No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mereside Hotel

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 Empire Terrace, , , Douglas, IM2 4LE
Our central location places us within easy reach of Douglas promenade and all the town's amenities, while if it's good food and drink you want, you scarcely need to go further than the dining room. Enjoy one of our delicious evening meals and relaxing drink or two in our bar and restaurant, ‘HQ'. A former World War Two army headquarters, HQ retains a fascinating sense of history while offering a thoroughly fresh and modern ambience in which to unwind. When weather allows, guests also enjoy sitting out on our decked patio area, a lovely suntrap. We naturally have all the facilities you would expect from a 4-star guest house but here's a quick re-cap of what you'll discover at the Mereside: * Eight beautifully decorated bedrooms, all ensuite with modern facilities * Further bedrooms are locates in our two annexes, The Rosslyn Hotel and Glen Mona Hotels, both just 2 doors away. Please note your accommodation may be located in one of our annexes. * Rooms with sea views available – just ask * Family-run guest house with friendly atmosphere * Historic Victorian building with sunny sea aspect * Disabled facilities including lifts to all floors and ramps into entrances * Group bookings welcomed * Young and old alike catered for * Child-friendly with facilities for tots and babies * Delicious cooked breakfasts served between 8am and 9am * Hot and cold evening meals served between 5pm and 9pm * Central Douglas location, handy for the beach – and catching a horse tram! * Fine local real ale (‘Bosun Bitter') on sale in our hotel bar and restaurant, 'HQ'
Picture of Mereside Hotel, Douglas at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't trust what is written
First time on the Isle of Man and was looking to see where was best to stay for future visit on business.. Don't trust what others have written, as a seasoned traveler, this is very poor value for money.. Rooms one step up from DSS level, breakfast was not very good in quality. Thankfully managed to get a better deal in a quality hotel for our second night. Isle of Man very nice and I will be back for business, but not at this B&B

Reviewed by
Chris D

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend and use again

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Faversham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice and comfortable stay, very good value for money

Reviewed by
Darren Roberts

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly staff, bent over backwards to answer questions and make you feel welcome.
Clean rooms, great view. Friendly helpful staff.

Reviewed by
ben ashton

From Castleford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended hotel
Excellent food, excellent bed and excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
B Cole

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay. Staff are really friendly and will help with anything you need
Stayed in this hotel during the tt weeks,got off ferry at 6 in the morning really tierd went to drop bags off at the hotel check in wasn't till 2 but the owner of the hotel(man) said we could have our room early which was fantastic. The hotel may sound abit pricey but defo worth every penny the breakfast is very nice everything you need.the room is really good with comfy beds will defo be staying here again hats off too the owners for doing a great job everything worth while many thanks

Reviewed by
kimberley m

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money

Reviewed by
scott v

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

friendly staff and good basic guest accomodation
Typical small guest house a bit dated but clean and satisfactory.
room servicing was a bit ad hoc but no problem with any requests from reception.
Cost at MGP / classic TT about what you expect
Restaurant buffet style breakfast again satisfactory and adequate with no shortage of food and all reasonably well cooked and presented.

Reviewed by
Graham S

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

MGP Experience
We were actually staying in the Rosslyn Hotel, which is one of the adjoining properties, and owned and run by the same people.Lovely food above all. Room was adequate for our needs and nice and clean.
Unfortunately one nights sleep was ruined for everyone because the fire alarm went off at 03:30, having gone off at 18:00 the previous evening, both times for no apparent reason.Guests stood around outside for approx 30 - 45 minutes, good job it wasn't raining!.
We had to leave early i.e before breakfast on our last morning to catch the ferry, but were not offered a packed take-away breakfast, which would have been nice since we had paid for it.

Reviewed by
Eric Jones

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely Will Return!
This was an absolutely lovely hotel experience! I have stayed at so many hotels over the past 8 months in various parts of Scotland and England, and this hotel is one of my absolute favorites! The room I stayed in was spacious and beautiful with a nice sized bathroom. The WiFi worked perfectly, and I had no problems getting the work done that I needed to do online. The breakfasts are delicious. The hotel is wonderfully located. The breathtaking views of the ocean are just a few steps away. Chris and Helen were a pleasure to see each day and were always very welcoming, friendly, and helpful. As a budget traveler, you get such great service and top quality here. I definitely will stay at the Mereside again and would encourage everyone who wants to visit the Isle of Man to give this hotel a chance. You will not be disappointed!

Reviewed by
C Roberts

From Newton Centre, USA
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next