No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Evenhill

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
62 THE HILL , CANTERBURY, CT3 1TA
Originally built as cottages in the 16th century, The Evenhill lies on the A257 in Littlebourne, just a 3-minute drive away from the city centre of Canterbury. The comfortable traditional Victorian bar with its oak beams and fireplaces leads onto the Evenhill's popular extensive split-level restaurant. The superb restaurant serves delicious home cooked meals perfect for every occasion. To the rear of the main building lies our hotel, with 15 en suite bedrooms. The setting of our hotel ensures you will have a peaceful night. For those summer days and evenings we have a pleasant garden to complete the picture of a typical yet surprising Kentish pub.

We are the perfect location for those of you who want to explore our fantastic surroundings. Being that we are only a 3 minute drive away from Canterbury, this will give you the opportunity to explore such historical sites as the city's fantastic cathedral and city walls. Canterbury is also a perfect place to go shopping, explore the narrow streets, museums, parks, theatres and cinemas. There are also plenty of golf courses surrounding us, with The Royal St Georges golf club being just a short drive away, why not play where the worlds best golfers do? We are also close to Dover, Whitstable, Deal and Walmer where you will find some of Kent's famous castles and are also great seaside towns. Just a 5 minute drive from us you will be able to join the A2 and form there you will find it easy to access Dover ports and Channel tunnel and its only a 20 minute drive away.

The Evenhill really does have it all.
Picture of The Evenhill, CANTERBURY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what we needed
A warm welcome and a comfy room, just what we needed after a long drive. It's a simple but comfortable place, and there's a pub!

Reviewed by
Matthew C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable friendly pub with good atmosphere

Reviewed by
David Graham

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accomodation did not quite live up to ............................
The accommodation was very good value for money , but we found that the walls were very thin and we were disturbed easily by a late night group , and a couple arguing until 3am next door . The bathroom cistern was noisy too .
The main course was excellent , but limited choice , but the sweets menu was ordinary , unimaginative , and poor value for money .
For the price , and the fact that we stayed only one night , it was passable , but a longer stay would have been unacceptable .

Reviewed by
ROBERT S

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel makes an ideal base for visiting Canterbury,friendly helpful staff who do that little bit extra to make your stay enjoyable.Room was of a good standard,clean and well presented.Both breakfast and evening meals were very good.Hotel stands to the rear of the pub so you are away from any traffic noise,ample parking also. All in all a lovely small hotel,would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
g wilson

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will be back :)
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Evenhill Hotel, The rooms were spacious and clean plus good quality food

Reviewed by
A Lucas

From England
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good quality, clean accommodation within easy access to Canterbury, even a bus stop outside if you don't want to take the car. Good food in a friendly atmosphere. Lovely room with all the amenities and friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel to friends and family and would be glad to stay here again.

Reviewed by
M Read

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
We enjoyed our 2 night stay, staff are friendly, helpful and the food was very good. We would recommend the Pub to our friends. We were very impressed at the quality of the food and service in the restaurant. The room was clean and beds comfortable and quiet - all in all excellent value for money.

Reviewed by
david w

From Great Yarmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Would recommend friendly staff, good food.

Reviewed by
J R

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Second stay, won't be the last !
Second visit to this immaculate pub/hotel.
Our daughter is at Kent university so we wanted some where to stay that was reasonable as we intend to visit several times a year.
First visit to Canterbury stayed at Holiday Inn which was fine, then found the EvenHill. Intend to continue using that if it remains such good value.
It's a pub, with a separate building for hotel guests. Rooms a little dated but immaculate. Both times had a corner bath, bed comfortable and bedding spotless.
We had dinner the twice we stayed their and good pub grub, prices reasonable and portions generous.
Full English breakfast in included in the price and is cooked freshly for you.
Coal fire in the bar, newspapers and magazines are plentiful and the staff very welcoming. Well recommended and we will be back.

Reviewed by
Anne Watson

From Spennymoor, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hidden Gem
We had an excellent stay. The food was superb and the accomodation was quiet and in beautiful countryside near to Canterbury.

Reviewed by
Mark A

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next