Reviews - Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin


34 - 35 High Street, Southampton, SOUTHAMPTON, SO14 2HN

Price From 247.13 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (31)

65% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Esther W

  • September 2015


I'm loath to write a negative review as I don't like complaining and I generally make the best out of a bad situation however I was disappointed with this room, and generally the stay at this hotel.

The room was extremely small and although the sheets were clean it could have done with a throrough clean and freshen up. The stay cost £165 per night and for the quality of the room I thought that was extortionate. The staff were friendly and helpful but in the bar there were plates stacked up on tables not cleared away and we had a meal in the restaurant and the glasses and plates from the first course were not cleared away so I just moved them into the windowsill. They also charged £5 for room service. I was pretty disappointed, won't be staying there again!

  • martin hyde

  • September 2015

Southampton Mecure

Good hotel and excellent staff.

Great location would recommend the Indian over the road

  • Shelley Tansell

  • September 2015

Extremely helpful and friendly staff, who went the extra mile to helping us to relax and enjoy our stay.

We had an 8 month baby with us, the staff were very child friendly and made a fuss of the baby, and had high hairs in the restaurant, kettles in the bedroom, a lovely clean and spacious baby change area on the ground floor and the restaurant staff were happy to refrigerate the baby's prescription milk. Making our stay very easy and relaxed. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • k davey

  • August 2015

excellent value

The hotel was really convenient, very clean and the staff were very helpful

  • Fiona P

  • August 2015

Southampton August 2015

I stayed at the Dolphin hotel for 3 nights as a last minute short break.

I got a good deal through laterooms, but it was room only. The hotel was really central, Southampton centre is easily walkable. It took about 15 minutes from the train station an 5 minutes down to the dock for the ferries and cruise ships. The room was quite spacious and very clean. I was on the ground floor and the only downside was that there are patio tables outside the windows, so the curtains had to stay closed until I was dressed. The room was cleaned daily, and the biscuits were replenished, but the tea bags and sugar were not. There was brown and white sugar and saccharin, but I ran out of white sugar for tea and ended up using brown. A small niggle. I ate in the restaurant on one night and it was very nice and not as expensive as I thought it would be. There is a Wetherspoons a couple of doors down which is a lot cheaper, but the quality is not as good. Even if just for one night, try the hotel restaurant. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and couldn't be faulted. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • S Davies

  • August 2015

Mecure Southampton

Ideal location, convenient parking although £5 charge overnight isn't made clear at booking stage apart from fantastic room.

Up and out to early to enjoy breakfast.....

  • Penny Green

  • June 2015


I have stayed here before with a friend stopped the night before going to the isle of Wight.I couldn't fault it then ,so on a another visit to the island with my husband booked in to the same hotel and found it as good as my first stay.I would highly recommend this hotel very professional staff nothing was to much trouble and always a smile.Well done .

  • Susan Myers

  • April 2015

The Room was overlooking a strip club and I had no sleep all night.

the noise finally subsided slightly at 4.30am in the morning. I think I should be refunded as this the worst hotel I ever stayed in. it is not 4 star it is old shabby creaky. suggest you send somebody to stay in room 314 on a saturday evening and experience it for themselves.

  • L Curnick

  • April 2015

Great location. Clean room. Comfortable bed. Wonderful staff.

  • Alex M

  • January 2015


Clean room, right in centre of restaurant land, and excellent breakfast.