No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Colwick Hall Hotel

4Visit England Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
RACECOURSE ROAD , NOTTINGHAM, NG2 4BH
Colwick Hall Hotel is a magnificent Palladian style Georgian country house mansion nestling in over sixty acres of parkland. A historic building dating back to Saxon times and once the ancestral home of Lord Byron. Located just two miles from Nottingham City Centre, Colwick Hall is a grade II* listed manor with a grand entrance overlooking Nottingham racecourse offering exquisite facilities.

From the award winning Georgetown Restaurant, 1776 The Grand Ballroom ~ hugely popular for grand weddings, several function rooms for meetings and conferences and private dining, through to the Lakeside Pavilion ~ a grand marquee within the grounds of Colwick Hall overlooking the lake. All our bedrooms are luxurious, boasting palatial designs and rich decorations: original fireplaces, period furniture and exquisite bathrooms, many with central baths and beautiful fittings.

Please note as we are a Grade 2 Listed building we do not have a lift.
Picture of Colwick Hall Hotel, NOTTINGHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 76 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel Great Food
The Hotel was pretty and pleasantly laid out. The bedroom was quirky but the space was workout very well. The grounds were lovely and the staff friendly. But what surprised me was how much I enjoyed the food. Limited menu but what we had was excellent. I will certianly visit again.

Reviewed by
dawn h

From Marlow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay
Just stayed the one night on business and chose the slightly more expensive Superior room over the Executive as I wasn't keen on the photo's of the upper rooms, and got a very large and luxurious room. Yes, a lot of the hotel can be called a bit grubby and shabby, and the carpet in the restaurant is a bit rucked up, but it's a beautiful old building in a perfect setting with great walks around the lake and the river. So all in all one off-sets the other unless you want perfection, in which case a modern hotel in the city centre would be better. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the food very good. I would definitely stay again and have already recommended it to others of a like mind to myself.

Reviewed by
Jules B

From Whyteleafe, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small room. Very hot. Loud generator noise outside bedroom window

Reviewed by
Anne A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I really enjoyed my stay at the Colwick Hall Hotel.
The room was huge, very clean and well decorated.

Reviewed by
O King

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Colwick Hall
On arrival the receptionist was very helpful, we had two rooms it was our son's graduation at Nottingham so we wanted to make it a lovely experience and something special for him to remember, and it was, the setting the grounds are stunning. We had a meal in the Restaurant which was quite good, the service was first class they couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were spacious but at the top of the hotel which was fine but when it is hot it is hot they need some sort of cooling system up there because the windows are so so small air does not get into the rooms. Breakfast the next day was delicious - I would certainly recommend this hotel to friends and family, many thanks to all for making it such a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Maria Lewis

From Twickenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good "value for money"
Hotel has seen better days but I guess the low price reflects this. A lovely looking building but a good vacumming would be recommended. Good value for money, massive rooms and bathroom with a lot of original features although very tired. I couldnt open the windows in my room but a fan was provided. I only paid £70 for the room , due to the closeness to the city It was worth the cost

Reviewed by
Julie J

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place, fantastic stting.
A truly beautiful hotel, close to the race course. Walking along the canal towpath gets you to the centre of Nottingham in around 45 minutes.

Reviewed by
Niall M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another great stay at Colwick Hall
I was upgraded on arrival to the Lord Byron room, very, very comfortable, and a sound nights sleep. Food was excellent, staff extremely courteous, wonderful surroundings. Great value for money, I'll stay again of course.

Reviewed by
Ivan Squires

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in !
We were so looking forward to staying at this hotel after all the website and photos looked wonderful ....how wrong could we have been? On arrival the outside looks impressive but from the minute we walked into the foyer all our illusions were shattered . The foyer itself was grim and uninviting and the disappointment only grew as we struggled to the top floor to what was described as our superior room
This so called luxurious room was in fact grubby to say the least. Stains all over the carpet, mould in the shower cubicles television that didn't work and we even had to call reception to get the bed made correctly as the bottom sheet did not cover the mattress ! When we asked if there were saucers for the cups in our rooms we were told to put the hot cups on the furniture as it didn't matter ( not surprisingly the furniture had seen better days ). The fiasco continued at dinner . After you avoid tripping over the rucked up grubby carpet in the Georgetown Restaurant(if that is how you would describe it ) you found that there was only one member of staff serving the bar, taking orders for food and serving and clearing tables. Even though the person was working hard , the experience was abismal at best . Deserts were served in drinking cups ! Breakfast was equally unpleasant with the worst display of buffet that we have ever seen.
This hotel desperately needs upgrading and a complete change of management philosophy and we would never stay there again or recommend anyone else to either. There is a phrase of "shabby chic" but this hotel is just shabby!!!!

Reviewed by
D Read

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing location amazing hotel
A Very dreamy romantic hotel great room great food great staff!

Reviewed by
Faye Taphouse

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next