You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

4

34 - 35 High Street, Southampton, SOUTHAMPTON, SO14 2HN

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (23)

57% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • S valledy

  • July 2016

Business trip

Very disappointing for the price.

Customer service excellent but room in need of repair. Lots of peeling paint, window would not stay open, very noisy. Not worthy of the price paid but ok if just a quick stopover

  • F Bishop

  • July 2016

Noisy!!

This has got to be one of the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in.

No chance of having the window open and still then terrible - traffic; emergency vehicles; people shouting and seagulls. Unbelievable - hopefully some of the rooms would be quieter!

  • S Bean

  • July 2016

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

This hotel was really grimy and dirty paint peeling off the radiator and mould in the bathroom didn't even want to sleep in the bed so we had the sleep on top of the cover.

  • David O

  • July 2016

Pleasant Stay

The room clean and well presented.

The staff was friendly and helpful.

The £5 a day parking charges to use what in effect is some waste ground was slightly annoying and NOT mentioned on their website.

  • James T

  • June 2016

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Service was pleasant.

However, room was hot with no aircon, and noisy with window open (main road).

  • Esther W

  • September 2015

Disappointing

I'm loath to write a negative review as I don't like complaining and I generally make the best out of a bad situation however I was disappointed with this room, and generally the stay at this hotel.

The room was extremely small and although the sheets were clean it could have done with a throrough clean and freshen up. The stay cost £165 per night and for the quality of the room I thought that was extortionate. The staff were friendly and helpful but in the bar there were plates stacked up on tables not cleared away and we had a meal in the restaurant and the glasses and plates from the first course were not cleared away so I just moved them into the windowsill. They also charged £5 for room service. I was pretty disappointed, won't be staying there again!

  • martin hyde

  • September 2015

Southampton Mecure

Good hotel and excellent staff.

Great location would recommend the Indian over the road

  • Shelley Tansell

  • September 2015

Extremely helpful and friendly staff, who went the extra mile to helping us to relax and enjoy our stay.

We had an 8 month baby with us, the staff were very child friendly and made a fuss of the baby, and had high hairs in the restaurant, kettles in the bedroom, a lovely clean and spacious baby change area on the ground floor and the restaurant staff were happy to refrigerate the baby's prescription milk. Making our stay very easy and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • k davey

  • August 2015

excellent value

The hotel was really convenient, very clean and the staff were very helpful

  • Fiona P

  • August 2015

Southampton August 2015

I stayed at the Dolphin hotel for 3 nights as a last minute short break.

I got a good deal through laterooms, but it was room only. The hotel was really central, Southampton centre is easily walkable. It took about 15 minutes from the train station an 5 minutes down to the dock for the ferries and cruise ships. The room was quite spacious and very clean. I was on the ground floor and the only downside was that there are patio tables outside the windows, so the curtains had to stay closed until I was dressed. The room was cleaned daily, and the biscuits were replenished, but the tea bags and sugar were not. There was brown and white sugar and saccharin, but I ran out of white sugar for tea and ended up using brown. A small niggle. I ate in the restaurant on one night and it was very nice and not as expensive as I thought it would be. There is a Wetherspoons a couple of doors down which is a lot cheaper, but the quality is not as good. Even if just for one night, try the hotel restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and couldn't be faulted. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.