No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Grand Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
95-97 Warwick Road , Kenilworth, CV8 1HP
Centrally located in the historic town of Kenilworth, just a short distance from the M6, the M40 and Coventry, this townhouse hotel offers outstanding accommodation, fabulous food, free Wi-Fi. The property is ideally situated for both business and leisure travellers and lies in close proximity to Birmingham International Airport, NEC, Warwick, Leamington Spa and Stratford-upon-Avon. Stylishly decorated and nestled within its own impressive landscaped garden and fountains, the Hotel exudes an ambiance of peaceful splendour and refined relaxation. What’s more, the dedicated staff are committed to providing high quality service and will always go that extra mile to ensure that their guests experience a truly wonderful and memorable stay.

The Hotel offers 14 en-suite rooms, all of which are spacious and airy with elegant bathrooms. As well as traditional Standard and modern Executive Rooms there are also Superior Club Rooms which are very opulent in décor and design, ideal for a romantic getaway or a truly indulgent break. Every room comes fully equipped with all the modern conveniences one would expect from a Hotel of this calibre, including free Wi-Fi access, flat screen TV with digital channels, direct-dial telephone, hairdryer and complimentary biscuits and tea & coffee facilities. There is also a wide selection of room configurations to select from, whether Double and Twin options or Single and Family accommodation.

Guests can look forward to some truly great dining options at both Raffles Restaurant and Cromwell’s Bistro. As Britain’s first colonial Malaysian restaurant, Raffles brings the varied and exquisite cuisines of the Malaysian Malays, Mandarin Chinese and Tamil Indians all under one roof. Served in a regal house style with crystal cut glass and fine bone china in a colonial ballroom setting, the diverse menu is sure to both surprise and delight in equal measure. Cromwell’s Bistro specialises in more traditional English and European food, and has a tasty range of Burgers, Salads, Jackets, Sandwiches, Baguettes and Wraps.

With high quality facilities and service, the Grand Hotel is an ideal venue for corporate functions such as board meetings, corporate seminars and training programs. It is also a great place for parties and other celebrations such as anniversaries, birthdays, christenings, graduations and even weddings. With space for up to 90 guests, the Hotel is extremely flexible and will be delighted to tailor the event to any individual specifications.
Picture of Grand Hotel, Kenilworth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
68% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cleanliness Poor
Room was spacious enough for the 4 of us however, felt there was a lot of dust round the room and carpets could do with a good clean.
High chair at breakfast not very clean at all

Reviewed by
A Macera

From Macclesfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Needs a face lift ASAP

Reviewed by
C Neal

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A welcome place to stay when visiting several attractions, Warwick castle etc.
The bedroom was clean and had plenty of cupboard space. The coffee/tea makings and water were replenished daily. Bathroom was better than most.
Only minor drawback was leaving the building and going along a public footpath to reach the breakfast room.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Bradford on Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

on arrival at the hotel I had booked, we were told we had to go to another hotel as they had problem
On arrival at alternate hotel, eventually got our room. Very small (cupboard) no remote for tv and this was not resolved. We opened window as very hot, still no air. No hairdryer. Girls junior football team running wild, heard several guests asking them to calm down. Doors banging throughout the night. Hot water boiler making heck of a racket. Not enough staff in dinning room, had to wait ages for drinks order. Asked for a jug of iced water with meal, got a pint glass of water.

Reviewed by
E WILSON

From KINGS LYNN, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant B&B
It is a rather charming place although the fact that you have to walk in the street between the reception and the rooms is not ideal, especially if the weather is bad or you have a lot of luggage.
the staff was very pleasant and helpful. the room was big and very clean.
the breakfast wasn't that existing and although the cooked breakfast was good and fresh, the viennese cakes were too old.
in all it was a lovely place to stay in and very central. we were surprised we had to pay for parking as there was no mention of that when we booked.

Reviewed by
S Robin

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not really Grand.
A mixed bag really and confirmation of previous comments. The hotel does have a strange smell in the reception area. Our room was accessed by a separate entrance and was very spacious. The exterior of the building is somewhat neglected. Our waiter for dinner and breakfast was very pleasant and attentive. The full English breakfast was ok but the ingredients generally seemed to be 'economy' grade and the fruit obviously tinned. Our Malaysian experience dinner was enjoyable, but surprised to find the service charge automatically added to the bill. You get what you pay for, so not unhappy but prob won't return.

Reviewed by
Loo S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Grand Hotel not so 'Grand'
All rooms our party stayed in had similar condition. Outdated mis-matched furniture. Marked/damaged. Dust everywhere, on top of televisions, plate rails, furniture etc, Bathroom window leaking, had to plug with toilet paper and put towels on the floor. No shampoo shower gel. Plug sockets loose some falling off. Kettle could not reach socket, had to place on floor. Damp coming down from eves into inside wall, next to wall mounted TV. Mugs for teas were not clean, sticky residue at bottom.
Curtains ripped, not hanging properly. Bathroom blinds not fitting properly.
Main areas, hallway severely stained carpet. At one part it had a 'black' wide traffic mark, which must have been there for years.
Paintings defaced.
Did not have twin room as booked, had to share double bed.
Receptionist not interested in customer care.
Breakfast consisted of uncooked sausages.

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From Llanelli, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not So Grand
Site Reviews were high and the deal was good for a quick overnight stay prior to 2 day conference at much more expensive hotel. On arrival a bit of confusion with the entrance, good service in booking a taxi for next day. Stay itself marred by lack of toliet roll, no hot water to shower, long running extractor fan noise and general feel of a bit out on a limb with a phone number to cover between 11 and 7 (I didn't want to call just to get loo roll and what can be done at 06:30 when you have no hot water). I may have just been unlucky but overall not an 8 our of 10 type experience

Reviewed by
alan s

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room a good size, bathroom was in excellent condition. However the outside of the hotel was uncared for and is situated on a very noisy and busy road which woke me up on a number of occasions.
Really not happy about having to pay £5 to park my car at the hotel!!

Reviewed by
William W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great rooms, great service staff very pleasant

Reviewed by
Anne S

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next