Reviews - The Peacock TownHouse Hotel


149 Warwick Road, Kenilworth, CV8 1HY

Price From 111.24 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (67)

60% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Jackson

  • November 2014

Our stay at The Peacock,Best Western

As we do not use hotels very often we thought we would treat ourselves and book a delux room with 4 poster bed but on arrival we were given a basic room,we returned to reception to be told it must be our mistake and that their confirmation stated that we had booked a basic room, although i had printed off our confirmation that we had booked a delux room, the receptionist said " we normally charge £220 for this room" but gave us the key and said he would have to sort it out with late

We were so glad we had only paid £70 for the room, it was very dirty, the basic cleanliness was very poor, no mattress protector the bed was very uncomfortable, hairs on bathroom floor and very dusty in general, The heating was on full and we couldn`t turn it down making it uncomfortable,

As we were only staying one night we just put up with it but we certainly would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Keith Springall

  • November 2014

Nice but nothing special

Rooms seem hollow so we hear talking in the room opposite our room,and other guests are usually not very considerate.

  • C Hall

  • October 2014

Didn't get the room we booked with four poster bed

We paid the extra £10 when we booked with late rooms for a four poster bed.

This room was not available when we checked in but this was not explained to us until we returned to reception having been given the key to an alternative room. The extra charge was refunded to us when we queried this.

  • C Page

  • October 2014

After being allotted the wrong room because of a major mistake on the part of Laterooms we could not fault the service as a very polite lady sorted out the booking.

Managing to give us a beautiful room with lots of space. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The Asian food was excellent in the dining room and the service very good. However, breakfast was shambolic and the poached eggs tasted more of vinegar than anything else. The toast served with these was no more than warm bread. I suggest the chef takes a refresher course in breakfast cooking. It was certainly not good value for money.

  • Helen T

  • October 2014

Not good enough

I really don't enjoy writing bad reviews and it still amazes me that hotels leave themselves open to this.

Put simply, this was the worst place I have stayed in for a very long time. The room was small and shabby with mould in the bathroom and in the bedroom various wires hanging out of the wall. However the most awful thing was the paper thin walls. All night all we could hear was the various toilet trips of all of the other guests. Each one seemed to spark another round and it was clear that we were all keeping each other awake. For £50 I could have lived with how shabby it was if only I had got some sleep. This was Not the best western but the worst western!

  • stephen f

  • October 2014

Room was tiny and walls paper thin, i could hear the conversations of the people next door, word for word

  • R Hincks

  • October 2014

One night stay

Comfortable & economic for our short stay.

Excellent dinner and breakfast.

  • P Capon

  • October 2014

Best Western Review

On arrival the staff were friendly and helpful.

However the room I was given was extremely small and cramped and only a foot separated the end of the bed from the wall. The toilet seat was broken away from the fitment and the bathroom cabinet light flashed twice and refused to work. The fitment supporting the shower head was loose and in the morning the porter had to be fetched as the shower did not work. However after several attempts it did flow. A bulb was blown in the light fitment over the bed. I placed my case on top of the wardrobe to save space and when I took it off there was a great deal of dust and muck came off with it. We were offered another room which was much more up to the standard of Best Western that I am used to

  • s palmer

  • October 2014

Good locatiom, very warm welcome but extremely poor service at breakfast

Check in staff very friendly.

Room interesting but adequate. Water extremely warm but refreshing. Breakfast service very poor forgetting half the order and then when reminded forgetting again. There was only 1 more guest in the dining room

  • Jonathan W

  • October 2014

Business stopover

On arrival we were promptly informed that we would be charged for parking in the hotels own car park?.

Reception staff did nothing to make us feel welcome. I had a tiny single room on the top floor, with a view from the only velux window of a brick wall, in touching distance. The bathroom was pretty poor, with a tiny, very moldy shower, with a door that didn't shut and a shower head that didn't let out any water. The only good thing was a reasonable breakfast.