No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Colwick Hall Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
RACECOURSE ROAD , NOTTINGHAM, NG2 4BH
Colwick Hall Hotel is a magnificent Palladian style Georgian country house mansion nestling in over sixty acres of parkland. A historic building dating back to Saxon times and once the ancestral home of Lord Byron. Located just two miles from Nottingham City Centre, Colwick Hall is a grade II* listed manor with a grand entrance overlooking Nottingham racecourse offering exquisite facilities.

From the award winning Georgetown Restaurant, 1776 The Grand Ballroom ~ hugely popular for grand weddings, several function rooms for meetings and conferences and private dining, through to the Lakeside Pavilion ~ a grand marquee within the grounds of Colwick Hall overlooking the lake. All our bedrooms are luxurious, boasting palatial designs and rich decorations: original fireplaces, period furniture and exquisite bathrooms, many with central baths and beautiful fittings.

Please note as we are a Grade 2 Listed building we do not have a lift.
Picture of Colwick Hall Hotel, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we were there for our wedding night, lovely night lovely hotel
we there for our wedding night
it was lovely the byron suite was lovely.
we had a wonderful time
breakfast was lovely in our room.
a really good hotel to remember.
will go back on our 1st anniversary

Reviewed by
h shearan

From Nottingham, England
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful house, pleasant stay, just needs a little more attention to detail
Quiet and peaceful location yet only a couple of miles from the town centre. Loads of ample parking. The house is impressive and well kept, as are the lovely grounds. I stayed three nights for business. I ate here each night too. My room was a fair size, pleasant decor but was fairly dark. It was an attic room, the old servants quarters with one small window that was mainly covered by the ballustrades. It was pleasant and clean. The TV was temperamental though which was frustrating after a long days work and wanting to relax. The bed was very comfortable, until you rolled over. It was two twins put together. You could feel a ridge the whole way along. This was rather annoying. The plumbers had been in and on the last day the shower wasn't working properly. Hopefully resolved now, but not great having to go to work without a proper shower. The food was generally good. Service was friendly and the restaurant was a beautiful room. The burger was very good, I would recommend. I had the steak and salad two nights. The first was beautifully cooked, the second cooked all the way through despite being asked for medium-rare. The bread was overcooked too. So a mixed bag but generally pleasant. Its a good business hotel with the potential to be even better with a little more attention to detail.

Reviewed by
Kate F

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place , service needs raising
Was happy with accommodation but service lacking . Room not ready on check in so another room given which over looked a busy wedding . So no privacy . Service generally wasnt great have left a more detailed review elsewhere

Reviewed by
Tay S

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding weekend
Gorgeous location with history and scenery that give it the wow factor. Bedroom very large with great bathroom but could have done with a thorough clean. Furniture sticky in places and carpet needs a thorough clean.

Reviewed by
Christine C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay
Staff at reception and in bar were very helpful, friendly and efficient. Bar and brasserie were beautifully reburbished. Our second (top) floor room was huge and and well fitted out although the carpet had been stained. Bathroom was, similarly, roomy and modernised but extractor fan not operating. Would like to try a first floor room on a future visit.

Reviewed by
Terry K

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real find
Great location in Nottingham, and the staff were friendly and accomodating when I turned up late on a Monday night and wanted to eat.
Enormous room and bathroom, clean, well appointed and with everything that I needed.

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Check the small print.
Breakfast not included with reduced rate, not mentioned in booking. £8:50 for bowl of cereal and glass of orange. Supposed to be £160 a night and reduced to £49. Room in the roof, very small windows and no view apart from concrete. Bed and bathroom OK. Staff helpful. No ventilation during hotweather, fan supplied but still too hot at night.

Reviewed by
Simon A

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice building but needs maintenance
my wife and i stayed here for one night - the building is very nice from the outside and the bedroom was very big with a large bathroom
gardens are nice with a fountain at the front and back
the room was generally o.k but the blind was broken and did not close properly, the internal parts of the fridge were broken and on the top of the fridge, there was mould on the inside of the shower and the floor was wet with water under the tiles next to the sink
the outside seating area was o.k but cigarette ends thrown all over the floor was not nice
the hotel has good and bad points but was value for money, however I did expect better

Reviewed by
michael m

From Redcar, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
The hotel is a wonderful experience to how things were many years ago. We enjoyed not only wandering around the hotel/hall but the grounds are also worth a visit. I would not hesitate booking to stay again. The food is also highly recommended. The staff we could not fault any of them, they all wanted to help or give friendly advice. More like a 5 star hotel. Thank you everyone.

Reviewed by
Anne Taylor

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel, nice staff and our evening meal was excellent!!!
We enjoyed a lovely walk round the lake before a pre dinner drink sitting outside.
Our meal was excellent.
We had a fantastic nights sleep in a really comfy bed and it was so peaceful.
Will definitely be back.

Reviewed by
D Aitken

From Currie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next