No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Macdonald Windsor Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23 HIGH STREET , WINDSOR, SL4 1LH
The Macdonald Windsor Hotel is set in the heart of Royal Windsor, situated two minutes walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and 1 mile from Windsor Racecourse. Just a 15-minute drive from London Heathrow Airport, minutes from M4 and M25, and less than 40 minutes from London Paddington, perfect for business or leisure alike.

The 120 luxury bedrooms, in a mulberry and metallic colour scheme, are well appointed with plasma TV's, air conditioning, Bose IPOD docking stations and free Wi-Fi. Caleys Restaurant offers intimate dining, and serves a creative menu using organic and seasonal produce. Cooked breakfasts are served daily, and 24-hour room service is also available.

Macdonald Windsor Hotel has now installed a Green car charger in the car park for residents and guests to use. On site car parking is subject to availability and must be pre-booked in advance.

The Royal Borough is home to some of the most well known attractions and the Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base to experience them. Visit Legoland or Thorpe Park, enjoy a day at the races, relax in Savill Gardens, situated within Windsor Great Park or soak up the heritage of Eton College with its historic buildings. Or indulge in a relaxing boat trip or romantic horse drawn carriage through the Park.
Picture of The Macdonald Windsor Hotel, WINDSOR at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 58 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel

Reviewed by
Kate H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra special
This is the second time we have stayed at the McDonald hotel in Windsor ( we have stayed at The Bear in Woodstock which is also a McDonald hotel) we were not disappointed. Staff are pleasant and very helpful and they provide excellent customer service skills. I would like to thank Maggie on the front desk for making our stay extra special she was very sensitive to our needs and went the extra mile for us. Our visit was to welcome my son back from Afghanistan after a 6 month tour with the Coldstream guards Thank you Maggie you’re in our hearts. We would like to nominate Maggie for a staff award for making our stay extra special

Reviewed by
pauline johns

From torrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, and the restaurant wow best food ever.

Reviewed by
Andrew Hall

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only downside (as with all hotels these days) was quite low lighting. My wife and I now getting on a bit (64 and 65 years!) need brighter lights to read by!!

Reviewed by
William Milburn

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 14 visit
Very enjoyable stay. The hotel remains in my view the best hotel in Windsor - I have stayed in lots -. it is modern and fresh whilst remaining in keeping with such a historic town.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Windsor Stay.
Staff very friendly and efficient and received a warm welcome when we checked in and with the onside valet parking services. Room was very nice and comfortable. Told that we were given one of the better Classic Double Rooms as it was our anniversary. Only negative point was the 40 min wait to be served our breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We were in no hurry but if other hotel customers had organised sight seeing plans this could be an inconvenience. Overall and excellent hotel and one that I would definitely recommend for people looking to visit Windsor.

Reviewed by
Scott S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent customer service

Reviewed by
S Peters

From Fleetwood, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
A great hotel for a short stay and very convenient for the castle and town. Staff were very friendly me helpful.

Reviewed by
Julian D

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing weekend break

Reviewed by
A Hewitt

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable weekend break. We will certainly be visiting again very soon location was the icing on the cake!

Reviewed by
Lance Perry

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next