Reviews - The Evenhill



Price From 104.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (59)

93% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • peter f

  • November 2015

2 night stay

Basic but just ok for the money.

Bar prices are far too high for the service you get. Restaurant very nice - most dishes we tried were good - one was too greasy . If they reduced the price a little and reduced the portion size it would make sense. Room was small and overcrowded with un necessary furniture . Bed was not comfortable at all. Pillows cheap !. Not really good enough. Our two night stay served its purpose - not bad but not memorable.

  • C Craig

  • October 2015

Can't recommend due to terrible bed

Check in was smooth, and staff walked to show me the way to the rooms then how to work the lock.

The setting was nice and the hotel was clean and quiet. Decor a bit dated and a few cracked floor tiles but clean room and bathroom.

Sadly very badly let down by the bed. I like a firm bed but this was like a rock. I slept very badly it was really uncomfortable. Added to which the bathroom extractor fan for about thirty minutes after the light went off so popping to loo in night was then kept awake by the noise.

Bar was nice for an evening drink and breakfast was great quality what a shame about that bed.

  • james fleming

  • October 2015

Jimmy and Sally 8 October

Excellent value room.

fine food and service. excellent bus service. a real bounds. will certainly stay again.


  • August 2015

Perfect stay

We choose to stay at The Evenhill hotel because we liked the location of being just outside of Canterbury.

We have to say that there is nothing we didn't like about our stay here, our family room number (16) was a lovely size, very clean and comfortable, the food was excellent, breakfast and evening meal, and also the little pub that is attached is very friendly and run by the owners.. Very handy across the road from here is the bus stop which runs a service straight into Canterbury every 20 mins so no need to use the car.. All in all a fantastic stay and would for sure use again..

  • P May

  • July 2015

lovely hotel and very helpful friendly staff

we arrived late, when the restaurant was about to close for the evening, but they sorted us out with menus as soon as we arrived and before booking us in to make sure we got a meal.

After checking in and unpacking, our drinks were waiting on the table, followed almost straight away with our meal. Excellent, thoughtful service. Would definitely stay again

  • Susan B

  • June 2015

Great location for exploring Canterbury and the Kent coast

Very pleasant stay.

Friendly efficient staff. Very clean quiet twin room on ground floor (5) - a little on the small side but what you would expect in the modern block separate from the pub.The pub itself is a beautiful old building.

  • paul wright

  • April 2015

The Evenhill

Beautiful spot really nice place highly recommend.

  • Keith R

  • April 2015

Happy to recommend the Evenhill

The Evenhill was just what we required as a base for visiting the Canterbury area.

Good clean accomodation and excellent restaurant food.

  • E Lucas

  • April 2015

Perfect for what we needed.

The room was lovely and clean and was cleaned/items replenished each day.

The only thing was the hot water, I had a shower and then my husband did but his went very cold as though the hot water had run out. That is the only issue we had with The Evenhill. The customer service was second to none and the food was lovely. Breakfast is included in the price and it was lovely. Drinks and food from the restaurant was a little pricy but was very nice and cooked well. I would stay there again if I ever needed to be in that area again.

  • Chris M

  • April 2015

Lovely Pub Hotel

Stayed here overnight as we had appointment in Canterbury the next day.

It feels like its in the middle of the countryside but is only 5 minutes from the city center. The accommodation is in a large modernized barn type building behind the pub. The room was fine for us very comfortable and we both slept well. The walls are a bit thin so if you had noisy neighbours might be a problem. The staff were brilliant, and the breakfast was also spot on. Would stay again that's for sure.