No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mercure Southampton Dolphin Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
34-35 HIGH STREET , SOUTHAMPTON, SO14 2HN
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel is situated in the heart of Southampton where it has stood for over 500 years, the grade II listed building is steeped in tradition. Jane Austin celebrated her 18th Birthday here.

The hotel has been awarded 4 stars and all 99 guest rooms are all en suite and each have their own unique shape and features. Some even have original features dating back 100s of years. All have tea and coffee making facilities, iron & ironing board, safes, flatcreen Freeview TVs and Mercure toiletries.

The hotels offers complimentary Wi-Fi to all guests throughout the hotel.

The Signature Restaurant based inside the hotel has been awarded a rosette for food quality from the AA and serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. The Oak Bar has a wide range of wines, spirits and much more.

The hotel has two wonderfully sized functions rooms lots of natural daylight. The bay windows are reported to be two of Britain’s largest. These rooms are perfect for any occasion, from a Boardroom meeting of 10 to a wedding of 100.

It has a central location close to Southampton’s main shopping area and West Quay Shopping Centre. SeaCity Museum, Mayflower Theatre and the ancient city walls are all within walking distance. There are also great transport links locally. The perfect base for a pre cruise stopover and cruise packages available however long term car parking is only available as part of the park and cruise package. There is a car park on site with over 80 spaces available to residents at a charge.
Picture of Mercure Southampton Dolphin Hotel, SOUTHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wouldn't go back
Room seemed to have been in a part of the hotel that was/recently had works done to it with saw dust everywhere and visable work being done. Bath had hairs in it, bed sheets were stained. Tap so stiff the water went all over the floor. Unclean, outdated, and definitely not a 4 star. At £89 a night it was an absolute rip off. I could've (and next time will) stayed at the Blue Keys for less than half the price this lot charged for a much better room.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel. I was very sorry to read of your experience for which I sincerely apologise, I will be addressing your feedback with the team and I am sorry for the poor impression this has created which is not in keeping with the high standards we offer. I do hope we will get the opportunity to prove this to you, apologies again. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
S Patel

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The fact that the hotel leave ear plugs on the bedside table say's it all, the noise !!!!!
The room was very dated, old and in need of total refurbishment, stain's down the wall and split coffeee ( I hope it was coffee!) all over the skirting board next to the bed. The bathroom tiles have black mould in the grouting which really puts you off using the bath. The noise from the road and the bars over the road went on until 2 am ish and then the road cleaning machine starts at 5am along with the road noise and that with the windows closed. Reception were nice but unhelpful, the car parking states 80 spaces but I understand they do a park and fly which meant that 50% of the spaces were blocked and additional street parking is poor and charged as is the hotel car park.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, I am sorry to read you did not enjoy your stay for which I sincerely apologise. I will be addressing the points raised and I appreciate you bringing them to my attention. In regards to the car parking we do manage this area very carefully and would like to assure you that whilst we do have some park and cruise package cars it does not take up 50% of the spaces. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
C Jones

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Noisy and regrettable
Had a room on top floor on the high street side. Small room and very hot so had to open windows as no air conditioning. Did not sleep a wink all night due to the noise outside. A big clue was the ear plugs provided by the hotel in the room. If I had wanted to stay awake all night I could have walked around Southampton. I asked for a quiet room when I booked and I certainly did not get one. I would not stay here again because of this. Shame as the bar food was nice.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review following you stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. I am sorry to read you did not enjoy a good night's sleep for which I sincerely apologise. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
frances o

From newport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another Enjoyable Stay at the Mercure Dolphin Hotel
I love staying in this hotel - it is my Southampton Hotel of choice and I have stayed in most of them! The staff are always friendly and helpful, the rooms extremely comfortable and clean and the quality of the food is excellent. It's location is good for shopping and also the excellent restaurants in Oxford Street. St Mary's football stadium is also not far away!

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, we really value your feedback. Great to read you enjoy the hotel and its location and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel soon. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
Nicole Ashworth

From St Clement Jersey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not 4 Star Accomodation
Issues as follows:
1) Room tiny, very hot and in desperate need of decoration.
2) the hotel in general is not in good shape
3) On arrival the room still had half a bottle of water, some toothpaste left therefore the room was poorly cleaned.
4) It possibly the nosiest hotel i've ever stayed in, so didnt sleep well on any of the 4 nights.
5) The glass bottom to the lampshade fell off and was left on the side for 2 days.
6) Constantly queued at reception.
7) Breakfast is overpriced
Would i stay again, probably not. The Premier Inn is much better value (although parking is an issue)
On a positive note!
The staff were excellent, the food and service in the restuarant is very very good and WiFi works very well and it free.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us I was very sorry to read there were elements of your stay that were not to our high standard, however I was also pleased to read there were also positive aspects of your stay. I would like to assure you that your feedback will be addressed with my team and I do hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel in the future. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
M Shepherd

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Loved the way the renovated rooms retained the character of the building. Extremely friendly staff.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us your feedback is important to us. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to others we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel on your next visit to the city. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
Andrew B

From Cowes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
All the staff at the hotel were lovely! very helpful and friendly. The receptionist was helpful and went out of her way too get local information. We will be booking in again! very soon!! Thank you too all the staff, for making our stay so nice!! Wayne & Colleen xx

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I will ensure your kind words are shared with the team, we look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
C A

From England
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rooms by road very noisy
The room was spacious and beds very comfy however the noise from the street, the bar across the road and street traffic was really loud. Shame as everything else was great.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guests, Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel, we really value your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford General Manager

Reviewed by
Jo P

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Good accommodation & convenient location

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Mercure Southampton centre Dolphin hotel, really pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
Paul W

From East Grinstead, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Southampton Stopover
This place is so nice and such good value we look to stay here when ever in the area. The barman is excellent, very helpful and entertaining andnot stuffy. Rooms are fantastic for the cost. Only let down is paying for their car park a bit mean. The need for multiple passwords for wifi is also irritating.

ManagementResponse

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us here at the Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Neil Brailsford, General Manager

Reviewed by
F O'HARA

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next