You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Westmead Hotel

3

Redditch Road Hopwood, Redditch, Birmingham, B48 7AL

Price From 103.67 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Gordon Partridge

  • March 2015

Westmead

  • Joanne S

  • March 2015

Good value for money

The Westmead Hotel is good value for money, although the beds and pillows are pretty hard.

Ask for a quiet room. Room service was prompt, but the food wasn't great - garlic bread smothered in butter made it inedible and the spaggetti bolognese was lacking in meat - I thought it was a veggie version. Would stay here again though as it is cheap, convenient for the M42 and the rooms are big.

  • Ashley V

  • March 2015

Will stay again!

Absolutely lovely hotel with staff to match.

Great service upon arrival and in the restaurant. Hotel was very clean and nicely finished. Very spacious rooms in comparison to many other hotels. Really can't find and faults. BEST PART...it is dog friendly which makes it an absolute stay again hotel!!!

  • C Boot

  • February 2015

Nice room, staff very helpful.

Handy for NEC.

  • Jane H

  • December 2014

General comments

Staff were friendly, room was spacious and beds comfortable, however I noticed that the toilet was not clean around one of the fixing points for the seat but otherwise the room was very clean and neat.

the night was cold and I felt that the room needed better heating, there was an electric fire which was on full but we were still cold in the room. We were also pleased that the hotel accepted dogs which was one of our main requirements but a bin for dog waste within the grounds would have been good. (This could have been an ordinary bin for general waste within the grounds or car park). Overall we enjoyed the stay.

  • philip c

  • November 2014

A1

Very very good

  • M Cassidy

  • November 2014

Lovely Hotel

I stayed here after a recommendation from a family member, what a great choce it was.

As it had just been my wife and mine 12th year together we wanted a night away from the kids for a long time. what she didn't know was, that i had booked it all as a suprise. I will say on first arrival, i checked in no problem, fairly quick check in, i asked for an ice bucket to be sent up to our room, within a matter of minutes this had arrived, but there was no mention of check out time the next morning, when we did ask about check out, later on, the polite receptionist informed us it would be 12pm, brilliant we thought. a nice chill out in the morning, rather than having to rush downstairs in the morning to check out at 10am like most hotels. I was not asked if i would like to book breakfast for the next morning, as i had only booked a room only rate, that may have been a good opportunity to up-sell the breakfast option to us. (extra £25!!), the room was, shall we say huge!. lovely huge bed. nice big flat screen tv on the wall, nice modern furniture. all very clean and tidy, Everywhere. after i had surprised my wife with the night away, we went to the bar for a drink, unfortunately, through no fault of his own, the (new) bar man seemed slightly shy/withdrawn and seemed to take a little longer to serve me than i had first anticipated, no problem, but just a quick hello would have sufficed!. the other, what seemed to look like a senior member of bar staff training, didn't seem to have much knowledge about the area, as i had just asked how far/how much it was in a taxi to Birmingham town centre, he didn't know due to being from Edgabston?. anyway we decided against going out, just because it was nice enough just relaxing in the hotel. we decided to order a sandwich before dinner later on ( cheese & red onion,) and a 'mini' portion of fries, these were somewhat better than mini portion, and filled me and my wife up before going to dinner in the restaurant later. While waiting, the MD Ben, came over to say hello, and just make sure we were ok, had a chat and seemed too have quite alot i common. me and my wife thought was very nice. touch. we booked our table for 8pm, we weren't taken to our table, but this wasn't a problem, as we are quite laid back people so it was all good, Lauren, our waitress was very helpful, gave us our menu's and took our wine order, which was prompt, a few more minutes we ordered from the prix fix menu, given the choice available, my wife and i could have easily had literally all items on there, as they all sounded lovely. we ordered our meal, My wife ordered the grilled goats cheese and mushroom tart, i ordered the chicken liver parfait, both lovely. the only criticism was my wifes tart didn't have much goats cheese, as main ingredient stated griled goats chesse with mushroom, not the other way round, we pointed this out to Simon, F& B Manager, he was also very helpful. For Mains, i ordered the grilled salmon fillet with crused new potatoes, with chive butter, very very nice!!. (coming from a chef!!) my wife ordered the minute steak, cooked m/r, in her words, ' cooked to perfection!!' with the peppercorn sauce, she found this slightly too hot for her, but i finished it off for her with my salmon. not ideal maybe, but it was lovely. we didn't have desert as we were too full, total bill £51.85, not bad really i suppose. we stayed in the bar, had a few more drinks, then went to our room, to what can only be described, as before a huge bed. very comfy night sleep. We will definately come back again!. *****!!!!

  • Naomi M

  • November 2014

A Lovely Getaway

We stayed here as a family of four.

Two adults and two children under the age of ten. We were coming to visit Cadbury World but as my son is terribly travel sick we knew we needed to stop over for the night. The Westmead Hotel is one of the recommended hotels on the Cadbury World website. I didn't want a regimented standard hotel like Holiday Inn or Premier Inn. The Westmead looked lovely. They also offered a great Cadbury World deal - Bed & breakfast in a a family room with tickets for all four of us to Cadbury World for £99.00

The first impression of the hotel was lovely and we weren't disappointed when we walked inside the reception. The receptionist was lovely and as we were early for our Cadbury World time slot, she called them and arranged for us to visit earlier. Checking in was easy and we were directed to our room. It was was slightly smaller than I thought it would be but having four beds in there would take up space. It was a bit chilly being a wet November day but the radiator was soon bursting out heat nicely. We were provided with lovely fluffly towels and the beds were made with nice crisp white linen. The beds were extremely comfortable, probably one of the comfiest hotel beds I've stayed in and we all had a great night's sleep. The bathroom was clean and we all enjoyed a shower in the morning although it could have done with being a bit hotter but I wonder if the water heat is regulated to avoid anyone being scalded.

Breakfast in the morning was okay. It was self serivice for cold/ continental breakfasts and your were served for a hot breakfast. The food itself was lovely. We were offered a tea/coffee at the table. I was given a small pot of tea and there was no-one around to get a refill so I had to go and ask. They may be better putting hot water jugs with the cold breakfast things so you can hekp yourself to tea and coffee. This was my only issue. Overall, our stay was lovely and I would recommend this hotel and return.

  • Maureen White

  • November 2014

Special occasion

Enjoyed everything about the hotel apart from the breakfast, I'm not keen on the way it was served, it was not very hot or cooked to my liking.

The staff on the ground floor were very nice and professional and I would definitely stay again minus the breakfast!

  • M Simpson

  • November 2014

Always a warm welcome

As a single female traveller I am always keen to stay in smaller hotels with a warm welcome and pleasant surroundings where I dont feel intimidated or self concious when eating alone.

The Westmead is a lovely hotel where you always receive a warm welcome and they can never do enough for you