No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Hotel Majestic residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access. Please note at present there is no elevator service.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every day from noon until late with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 317 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice quiet room 101 would request this one again

Reviewed by
Susan R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop over
The staff was friendly and helpful The only 3 things what spoilt it was the lift did not work the sign said permentaley broke And The parking was not very good And had trouble getting into the room due to the lock

Reviewed by
D Woodthorpe

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect birthday weekend away!
Staff were all lovely, so friendly and helpful with us taking our little one. Room was spotless and so spacious! Something's looked like they needed renewing but nothing major! Also even though outside it was freezing our room was always perfectly warm, had a lovely birthday weekend away!

Reviewed by
A Murphy

From Runcorn, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food review
I only gave 4 because as good as the food was the menu was mainly Italian. This is fine but not every night and being a lone femail I found it difficult finding eating places near the hotel, also over the weekend the restaurant was very busy and noisy.

Reviewed by
J McEntee

From Friern Barnet Road, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

little gem!
Had a fabulous night in Barrow. ....fantastic price for the room with full English breakfast included. Room lovely and clean and ideal for seeing anything at the forum just across the road or shopping in the town centre! Definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a night out in Barrow as cheaper than a taxi home for me! Lol x

Reviewed by
Wendy G

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good value
spacious room, comfortable

Reviewed by
P Fraser

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay
Nice big room, clean, good service with good food. Not too much car parking space.

Reviewed by
A Wright

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Have stayed here before and will be staying again next week.

Reviewed by
E Horton

From Ellesmere Port, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break
close to town centre, clean, comfortable bed! Great breakfast in the morning Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
kathryn H

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value and great service. The food at the adjoining restaurant was excellent
We wanted a hotel close to South Lakes Safari park and this option came up. When I called to check about a discount for entry to the park which is available for guests at the hotel, I asked about available rooms and was given an upgrade. On check in, we requested a later checkout and they asked what time we would like at no extra charge. Staff on reception were friendly and the restaurant next door, Francesca's, serves the best steak I have had in a while. The food really was a treat. Staff also very friendly there. For the price of the room, it was a really good deal. We normally prefer hotels that are very rural but this more than served the purpose of staying near to a local attraction.

Reviewed by
Sarah H

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next