No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lysses House Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
51, High Street , Fareham, PO16 7BQ
Once a private residence built at the height of the Georgian era, Lysses House in Fareham is now a small, friendly, independent Hotel..

Lysses (pronounced Lissies) House Hotel, set in the heart of the old Hampshire market town of Fareham, is a mile from Junction 11 of the M27, midway between Portsmouth and Southampton. Bus and railway stations are also within easy reach. The hotel enjoys a central position in the town. It also benefits from beautiful grounds including a peaceful tree-lined rear garden and garden terrace - ideal for a wedding, civil ceremony or other celebration.

Lysses House Hotel offers a unique blend of high standards, personal service, fine food and excellent facilities, but most of all - friendly personal service delivered by a team of great people!

The Richmond Restaurant can cater for anything from a quick breakfast to a leisurely 4 course dinner. Our menu is available at both lunch and dinner. Room service is available day and night with a variety of options.
The bar, lounge and garden terrace provide an ideal setting for a pleasant drink or a quick snack whether in the company of friends and family or business colleagues. Tea and coffee can be served in any of the public areas throughout the day.

The hotel has 21 ensuite bedrooms. Free wifi is available throughout the hotel and hotel residents can also enjoy free entry to LA Fitness, just five minutes walk from Lysses.

Conferences, weddings, civil ceremonies and private functions can all be catered for.
Picture of Lysses House Hotel, Fareham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay !
Had a lovely stay it was a short stop over for a girlie shopping trip and everything was just right, will stay again.

Reviewed by
Sarah-Jane S

From Newhaven, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quick stopover
Upon arrival greeted by very friendly and helpful night staff. Comfortable and clean room although shower not fully functional. Quiet and tranquil setting, lovely lounge and patio area. Followed on from stay by holding a wake at the Lysses and perfect setting for this.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money room and breakfast, a very enjoyable stay.
The lady on the reception desk was very helpful as was all the staff, the room was very clean and the beds very comfortable. There was a wedding going on in the hotel, but this did not disterb our stay. There was still parking available, the atmosphere was happy and lively. The breakfast was very good with good quality sausages. Overall a very enjoyable stay,e would definetly return if in the area again.

Reviewed by
Catherine Leeson

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a welcome stop over
We had a very pleasant two night stay and were impressed with this hotel. We had the added bonus of an unexpected Champagne tasting meal one night which was just a little more expensive than the normal restaurant but well worth it. Service was OK but we were left waiting for our ordered coffees twice during our stay as we seemed to have been forgotten? If I have to be picky then the dishwasher needs to be sorted out as our glasses and tea/coffee pots needed a polish!

Reviewed by
M Lord

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

??
😄

Reviewed by
Kathryn C

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
When we were there, there was a wedding on the Saturday night we thought we were in for a bit of noise as we were on the first floor, but no we never heard a thing the room was very quite and we slept like logs.
Staff were very nice and helpful would defiantly go back.

Reviewed by
Diane W

From Ilkeston, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bank Holiday Monday
When living in the area we had visited this hotel for meals and parties on several occasions.
It was, then, quite a surprise on a Bank Holiday Monday to be told that there would be no Evening Meal served in the Hotel.

Reviewed by
Jean Bates

From Llanwrtyd Wells, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I found the hotel convenient for my trip and very good value for money. My single room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable,although the waitress could have smiled a bit more! It was a pleasant hotel and I would recommend it to other people.

Reviewed by
janys turner

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, quiet and comfortable, with a good breakfast. Ideal for a single traveller.

Reviewed by
Ann B

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
We stayed at this hotel as we were passing through and meeting a friend. The Hotel itself was very nice and had a pleasant lounge where I spent most of the afternoon catching up with my friend. The room was very nice and bed huge and comfortable.
We did not eat in the restaurant however we had lunch in the lounge and breakfast the next day both if which were fine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and I would happily go there again.

Reviewed by
D Stewart

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next