No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - So Paddington

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
6 -8 NORFOLK SQUARE, PADDINGTON , LONDON, W2 1RS
The So Paddington Hotel is just 200 metres from paddington Tube Station and a 5-minute walk from Hyde Park. It has a 24-hour reception and modern rooms with flat-screen TV.

The modern rooms at the So Paddington feature bathrooms with baths, showers and hairdryers. Rooms also include DVD players, tea/coffee-making facilities and beds have thick duvets.

Traditional and continental breakfasts are served each morning. Light snacks and tea and coffee are available throughout the day.

Oxford Street is less than a 10-minute walk away. The West End is 5 minutes’ away by Tube and offers excellent restaurants and world famous theatres including The Gielgud and The National.
Picture of So Paddington, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
43% recommended this accommodation to a friend 47% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So Paddington so disapointing
I've never left a hotel within one minute of checking in but this is exactly what I did. I cannot believe I had read reviews that this hotel is a 4*.
The room wasn't cheap at £126 (only £24 cheaper than a double room at the Hilton Metropole that night) and the standard was upsetting and completely disproportiane to the money you spend.
Box room, 70's decor & facilities, a bed that practically disintegrated when I sat on it, the TV screen was smaller than a computer screen and fixed into the higest part of the wall - pointless). A 'wardrobe' fit for a midget, a camping kettle and bearly space to walk around the bed.
Far from the 4* it told me it was online. Despite all of this, the reason I left was the overwhelming smell of mould/moth balls in the room which was really unpleasant.
I think it's terrible how a hotel like this is able to advise it is at a 4 star standard. I'm not really sure how's that's considered fair trade. The concierge didnt object to my points when I immediately wanted to check out. I was given the option to look at another room, quickly followed by the ommission that they were all as small and as old as each other.
I genuinely never write reviews but wanted to share my experience as sadly it wasn't a pleasant one and I would strongly deter anyone from staying here.

Reviewed by
Laura M

From , UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor
Okay where do I start... Small Room, Smaller Toilet, Leaking Sink, Tiny TV which was way to high, cables everywhere, bedside electric socket was not functioning as the screws had been worked lose meaning no devices could be plugged in. Then worst of all, the pathetic excuse for a lock on my room failed, I notified reception but when I returned my room had been unlocked for several hours. I was told to barricade the door overnight!

Reviewed by
N Double

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Typical London Paddington/Bayswater Hotel
Had this hotel for 3 nights on a business trip. The hotel was not such a catastrophe as the earlier comments would understand. Yes, it is a typical London hotel which means that there is no elevator, cleaning is perhaps not state of theart, the breakfast far from what I'm used to. And price level is high, taking above into consideration. We must remember, this is London.
But, the room was ok for sleeping in the night. No air-con, but temperature ok. The location was excellent, very close to Paddington station and acces to all to transport and Heatrow.
There was one very big minus and that was the shower tap. It was impossible to get a decent temperature of the shower water, it was all too high. I'm into plumbing area, and belive me, I tried everything without success. That seems unfortunately to be a common propertie of this accomondation.

Reviewed by
L Andersson

From Finlande
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value For Money- (Apart from Gum Incident)- Would Stay Here Again
After reading the comments about the hotel on here and on Trip Adviser, I was very worried about what I had booked. However, I was pleased with the service that I received. The staff were extremely nice and helpful and the location was amazing. The price is reflected in the basic accommodation- the shower wasn't great and the room was a little run down, but totally acceptable. The room and bathroom seemed to be very clean, until the next morning when I realised that I had been sleeping next to someone else's chewing gum on the pillow!
Apart from this, the hotel was fine and as mentioned I would stay here again (after thoroughly checking the bed for gum!) This hotel is perfect if you want a basic room in a great location.

Reviewed by
NJ A

From Hove, England
Who stayed in February 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So grim!!
Genuinely the worst hotel I've ever stayed in! I feel like I was robbed!!
Firstly the room was so small that door to the room touched the bed and the door to the shower room couldn't fully open. Don't be fooled into thinking that lovely boutique style room is what you will get. I was also not told there was no toilet in the room, I didn't realise until the middle of the night - I was also not informed as to where the communal toilet could be located.
The lock to the room didn't really work/ so when a drunken guy by mistake tried to get into my room I felt very unnerved!
I was also told that I'd be on the 4th floor, when I asked if there was a lift, I couldn't help but feel the 30 something guy behind the desk was a little amused in telling me there wasn't ! So I had to lug my huge suitcase up 4 floors, by the time I got to the second floor the stairs became like attic stairs with no useful handrail! It was very dangerous!
All I can say is don't go here , for how handy it is for the station, it was not worth it! I wish I could give it zero stars!

Reviewed by
G Scott

From Aberdeen, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

should have slept in the train station
not a good hotel this, we arrived and the only person working was upstairs changing bed sheets so sat there for 20 minutes waiting for his arrival to check us in - it was late and we were tired and had a train to catch in 7 hours so not ideal.....the hotel just felt grubby and badly maintained....the room was very basic and not upto date at all and felt grubby again.....£289 for this room...not worth it at all other than the fact it had a bed - would have walked out if we were not in desperate need of a room for a few hours sleep.

Reviewed by
Joseph L

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

So Paddington
Absolutly awful only one mirror ,no double wardrobe, water would not go down from sink, bath very slippery ...! no safty mat . We were moved to an apartment with So hotel as they had maintenace problems but there was no toaster or microwave or tea towels or dish cloths in the kitchen ! very hot all the time ! was supposed to have breakfast included but had to ask twice (staff did not understand english very well !) when it arrived malt loaf was a week out of date !! crossiants were stale bread and marmalade just picked up from local tesco !!

Reviewed by
patricia darch

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for
You get what you pay for. Pretty basic but bearable for 1 night only. TV remote did not work. Toilet for too close to sink in tiny bathroom. Wardrobe door would not open. Continental breakfast poor. Croissants stale, water for instant coffee tepid. Rap music from portable radio! Entrance door bell to gain access did not work! Receptionist very good

Reviewed by
I Ross

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst Hotel Ever
I am an international traveler, and in 30 years of travel, I have never stayed in such a place. I am surprise that AsiaRooms.com will have there customers choose this place. Please do not waste your money to stay here. No elevator, no Phone in room, noise from the street, no AC/heater, very very dirty smelly carpet, shower is 24 inches x 24 inches, the mattress on the bed is old and you feel the springs below. One suitcase cannot open in this room. I was very very disappointed and would never rate this place but a 1/2 star.

Reviewed by

From Not provided, United Arab Emirates
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cannot comment on the hotel itself as we did not get the opportunity to stay there.
On arrival at the OS Paddington we were told were couldn't book in as we had arrived too early, but could leave our bags. The receptionist did say there were having a maintenance problem and probably could not accommodate us. On returning about 3pm we were told that they could not acccommodate us, but re-directed us to the Best Western Shaftesbury Paddington. The booking at the OS Paddington was booked in April so why did no one (including Laterooms) contact us regarding this problem!!

Reviewed by
Louise Shield

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next