No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Hotel Majestic

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
DUKE STREET , Barrow-in-Furness, LA14 1HP

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The seaport of Barrow-in-Furness is found at the tip of the Furness peninsula, bordered by Morecambe Bay, the Duddon Estuary and the Irish Sea. It offers the ideal base to explore the Lake District and is close to Furness Abbey, Piel Island and many other attractions including South Lakes Safari Zoo (to which Hotel Majestic residents enjoy discounted admission).

The Hotel Majestic is situated in the heart of Barrow, close to the impressive Victorian Town Hall. Built in the 19th century, this elegant Victorian listed building is one of Barrow-in-Furness' oldest and most famous hotels. Only 2 minutes walk from the shopping centre and local amenities, the hotel offers a high standard of accommodation with free limited on-site parking.

The Hotel Majestic consists of 41 en-suite bedrooms, all featuring designer bathrooms, flat screen televisions with an abundance of channels, tea and coffee making facilities and WI-FI internet access. Please note at present there is no elevator service.

The highly revered Francesca's Restaurant is situated on the ground floor and is open every day from noon until late with an enticing menu of old and new Italian recipes, popular house specialties, irresistible desserts and a large selection of European wines and foreign beers.
Picture of Hotel Majestic, Barrow-in-Furness at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 302 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Stay August 2014
This is the second year we have opted to stay at the Majestic. Our experience last year was so great that we decided to return again. The rooms had recently been redecorated but still had the the charm from last year. The young front of house staff were still fantastic. The restaurant next door is a must and serves great food all day. The breakfasts are fantastic.
Would defo revisit again

Reviewed by
L Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we booked this hotel because it stated that it had a lift to all floors but this is not the case
We where told that it is not going to be fixed in the near future ?the room was at the back and very noisy!!!!!!! Staff very friendly xx

Reviewed by
gary m

From Morecambe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location perfect for lakes hotel situated just right for pubs and night life parking was no prob and staff very helpful would defo stay again at the price I payed

Reviewed by
Paul T

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel majestic
Stayed in hotel at weekend, checking in a member of staff was speaking down to a younger member of staff and the young girl was crying! We requested first floor when booking and got put on 3rd! The lift was not working and had to take the stairs which badly needed hoovered! Once we got to our room it smelled of smoke and alcohol (horrible smell) the pool table wasn't working downstairs to. At breakfast in the morning was poor my egg wasn't cooked so I was put off and my breakfast came out cold. I take it the smoke alarms don't work either as the people who were in our room before were clearly smoking! Don't think I would return to hotel in future, I have never complained about any hotel I have stayed in could be a nice hotel major changes.

Reviewed by
Melanie D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic the barman Allan was very friendly. And entertaining

Reviewed by
t smith

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect stay!
This was a birthday surprise for my boyfriend. We had a great time! It was affordable, peaceful and the food was lovely, as well as it being a modern and welcoming hotel, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was modern and had querky bits and bobs which made it unlike any other hotel. I would definitely stay again! Highly, highly recommended!!!

Reviewed by
Charlotte G

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation
This was, in my experience, an excellent hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the room was good value for money. My only minor complaint is the lack of any shelves in the shower to put soap and shampoo.
The recommended restaurant next door, Francesca's, was excellent. Especially the pizza.

Reviewed by
Emma W

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent service very accomodating this is the second time we have stayed here and would again
only fault we could find was the lift was out of use and we were on the 3rd floor last time we stayed it was out of use then.

Reviewed by
janet hagan

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel!
Found this hotel to be very friendly. Excellent location to town centre, and easy to find. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms a little dated, but very clean. Lovely comfy beds! Bathroom immaculate. Lovely clean towels, and an enquiry from house keeping to see if anything else was required. Iron and board available for use by guests. Tea/coffee facilities in room. Would definitely use again when in the area, and would recommend to anyone needing a central base and warm welcome.

Reviewed by
Sandra Ashton

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a nice hotel , I've stayed in London hotels that are 3 times the price .
Nice hotel , big rooms , friendly staff and the restaurant , well what can I say Great food , Great price . We have stayed in London hotels that are 3 times the price and the same standard . The only fault which we knew before we left was that the lift is not working but the hotel is only 3 floors anyway so not a major problem . All in all , big rooms , clean and tidy , nice full English breakfast . Will definitely be staying again . Many thanks to all at the hotel .

Reviewed by
Colin Burniston-Jones

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next