No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Evenhill

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
62 THE HILL , CANTERBURY, CT3 1TA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

Originally built as cottages in the 16th century, The Evenhill lies on the A257 in Littlebourne, just a 3-minute drive away from the city centre of Canterbury. The comfortable traditional Victorian bar with its oak beams and fireplaces leads onto the Evenhill's popular extensive split-level restaurant. The superb restaurant serves delicious home cooked meals perfect for every occasion. To the rear of the main building lies our hotel, with 15 en suite bedrooms. The setting of our hotel ensures you will have a peaceful night. For those summer days and evenings we have a pleasant garden to complete the picture of a typical yet surprising Kentish pub.

We are the perfect location for those of you who want to explore our fantastic surroundings. Being that we are only a 3 minute drive away from Canterbury, this will give you the opportunity to explore such historical sites as the city's fantastic cathedral and city walls. Canterbury is also a perfect place to go shopping, explore the narrow streets, museums, parks, theatres and cinemas. There are also plenty of golf courses surrounding us, with The Royal St Georges golf club being just a short drive away, why not play where the worlds best golfers do? We are also close to Dover, Whitstable, Deal and Walmer where you will find some of Kent's famous castles and are also great seaside towns. Just a 5 minute drive from us you will be able to join the A2 and form there you will find it easy to access Dover ports and Channel tunnel and its only a 20 minute drive away.

The Evenhill really does have it all.
Picture of The Evenhill, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 85 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
This hotel is nothing more than a glorified Travel Lodge. I booked a double room and was given a family room with the smallest double bed in the world. All very basic. he rooms are not attached to the hotel but in a purpose built garage type building and so there is a walk across the car park which didn't make me feel very safe as a single female traveller. The air-con didn't work and I couldn't open the windows as I was on the ground floor opposite the car park, t.so the room was baking hot all night and the lights on the air-con flashed all night too. Dreadful at the cost of £80 per night for 1 person. Would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Nicola Clarke

From Knutsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely accomadation good food friendly staff
Would recomend this hotel I have no problem using it again.

Reviewed by
Shaun Jones

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kent holiday for two
The evenhill hotel is a very good place to stay for some of the best of Kent , with Canterbury just minutes down the road and the coast easily accessible . the accommodation was clean and well looked after , the rooms are in a converted barn building, occasional noise from doors closing but not a problem as this stopped later at night . the food was excellent both breakfast and evening meals ,should you choose to eat there but we ate there most evenings for this reason.

Reviewed by
k bird

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommended
Stayed for one night for son's graduation and wish we'd found it before our final trip to Canterbury! Clean, comfortable and excellent customer service. We didn't eat in the restaurant but breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Alison C

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice break
Spent three nights here. Handy for Canterbury (10 minutes to city centre is a realistic estimate), The Evenhill is a good quality Shepherd Neame pub/restaurant with rooms on the edge of Littlebourne. Easy to find on the A257, the rooms are nice and quiet as they're in a barn conversion a little way away from the pub and the road. Well equipped room, the only minor gripe being a leaky shower with a loose handle. Pleasant, efficient service and good breakfast selection. Big bonus over the last few days was air conditioning!

Reviewed by
Alan V

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good
Nice friendly hotel , good service ,helpful staff

Reviewed by
S Jewell

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mini break
Ideal position for Canterbury and the surrounding area.

Reviewed by
Jessica H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service
We spent a very pleasant night at the Evenhill. The staff were attentive and friendly so we decided to book in for an evening meal. It was well cooked and attractively presented and the service was excellent. Breakfast the following day didn't disappoint either. Would be very happy to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff at evenhill could not have been more friendly or helpful

Reviewed by
Rebecca Macloughlin

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Can not fault it
Clean, peaceful, nice location, friendly staff & good choice at breakfast which was quality !!
Recommend !

Reviewed by
Dean B

From Bromsgrove, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next