No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Acacia Villas Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
29 WOODBRIDGE ROAD , GUILDFORD, GU1 1ED
The Acacia Villas Guest House is nestled in the picturesque town of Guilford in Surrey in the South of England. Guests will enjoy the convenient location of this bed and breakfast as it is near the town centre, close to all major amenities and 15 minutes from Woking town. Shopping, entertainment and cultural facilities are easily accessible as well.

The Acacia Villas Guest House features a total of five charming bedrooms, and two new en-suite rooms available for guests. All rooms are newly refurbished and feature flatscreen TV's with free Wi-Fi available.
Picture of Acacia Villas Guest House, GUILDFORD at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 21 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
76% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay close to town centre.
Stayed at Acacia Villas whilst attending a sports event at the Guildford Spectrum. The location is great , it's only a short walk to the centre of town and very close to the main route in and out of Guildford. The twin room was nice with an en-suite shower room, tea and coffee facilities and a flat screen TV. The accommodation is undergoing some renovation but this did not impact on my stay and should only make it better for future guests. The main road location would normally mean a lot of outside noise but I didn't notice it even with the nearby takeaway. The breakfast is served over the road at a long established cafe, which seemed very popular the morning I went. Overall a pleasant experience and I would stay again if in the area. Thanks to the landlady, who was really friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
paul m

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lack of Windowa
Very nice but no windows so hot in summer. Very big fan available in room

Reviewed by
william burton

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing stay
Very comfortable stay, clean, quiet and peaceful room upstairs. Good location not far from the station. Sue the landlady is very friendly and helpful, and I felt very much at home and relaxed.
The sole disappointment was that breakfast was only obtainable at the cafe across the road. Next time I would give the breakfast a miss...

Reviewed by
J Atchison

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent place would stay again

Reviewed by
martin frost

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, comfy, convenient
Excellent value for money, great location, comfy bed, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
C Gibbons

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Good B&B, but missing a B!
This was an average to nice little B&B, I was greeted by the owner/manager who was very friendly and helpful. The place is a bit of a work in progress and is being updated but as it stands it was acceptable. I was told that the room hadn't been hovered when I arrived, but wouldn't have noticed if I hadn't been told. I thought the room was relatively clean. I had a room at the top front of the building (room 6) and was warned that the road outside could get noisy. It wasn't, so fine there. Location was good, not far from the centre of Guildford and the train station.
Now... Breakfast... Breakfast was amazing. One of the best fry-ups I've ever had. Really recommend it... Only it was not at or supplied by the B&B. It was across the road at the local Café. I had no problem with this as such, but I was charged £5 for the breakfast and was given a fixed option/standard breakfast that was £4.75 on the menu. I assume I could have had one of the cheaper options, but why would I if I had already paid?! I would recommend not including breakfast in your booking, but definitely make your way over to the café anyway! Well worth a visit!
The room was not en-suite, but the bathroom was only shared with 1 other room and it was right outside the door. The bathroom itself was small and could have been cleaner, but it did the job.
Value wise, I have no idea! I haven't stayed in Guildford before! It's bad value compared to Northumberland (where I'm from) and good value compared to London...
Overall, don't expect luxury, It's not. But it is a nice enough little b&b if you are there on business of for a stopover. I wouldn't bring my girlfriend here tho, not a romantic destination! Will happily give it another go if I'm in the area again, maybe once the updates have been installed!

Reviewed by
C Elson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfectly suitable for my requirements.
Very welcoming. Quiet room with pleasant decor - very clean.

Reviewed by
Linda F

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stop Over
Absolute value for money! A friend and I required a place to stop over in Guildford and this place was great!! The owner was warm and friendly, the location is great for central Guildford and the room was great value for money - would definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
Adam M

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Acacia Villas
The front room is extremely noisy all night with lorries thundering past - and having to be in early at night a bit of a pain. But the breakfast in the cafe over the road is great.

ManagementResponse

I would just like to say that I'm sorry this customer found the room so noisy , but in my defence I did notice the next morning that he had virtually all the windows in the bay wide open, so I was wondering why he didn't just shut them !! I had all the windows in the house fully double glazed for that reason !! Also his ETA that day was for 10pm and he actually turned up at about 3pm which wasn't a problem as my partner gave him a key to come and go as he please, so just to clarify there is no time that customers have to be in. I just try to avoid late night revellers banging on the door by having a 9pm check in unless otherwise agreed as in this case. Best regards, Sue from Acacia Villas

Reviewed by
Geoff B

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short distance to the railway station and nice, clean room to a very decent price. Breakfast in a breakfasthut across the road served full English breakfast with a good standard. The owner is very welcoming and helpful. Very suitable when attending a week-end course at the university and wanting the cost to be low.

Reviewed by
Randi (Sandie) Bentzen

From 1263 Oslo, Norway
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next