No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Macdonald Windsor Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
23 HIGH STREET , WINDSOR, SL4 1LH
The Macdonald Windsor Hotel is set in the heart of Royal Windsor, situated two minutes walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and 1 mile from Windsor Racecourse. Just a 15-minute drive from London Heathrow Airport, minutes from M4 and M25, and less than 40 minutes from London Paddington, perfect for business or leisure alike.

The 120 luxury bedrooms, in a mulberry and metallic colour scheme, are well appointed with plasma TV's, air conditioning, Bose IPOD docking stations and free Wi-Fi. Caleys Restaurant offers intimate dining, and serves a creative menu using organic and seasonal produce. Cooked breakfasts are served daily, and 24-hour room service is also available.

Macdonald Windsor Hotel has now installed a Green car charger in the car park for residents and guests to use. On site car parking is subject to availability and must be pre-booked in advance.

The Royal Borough is home to some of the most well known attractions and the Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base to experience them. Visit Legoland or Thorpe Park, enjoy a day at the races, relax in Savill Gardens, situated within Windsor Great Park or soak up the heritage of Eton College with its historic buildings. Or indulge in a relaxing boat trip or romantic horse drawn carriage through the Park.
Picture of The Macdonald Windsor Hotel, WINDSOR at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Macdonald Windsor
I booked the hotel via late rooms and got a very good price. I also contacted the hotel separately and informed them that this was a trip away for me to propose to my now fiancé. The hotel put me on the "VIP" guest sheet. I booked a space in their car park (£28) and on arrival our car was taken and parked for us. Our room was lovely and the hotel provided some complimentary cupcakes with a personal hand written letter wishing us a happy stay.
The hotel is literally opposite the queen Vitoria statue at the gate of Windsor castle.
We ate at the hotel in "callys" restaurant. This is the only downside to our stay. The bar was lovely and restaurant itself was lovely but we waited nearly 40 minutes for our steak to be served and because our waiter felt he didn't need a notepad the requests we made with our meals didn't arrive. The food was nice but I've had better if I'm honest. We also waited nearly 45 minutes to be served a cooked breakfast the following morning.
Back to the positives. All the staff at the hotel were very helpful but most of all was "Maggie" on reception. She made a number of arrangements for me via phone calls and to congratulate us on our engagement gave a complimentary bottle of wine.
Maggie made out stay perfect and I would recommend this hotel but you might prefer to enjoy one of the local restaurants.

Reviewed by
R Edmonds

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WOW!!
Me and my now fiance had a lovely experience at this hotel, and i would love to go back with no hesitation

Reviewed by
Geoff Dossor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous clean hotel with good customer service. Car park expensive had better breakfast selection
Gorgeous hotel. Good service. Carpark is expensive and breakfast selection could be better. Enjoyed our stay and would use hotel again. Recommended

Reviewed by
Caroline P

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My partner and I stayed in the hotel when visiting a friend for her garden party birthday in Windsor. It was around £160 a night including breakfast. Not particularly cheap but due to the location and compared with the local "budget" hotels, still over £100 a night, without breakfast, this seemed worthwhile.
Although on the main street we missed it. The entrance is very small. I called the hotel to ask for a car parking space in their car park. I was told it would be £15 a night and to come round to the back of the hotel. Luckily I asked for some detailed directions, including road names. There is no way we would have found it otherwise. When we arrived the car was valet parked for us. Our room was not ready we were told. The receptionist was not particularly helpful or forthcoming about what we could do whilst we waited. The concierge was excellent. Took all our luggage (we had alot - coats, blankets, balloons, presents, cakes) and suggested we took a little stroll into the town and to come back whenever it suited us. When we returned, our room was ready and the concierge had taken everything up to our room and had hung our coats up etc and layed everything out). The room itself was a good size as was the bathroom. It was clean and well designed although perhaps a little basic. We had breakfast at the hotel and we were advised to arrive before 9.30 as it got busy. We were pleased we arrived around 9 as it was already getting busy. As just a couple we squeezed onto a table but families had a wait. The continental breakfast was just layed out on the hotel bar and then the cooked breakfast was served at the table. The waiters were not very friendly and seemed to rush us through. My partner asked for a cappuccino and he was advised to take filter coffee as this would take less time! We were hurried for our cooked breakfast order before we had already sat down. Twice, whilst I was still what I felt was obviously eating, I was asked if I had finished and could they clear the plates. It was very uncomfortable and not a relaxing start to the sunday morning. On the third time, despite not being finished, I said yes, please clear the plates. Luckily I did not feel like I was missing out. The food was pretty awful for a 4* hotel. My sausages, I felt were inedible - very processed, and despite asking how we wanted our eggs, everything came out as a half boiled, half scrambled egg. The filter coffee was awful and when I asked for soya milk I was told they did not carry "specialist" milk. I realise this might seem picky, but for a 4* hotel charging between £150 - £200 a night, I expected better. We checked out after breakfast, again a different receptionist was not particularly helpful, and charged us £28 for the car park! She told us were must have been misinformed. No apologies. No help. Again the concierge the complete opposite. We were told to leave all our bags in the room, we were heading into town, and to return whenever it suited us. We returned a few hours later, and our bags were neatly packed into the car and it was brought to us by the valet. Overall the room itself was a good standard. The receptionists lacked a few customer service skills and the breakfast was actually pretty awful. The only thing that stopped us making a bit of a fuss at £188/night was the excellent concierge who I can not praise highly enough. They remembered us throughout our stay, said goodmorning and goodevening to us using our names, and were quite charming. Unfortunately they alone can not quite justify the price tag!

Reviewed by
Charlotte J

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel

Reviewed by
Kate H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extra special
This is the second time we have stayed at the McDonald hotel in Windsor ( we have stayed at The Bear in Woodstock which is also a McDonald hotel) we were not disappointed. Staff are pleasant and very helpful and they provide excellent customer service skills. I would like to thank Maggie on the front desk for making our stay extra special she was very sensitive to our needs and went the extra mile for us. Our visit was to welcome my son back from Afghanistan after a 6 month tour with the Coldstream guards Thank you Maggie you’re in our hearts. We would like to nominate Maggie for a staff award for making our stay extra special

Reviewed by
pauline johns

From torrington, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This is the second time we have stayed in this hotel, beautiful hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, and the restaurant wow best food ever.

Reviewed by
Andrew Hall

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Only downside (as with all hotels these days) was quite low lighting. My wife and I now getting on a bit (64 and 65 years!) need brighter lights to read by!!

Reviewed by
William Milburn

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

July 14 visit
Very enjoyable stay. The hotel remains in my view the best hotel in Windsor - I have stayed in lots -. it is modern and fresh whilst remaining in keeping with such a historic town.

Reviewed by
Richard S

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Windsor Stay.
Staff very friendly and efficient and received a warm welcome when we checked in and with the onside valet parking services. Room was very nice and comfortable. Told that we were given one of the better Classic Double Rooms as it was our anniversary. Only negative point was the 40 min wait to be served our breakfast in the hotel restaurant. We were in no hurry but if other hotel customers had organised sight seeing plans this could be an inconvenience. Overall and excellent hotel and one that I would definitely recommend for people looking to visit Windsor.

Reviewed by
Scott S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next