Reviews - Lysses House Hotel


51, High Street, Fareham, PO16 7BQ

Price From 240.46 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (24)

83% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • John C

  • November 2015

Pleasant - but bedroom in need of a refurb...

We spent one night here, a Saturday night, and it was extremely quiet.

Hardly noticed any other guests and the staff were all very pleasant, helpful and the reception and bar/lounge areas were comfortable and no complaints there. However - the room we were in was in desperate need of some r&m. It was at the top of the hotel, at the back, and the position was great in that it had no adjacent rooms, was quiet, reasonably spacious and the bed was comfortable. We were also offered the chance to swap (before we had even seen the room) upon registering as it was up 2 flights of stairs and other rooms were available but once we were up there and settled, we decided to stay.

The issue was damp. Wallpaper is peeling from the walls and ceiling in the corners, and towels left on the window sills to soak up the moisture. This wasn't helped as the heating was off when we arrived - once on, it removed the slight musty smell, and stayed warm all evening. At just under £100, it was a bit over-priced, but a decent enough stay and we were well looked after.

  • helen p

  • October 2015

Leaking ceiling

We were not able to have shower as the occupants in the room above were obviously having a shower and the water was coming through the ceiling into our shower.

  • P Parkin

  • June 2015

Comment from my visit

Cant fault all the staff at all.

While the room was very clean ( liked the idea of leaving the room cleaners name in the room ) I felt 4 the price was a little high and while the bed was okay 4 me would have been a little small 4 a tall person. Did not use the restaurant or bar area cant comment but breakfast was well cooked and was asked if everything was okay. Information about local area in your room very good. So yes nice stay.

  • William L

  • March 2015

Clean room & good breakfast

The room was clean & tidy with a good breakfast the next day.

  • Penelope T

  • December 2014

Lovely place to stay

It was a good place to stay and central to Fareham.

Welcoming and knowledgeable staff. Only one small drawback, I could not get the ceiling lights in the room to turn off completely - they would only dim down. Otherwise a good place and would stay again.

  • D POPE

  • November 2014

Disabled friendly

My son is in a wheelchair with additional physical needs and the hotel made sure we had a ground floor room and were accommodating completely offering help in any way they could.

  • C West

  • November 2014

A very pleasant relaxed stay

The Hotel is situated in a very conveniant spot for visiting the area we needed a base while visiting an

elderly parent .We would definately stay here again and found the whole experiance relaxing and friendly .The breakfasts were just wonderfull the room spotless and staff friendly and helpfull

  • Susan W

  • October 2014

Family break

We stayed as a family of five adults for an evening party in Gosport.

Our room, on the second floor, was clean and well equipped with a view across trees and fields, and the other members of the party were satisfied with their rooms, although one had a view of the air conditioning unit. We particularly appreciated the Eden toiletries and the selection of teas and coffees. We also enjoyed relaxing in the comfortable, well decorated lounge. The full English breakfast, served in the bright and airy dining room, was well cooked and served on hot plates but it was rather offputting that staff were moving furniture away while we were eating (having been told that breakfast would be served until 10 a.m. due to the Great South Run, we did not consider that we were late). The young staff seemed to disappear and did not offer us a refill of our coffee pot or any toast (as it was, we were all full up but that's not the point!). However, it is a pleasant and well maintained hotel which probably just needs to give a little more consideration to customer service.

  • L Deeming

  • October 2014


Overall experience was ok, room clean and tidy however certainly not worth the money, there is cheaper in the area that offer a better room quality.

Breakfast a particular disappointment with raw sausages being served.

  • Sarah-Jane S

  • September 2014

Lovely stay !

Had a lovely stay it was a short stop over for a girlie shopping trip and everything was just right, will stay again.