Reviews - Colwick Hall Hotel



Price From 102.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (67)

90% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Kate F

  • September 2014

Beautiful house, pleasant stay, just needs a little more attention to detail

Quiet and peaceful location yet only a couple of miles from the town centre.

Loads of ample parking. The house is impressive and well kept, as are the lovely grounds. I stayed three nights for business. I ate here each night too. My room was a fair size, pleasant decor but was fairly dark. It was an attic room, the old servants quarters with one small window that was mainly covered by the ballustrades. It was pleasant and clean. The TV was temperamental though which was frustrating after a long days work and wanting to relax. The bed was very comfortable, until you rolled over. It was two twins put together. You could feel a ridge the whole way along. This was rather annoying. The plumbers had been in and on the last day the shower wasn't working properly. Hopefully resolved now, but not great having to go to work without a proper shower. The food was generally good. Service was friendly and the restaurant was a beautiful room. The burger was very good, I would recommend. I had the steak and salad two nights. The first was beautifully cooked, the second cooked all the way through despite being asked for medium-rare. The bread was overcooked too. So a mixed bag but generally pleasant. Its a good business hotel with the potential to be even better with a little more attention to detail.

  • h shearan

  • September 2014

we were there for our wedding night, lovely night lovely hotel

we there for our wedding night it was lovely the byron suite was lovely.

we had a wonderful time

breakfast was lovely in our room. a really good hotel to remember. will go back on our 1st anniversary

  • Christine C

  • September 2014

Wedding weekend

Gorgeous location with history and scenery that give it the wow factor.

Bedroom very large with great bathroom but could have done with a thorough clean. Furniture sticky in places and carpet needs a thorough clean.

  • Terry K

  • September 2014

Overnight Stay

Staff at reception and in bar were very helpful, friendly and efficient.

Bar and brasserie were beautifully reburbished. Our second (top) floor room was huge and and well fitted out although the carpet had been stained. Bathroom was, similarly, roomy and modernised but extractor fan not operating. Would like to try a first floor room on a future visit.

  • Tay S

  • September 2014

Lovely place , service needs raising

Was happy with accommodation but service lacking .

Room not ready on check in so another room given which over looked a busy wedding . So no privacy . Service generally wasnt great have left a more detailed review elsewhere

  • Andrew M

  • September 2014

A real find

Great location in Nottingham, and the staff were friendly and accomodating when I turned up late on a Monday night and wanted to eat.

Enormous room and bathroom, clean, well appointed and with everything that I needed.

  • David Smith

  • August 2014

Excellent stay

  • Simon A

  • August 2014

Check the small print.

Breakfast not included with reduced rate, not mentioned in booking.

£8:50 for bowl of cereal and glass of orange. Supposed to be £160 a night and reduced to £49. Room in the roof, very small windows and no view apart from concrete. Bed and bathroom OK. Staff helpful. No ventilation during hotweather, fan supplied but still too hot at night.

  • michael m

  • July 2014

nice building but needs maintenance

my wife and i stayed here for one night - the building is very nice from the outside and the bedroom was very big with a large bathroom

gardens are nice with a fountain at the front and back

the room was generally o.k but the blind was broken and did not close properly, the internal parts of the fridge were broken and on the top of the fridge, there was mould on the inside of the shower and the floor was wet with water under the tiles next to the sink

the outside seating area was o.k but cigarette ends thrown all over the floor was not nice

the hotel has good and bad points but was value for money, however I did expect better

  • Anne Taylor

  • July 2014


The hotel is a wonderful experience to how things were many years ago.

We enjoyed not only wandering around the hotel/hall but the grounds are also worth a visit. I would not hesitate booking to stay again. The food is also highly recommended. The staff we could not fault any of them, they all wanted to help or give friendly advice. More like a 5 star hotel. Thank you everyone.