No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Colwick Hall Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
RACECOURSE ROAD , NOTTINGHAM, NG2 4BH
Colwick Hall Hotel is a magnificent Palladian style Georgian country house mansion nestling in over sixty acres of parkland. A historic building dating back to Saxon times and once the ancestral home of Lord Byron. Located just two miles from Nottingham City Centre, Colwick Hall is a grade II* listed manor with a grand entrance overlooking Nottingham racecourse offering exquisite facilities.

From the award winning Georgetown Restaurant, 1776 The Grand Ballroom ~ hugely popular for grand weddings, several function rooms for meetings and conferences and private dining, through to the Lakeside Pavilion ~ a grand marquee within the grounds of Colwick Hall overlooking the lake. All our bedrooms are luxurious, boasting palatial designs and rich decorations: original fireplaces, period furniture and exquisite bathrooms, many with central baths and beautiful fittings.

Please note as we are a Grade 2 Listed building we do not have a lift.
Picture of Colwick Hall Hotel, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Still Quirky
Been a couple of years since stayed here and not much has changed...except for the Indian-fusion restaurant no longer being there. Room was huge and well equipped and the food in the restaurant was very good but had prepared myself for a top-notch Indian meal however...it was not to be.
The reception and security staff were excellent.
Wouldn't let this stop me from staying again though.

Reviewed by
L Smith

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Week end break
Very nice hotel, staff bend over backwards for you, they make you very welcome and we would stay there again.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN R

From BARRY, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place and will be staying there again.

Reviewed by
D Berardi

From kettering, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious, comfortable and quiet

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning hotel
It is a beautiful hotel and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Our only down side was the bed which was in itself extremely comfortable, but appeared to be two singles put together so my partner kept rolling into where the mattress joined. Sadly our room didnt have much of a view either, due to the tiny window. If you book a budget room, dont expect to be in one of the luxury rooms. However the room was still lovely and suited our purpose and was well worth the price we paid. We didnt eat there so cant comment on the food.
The downstairs ladies cloakroom is a must to see!!
It is also only a short taxi ride into the city centre, and right next to the racecourse.
All in all a lovely enjoyable overnight stay.

Reviewed by
S Dominic

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Georgian Grandeur
Sadly my stay was too brief to fully enjoy the charm of this ancient gem. The standard and quality is excellent. Every conceivable facility for the time-poor and the absent-minded is available in the room - even down to the bathroom scales. Arriving in evening I didn't have time for the restaurant that said the Room service is prompt and complements the food quality of the Byron Brasserie. Blissfully after a long drive the bath is full size enabling you to luxuriate in soap and steaming water.

Reviewed by
John F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

romantic break away
Beautiful and idyllic

Reviewed by
A Gill

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Classic
Impressively secluded - A sense I couldn't fully appreciate as I arrived after dark and left before light. The room was spacious and provided with all the usual facilities and complementary items. The sloping ceilings would however be a challenge for taller guests and the tiler clearly struggled in the bathroom with the unevenness of the Georgian floorboards. As a late arrival I chose to eat in the room - the choice was comprehensive; the service was prompt and the food quality excellent. A decadently hot bath concluded my evening.

Reviewed by
John F

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive
my boyfriend and l found the hotel, very clean. The receptionist was welcoming. Overall enjoyed our time there without any problems. The location is also in a very tranquil environment.

Reviewed by
Kimberly J

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is dated and could do with some fresh paint hear and there!
When we arrived the place was very quiet after the Christmas period, reception staff was loverly very friendly.
We got our room and it was dull, but we carried on as we was there for only one night, but after close inspection I noticed sweet papers under the bedside table and in the toilet there was black hairs on the sink and signs off some one putting makeup on and dropping mascara all over the sink.
We complained and we we're moved to the room next door which was 100% spot on!
Staff we're brilliant. Even though we had this small problem we would stay again.

Reviewed by
Paul G

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next