No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Abbey Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
THE BROADWAY , SHEERNESS, ME12 2DA
Welcome to the Abbey Hotel and Conference Centre. A spacious privately owned hotel situated only 400 yards from the attractive sea front at Minster on the Island of Sheppey.

The hotel is an excellent base from which to explore Kent and South East coast as well as the historic towns of Canterbury and Rochester.
We are also ideally located for Sheerness Deep Water Port, the Channel Tunnel Terminal and central London is only an hour away.

The Abbey’s 50 bedrooms all have en-suite bathrooms, flat screen televisions with free view channels, direct dial telephone, tea and coffee facilities and wireless Internet.
Our rooms are light, airy and maintained to an excellent standard to ensure your stay is both comfortable and relaxed.

The Minster suite is a perfect venue for business meeting, wedding receptions and private parties etc. Our fully air-conditioned restaurant The Clock Tower has an extensive menu for you to sample including a Sunday Carvery.

We have a full programme of entertainment on offer every weekend and extend a warm welcome to all non-residents.
Picture of The Abbey Hotel, SHEERNESS at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly and quite excellent
Hello I very much enjoy my stay thanks!

Reviewed by
Michael Murray

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at The Abbey Hotel Sheerness
Staff were lovely from reception to ladies who cleaned the rooms. Made our stay enjoyable. Thankyou.

Reviewed by
A l

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbey Hotel
The room was lovely, comfy beds, lovely bed linen. However, lack of plug sockets, and no disabled facilities spoiled things. I am a leg amputee in a wheelchair and to get from reception to our room required my husband negotiating me over rubber speed bumps in the car park as there was no pavement. I could not get into the bathroom in my wheelchair and struggled to go to the loo, especially at night as I had to sleep with my prosthetic leg on. Ramps for access to reception and to our room were great, but there were ridges to get out of our room and the main building that hubby had to tip me up over, too. For the size of the hotel, it wouldn't hurt to make three or four rooms disabled friendly. The breakfasts were lovely as were the two meals we ate in the restaurant. The staff were also really helpful and friendly. Thursday night is quiz night and we met up with old friends and enjoyed the evening. All monies are donated to The a Royal Marsden hospital. I'd recommend the hotel to friends, but I won't be going back there all the while I'm in my wheelchair.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restraint did not open until 7pm .wanted some sandwiches as I was going to a show No Chance
The place a bit ran down and dated.You need.a car. Very nice staff Good Breakfast.
The best thing was looking out of my bedroom window. At 7am.4 Big Buch Workmen, In High Visibility Jackets Dancing Bangra, In the Rain. ( Priceless ) Made me Laugh all day.

Reviewed by
Adrian Lane

From Hockley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

only downside ws poor reception on freeview tv

Reviewed by
dave c

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

badly in need of decoration
If we didnt have a family party to attend we would have turned round and come home. Peeling, grubby wallpaper in room, damaged scruffy furnishing, bed cover was clearly in need of a clean and blanket underneath grubby,bobbly with ingrained dirt. Apart from taking our card for payment, no other words were spoken. Breakfast staff polite but 2 star breakfast cereals in tuppaware boxes, cheap bread used and bread &butter ordered with breakfast came with crumbs from knife being used to butter toast before hand,

Reviewed by
J Bloomfield

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean,tidy all what we needed for our stay

Reviewed by
Christopher B

From Sheerness, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel and Best breakfast by a Mile
Made welcomed as soon as we got to Hotel.Nice clean room and warm,bedding clean and slept allnight,when we went in for breakfast service with a smile and the Breakfast you can't fault it (hot,full English and more if needed . Well reccomended will use again when in the area . KEEP IT UP Mr & Mrs Preston

Reviewed by
david preston

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

GOOD HOTEL
friendly owners clean room really relaxed food very nice would stay again

Reviewed by
David H

From Newbury, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money with friendly staff
I chose this hotel for convenience and for its Indian cuisine. Unfortunately the Indian chef was ill so that part of the menu was unavailable but my initially intense disappointment waned into insignificance because the other food (including breakfast and lunch) was really very good, especially considering this is a motel-style establishment in a not very popular location. The reception and bar staff were also excellent. The rooms are quite basic but had all the necessaries, including a bath which is always welcome.

Reviewed by
Susan J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next