No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sidholme Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
ELYSIAN FIELDS VICARAGE ROAD, SIDMOUTH, EX108UJ
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.

This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.

Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.
The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site.

The Hotel is a really welcoming place for anyone visiting on their own. Whether you are escaping for a few days to restore your equilibrium or need peace and tranquillity to work free from distractions, Sidholme Hotel is there for you. The restaurant has communal tables which guests (couples and individuals alike) can join to dine with and get to know other guests. We plan to have different activities on offer and plenty of more relaxing options in between. A chance to learn, smile and maybe find a new hobby. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.

Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish.

Please be aware that a 1.5% charge will be added to your payment should you choose to pay using a credit card.”
Picture of Sidholme Hotel, SIDMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Customer Service was official, but not warm or friendly, which was a surprise as this is a Christian run establishment.
Didn't get the rooms booked meaning that a collegue with disabilities ended up in an upstairs room quite some distance from the reception.
other than this all else was acceptable.

Reviewed by
L Swartz

From Eastleigh, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for Money
The room was small - the beds were small, poor décor, this curtains that showed light, small bathroom. This hotel was the most expensive of my trip this week which I had stayed at Best Western which was much cheaper than this which included breakfast was a large room beautifully decorated.
The so called games room was filthy.
The good point was its quite peaceful location with beautiful gardens its a pity the inside did not match.
The pool is quite nice.

Reviewed by
julie hutchinson

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recommend the Sidholme Hotel
Spent 4 nights at the Hotel, and enjoyed it very much. Hotel within easy reach of town centrer. Stayed in room 26 which over looked the back of hotel but was easy to access from there. Staff were excellent and the room clean very well. Breakfast buffet was good but extra cost bumped up the basic cost quite a bit. Enjoyed the large round tables in the breakfast room.

Reviewed by
CHRIS PEARSE

From Gillingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hum..
The main house they show looked really nice but as a single traveller I had to stay in the old annexe out the back. This was very basic to say the least. The carpets looked really quite stained and the towels must have been about 10 years old as they were so thin. The annexe being very old really needs updating and how anyone would be willing to pay full price for these rooms is amazing. The pool was nice but more than 5 people in it would make it hard to swim as its quite small.

Reviewed by
Kimberley D

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room at a lovely price!
We booked this stay at the last minute and the price was the main thing that attracted us to it. We were not expecting much as very cheap but it was lovely - full tea and coffee making facilities, comfortable bed, surrounding rooms very quiet. Lovely area and nice gardens. Will definately be coming again!

Reviewed by
Georgia C

From sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

New, nice indoors pool very good
rooms are a bit outdated, in need of refurbishing but the pool saved my stay with family/kids when the weather is not good enough for the beach.

Reviewed by
Mark King

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value offer, clean and comfortable accommodation

Reviewed by
Alan Spratt

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value
If only i had known about the swimming pool
Excellent accomodation

Reviewed by
e jones

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm welcome
Staff were very supportive and made me feel welcome throughout.

Reviewed by
Michael F

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel
We stayed for one night in February and were very lucky to be upgraded to a superior room. The hotel and grounds are stunning and there is also a lovely swimming pool that guests can enjoy with towels provided. Our room was beautiful and our bed the most comfortable I've slept in. Tea making facilities in room were excellent and shower was brilliant. The staff were professional and friendly. I really enjoyed our stay and would love to have stayed longer. I felt safe and at peace in this hotel and would highly recommend it to anyone needing to recharge their batteries!

Reviewed by
T Lowe

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next