting a makeover. Lift was out of order so stairs only which might pose a problem for some until fixed.Very enjoyable stay!

Reviewed by
Diane W

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hurricane Bertha
Value for Money, great breakfast,free magic show in the bar,courtesy of Anguel.would return.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Majestic!!! I think not
Looking at the photographs on the web site you will see a beautifully lit victorian building, when you actually arrive there you will find a victorian building situated on a roundabout in the middle of a town cente close to the docks with limited car parking places (yes this is pointed out on the web site) but if you are a disabled person wanting a disabled bay which is taken by a non-disabled persons car its very annoying. The hotel receptionist was very polite and efficient, our booking by late rooms had not arrived on the hotel system, she was most apologetic and was able to give us the last room available at the hotel. The room however was situated on the 2nd floor (yes as the website indicates the lift is out of order), it took a while to find it as there was no signage as to what rooms were on what level. The room itself was dreary and in need of a revamp, it was very warm, too warm infact, we couldn't open the windows as they were nailed shut!!. A very noisy room, there seemed to be some sort of boiler room adjacent to it (it's entrance door to which was located in the bedroom itself) which had a contstant droning sound eminating from it. For the price however, which include breakfast, it was OK for a clean bed and en-suite bathroom.

Reviewed by
Kathleen H

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Barrow nite out with the girls.always enjoy our selves.
we have been coming through over the last couple of years,and enjoy staying in the Majestic .. staff always helpful and friendly and they always remember us.we had a lovely meal in the restaurant for the first time and will certainly do it again.cant wait to come back.hope to see you soon.

Reviewed by
anne inglesfield

From Egremont, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value for money
I was very happy with my stay here. The room was comfortable and clean, the staff were friendly and the food was good, all for a very good price. The only small down side was the ensuite shower which gave out a dribble at best. Then again they didn't claim it would be power shower anyway. I'd recommend friends to stay here if they were visiting Barrow.

Reviewed by
Gemma R

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value B&B
enjoyed our stay at this hotel the only drawback was the lift was permanently out of order

Reviewed by
Catherine G

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money
Ive stayed in the majestic a few times over the years and although the staff have changed i have always found them to be friendly and welcoming, especially as a female travelling alone. The rooms are generally clean, just a little run down (but i have stayed in much worse that costs a lot more) and the wifi can be a bit patchy. But the restaurant, Francesca's is fantastic and i would recommend the majestic to anyone.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family stay
My wife and child stayed for 3 nights very pleasant experience value for money in centre of town would definitely stay again an many thanks to all staff very helpful

Reviewed by
A Gascoigne

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, friendlu hotel.
We enjoyed our 1 night stay here. Rooms were of a decent size and clean. We were very impressed with bathroom and the breakfast. The Italians joined onto the hotel was also very nice. The only down side was the window didn't stay open so had to jam something in it to get some air in and the lift didn't work!!

Reviewed by
Debra H

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next