Reviews - Colwick Hall Hotel



Price From 146.70 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (68)

87% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • R Edwards

  • July 2015

Wonderful gem in Nottingham

We picked this hotel as we hadn't stayed in a manor house on our road trip around the UK.

It was lovely and peaceful and after a miserable day driving down on our way back to London, we decided to spend the evening in the hotel. The food was wonderful, not much more expensive than some pubs we had been to. But we definitely got what we paid for, quality food and great service. The Byron provenance was just the icing on a very delightful cake.

  • R Johnson

  • June 2015

Stayed for 1 night in room 102, Beethoven.

A massive room and bathroom. Tastefully furnished. A very pleasant stay. Good quality freshly cooked English breakfast.

  • Richard K

  • June 2015

Lovely building, OK room

The hotel is in a country setting but within a couple of miles from Nottingham.

There is ample parking. We paid £6 for a taxi to Trent Bridge and £10 return in the late evening. (It would be just possible to walk in less than an hour, but the route is not very appealing). The bedroom was on the second floor and had a slanting ceiling, making the room feel smaller. The en-suite bathroom had a similar ceiling but was more spacious and light with a good fixed shower over the bath. High level windows without locks could give access to and from the roof. The 'double' bed was two twins put together. Tea-making facilities in the room, robes and nice fluffy towels. The exterior of the building and the 'public' rooms are very grand and are clearly very suitable for weddings and events. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasty, but our table was persistently invaded by several tiny ants, and looking around, vacated tables had been cleared and cleaned, so there appears to be a cleanliness issue there.

  • C Wilson

  • April 2015


  • S Spencer

  • March 2015


Beautiful place with lots of character , lovely clean room/bathroom and the staff were exceptional

  • Mary C

  • March 2015

This is not a boutique hotel, but expect comfort, charm and well appointed en-suite facilities.

We stay away on business on average 2-3 nights a week, and as foodies (not expert cooks but we know good food when we taste it) we are lucky enough to be able to eat out often.

The lustre soon wears off staying in hotels, and although lots of them are very nice, you are rarely surprised by them or their restaurants. So to find a comfortable hotel at this price point, with cheerie, well informed staff is an unexpected pleasure. We had a lovely first encounter when we were welcomed by Karen on reception who left nothing out, ensuring that we knew where everything was and how everything worked before walking us to the staircase leading to our room. We found the restaurant (which was aptly named "Byrons Brasserie" as it is his ancestral home) more "period" than "posh"....a delight. And without doubt the perfect venue for romantics as the decor is unashamedly Byron-esque, with excerpts from his works scripted on every wall except one which was covered with Byron related portraits. Again, the staff were lovely, genuine smiley faces, just enough attention, and we were asked between every course if we would prefer a break before moving may well be because there are only 16 rooms but it is a luxury nonetheless. The menu is varied and we thought reasonable considering the quality of the dishes and surroundings. I think that the dearest starter was £5.95, main £12.95-£17.95, and any sweet- £4.95 with the cheeseboard @ around £8.00. A bottle of Pinot grigio started around £16.00

We started with a generous portion of tomato, basil and seafood linguine with rocket and parmesan, which my wife said was enough for her to have stopped there if she hadn't seen the sweet menu. For the main we both chose the blade of beef (any red meat lovers out there, if you ever see this on a menu, order it. It is the ultimate) with stilton sauce, a warm beetroot chutney, red wine jus, mashed potatoes, and a side order of chips. (just a bad habit of mine)

We usually choose different courses because we like to taste each others meal, but we rarely see this on a menu and so both wanted to take advantage. Before the meal arrived the waitress came up and asked us if we wanted chef to prepare our chips as french fries or english thick cut chips...another lovely touch.

It is so easy to get the beef wrong, but we were both totally blown away by the dish, it was faultless. Mary still had her eye on the sweets, so when the time came we had had a tip that the bread and butter pudding with whipped cream quenelle, with white chocolate and baileys ice cream was not to be missed, for me it was a no brainer as bread and butter pudding is my favourite sweet. I have had lots of versions of it, sometimes the name on the menu is the only thing that remotely resembles it, and there are also lots of good versions of it out there. But none better than this. I have tried for years to make one this good, and although close these days, I still fall short of this one.....damn. Anyway, you have probably guessed by now that we don't frequent the Michelin establishments too often, been there, done that and although very nice as a diversion, we much prefer excellent ingredients expertly cooked and presented without the "pomp",

and that is exactly what was served up here. I don't say this lightly, but that was the best meal that I have ever eaten in a hotel. I've waffled a bit I know, but credit where credit is due and if you ever take the opportunity to stay here, hopefully you will be glad that I did.

  • L Smith

  • February 2015

Still Quirky

Been a couple of years since stayed here and not much has changed...except for the Indian-fusion restaurant no longer being there.

Room was huge and well equipped and the food in the restaurant was very good but had prepared myself for a top-notch Indian meal was not to be. The reception and security staff were excellent. Wouldn't let this stop me from staying again though.

  • D Berardi

  • February 2015

Great place and will be staying there again.


  • February 2015

Week end break

Very nice hotel, staff bend over backwards for you, they make you very welcome and we would stay there again.

  • Andrew M

  • January 2015

Spacious, comfortable and quiet