No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Colwick Hall Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
RACECOURSE ROAD , NOTTINGHAM, NG2 4BH
Colwick Hall Hotel is a magnificent Palladian style Georgian country house mansion nestling in over sixty acres of parkland. A historic building dating back to Saxon times and once the ancestral home of Lord Byron. Located just two miles from Nottingham City Centre, Colwick Hall is a grade II* listed manor with a grand entrance overlooking Nottingham racecourse offering exquisite facilities.

From the award winning Georgetown Restaurant, 1776 The Grand Ballroom ~ hugely popular for grand weddings, several function rooms for meetings and conferences and private dining, through to the Lakeside Pavilion ~ a grand marquee within the grounds of Colwick Hall overlooking the lake. All our bedrooms are luxurious, boasting palatial designs and rich decorations: original fireplaces, period furniture and exquisite bathrooms, many with central baths and beautiful fittings.

Please note as we are a Grade 2 Listed building we do not have a lift.
Picture of Colwick Hall Hotel, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 82 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A mixed experience
The BAD BIT - I booked the "Executive" class room, which I mistakenly took to be a "high level" room but it is the lowest level status wise. My fault for not looking further I guess but its far from Executive, its just a small room.
It was high level in a way as it was way up in the attic with low ceilings and a tiny window with a view only of the stone parapet around the roof. Room was thus quite dark and dingy. I would only stay here again in the "Superior" rooms of which there are few. The room was quite well done however and the large bathroom (with large bath) was the best bit.
The free Wi-fi did not reach all the way up to our room and was thus useless as I had to go down to the staircase to get a decent signal. We tried 2 IPads and 2 phones, so it wasn't our equipment at fault.
The GOOD - A very nice location (even better if you could see it from the room) , The people were very friendly and apologetic about my problems. The food was absolutely excellent and made up partly for the shortcomings. I'm afraid we would only stay here again in the best rooms which are few and dearer. I would stay on business but only if the company were paying

Reviewed by
Peter G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ok, but....
Ok, but.... in need of some updating. The room was amazing but the detail was left a miss, bad stains on the carpet, furniture ready for the skip or menders. I was in two minds about this place, yes it was very nice but its obvious it needs some attention.
Also one other thing is you can hear people in the rooms next to you clearing talking, not shouting but talking. That was a bit weird. Something I didnt really like.
Without wanting to sound to critical this hotel is very good/ nice but bare in mind the above if any of that bothers you then you've been warned.

Reviewed by
N Comer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in Nottingham
The location of the Hotel was superb for our night out in Nottingham. The setting was simply gorgeous we took the opportunity Sunday morning to have a lovely stroll through the grounds around the lakes. The room and bathroom were both spacious with everything we needed and the staff was friendly. I would definitely return again soon.

Reviewed by
J Rennie

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My birthday stay
Hotel was very nice overall. We did notice outside a few rooms there were plates with food in it left and it was literally left there from the point we checked in till we checked out. It was unfortunately a horrible site especially as it was also left outside our door. Seems like the hotel staff were not around on this particular Sunday to clean up room service mess.

Reviewed by
O Sheikh

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I thought it would be better !!!
I certainly wouldn't have paid the full price for this room. A floor tile was missing from the bathroom, one of the coffee cups was dirty, the room was very hot, the fridge did not work, water in sink did not go away well........

Reviewed by
Antoinette N

From Netherlands
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing Upgrade
Our first night was in an executive room on the second floor - which had nice furniture and bathroom - but a tiny window, so little light. The next day we asked if we could upgrade and for 20 pounds extra got the Mosart room - which was like living in a stately home: huge, nicely decorated and furnished room, views over the front of the hotel, enormous bathroom with roll top bath - beautiful. Definitely worth it. The hotel was very quiet, as well away from the road with lake behind and race-course in front, and the gardens front and back well maintained but the communal areas of the hotel were not well cleaned - dirty windows, dirty ashtrays and glasses not cleared away , and we didn't fancy the restaurant partly because of that. Also the menu was limited - especially for non-meat eaters. In general the hotel seemed more geared up for weddings and conferences rather than individual guests. Overall we really enjoyed our stay in the room and the reception staff were helpful and friendly. As we didn't sample any of the meals we can't really comment but felt eight pounds fifty for breakfast was a bit steep.

Reviewed by
Sarah C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful tranquil and well deserving of its stars
Amazing short stay in a beautiful building with excellent customer service would certainly return again and again

Reviewed by
joanne Hood

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wow! Amazing!.
Impressive appearance on arrival, matched by similar internal surroundings. Couldn't believe the quality for the price. Helpful staff. Dinner and breakfast excellent quality and service. Will definitely keep a lookout for a return visit.

Reviewed by
Alex F

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nottingham hotel stay
Beautiful hotel and grounds. Really lovely walks and countryside to enjoy. Would return if I am in the area again

Reviewed by
C Pike

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel Great Food
The Hotel was pretty and pleasantly laid out. The bedroom was quirky but the space was workout very well. The grounds were lovely and the staff friendly. But what surprised me was how much I enjoyed the food. Limited menu but what we had was excellent. I will certianly visit again.

Reviewed by
dawn h

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next