No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sidholme Hotel

Not Classified  Hotel Ratings explained
ELYSIAN FIELDS VICARAGE ROAD, SIDMOUTH, EX108UJ
72 bedroom Hotel and can accommodate up to 133 guests, including a number of ground floor rooms and 2 disabled rooms. All the bedrooms at Sidholme Hotel include Fair-Trade tea and coffee making facilities and hair-dryers. Bedrooms do not have televisions, however a comfortable television room is easily located within the Hotel. Parking is free for Guests of the Hotel.

This gracious Georgian mansion has been welcoming guests for 80 years with a Christian ethos. It was originally built for the 6th Earl of Buckinghamshire and was known as Richmond Lodge. It is particularly noted for its magnificent Music Room, complete with fine chandeliers and Gothic-style organ.

Well suited to the holiday maker and conference delegate alike, who can work, rest or play in its peaceful and relaxing surroundings.
The hotel is located in nine acres of delightful grounds and when staying you have complimentary use of our Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the centre of the town of Sidmouth with its splendid coastline, newly appointed as part of the Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site.

The Hotel is a really welcoming place for anyone visiting on their own. Whether you are escaping for a few days to restore your equilibrium or need peace and tranquillity to work free from distractions, Sidholme Hotel is there for you. The restaurant has communal tables which guests (couples and individuals alike) can join to dine with and get to know other guests. We plan to have different activities on offer and plenty of more relaxing options in between. A chance to learn, smile and maybe find a new hobby. Please be informed that the hotel does not have lift facilities.

Sidholme Hotel is part of Christian Guild group of Hotels and we welcome everyone, guests are free to take part with as much or as little of the daily activities as they wish.

Please be aware that a 1.5% charge will be added to your payment should you choose to pay using a credit card.”
Picture of Sidholme Hotel, SIDMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 41 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice place, friendly staff, good location
We stayed at the Sidholme Hotel for a night this February and found it to be well located, with friendly staff and nice clean rooms. Room service were quite eager in the morning but that's not entirely a bad thing. We got our room for an astoundingly cheap £35 by booking last minute so value for money was excellent.

Reviewed by
L Cross

From Richmond, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We arrived in very stormy weather with 2 young children & the staff ran to the car & helped with my luggage & the children, excellent service, nothing was too much bother.

Reviewed by
lynne bradley

From shrewsbury, England
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect retreat
The hotels own description does not do the hotel justice.A great location,great staff,and WILL stay again.Tranquility guaranteed.

Reviewed by
bob dixon

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The other side of Sidholme
This was a very last minute booking so the hotel was almost full and it was hardly surprising that I ended up in the annexe.The room was of a hostel standard which given the price and the main hotel facilities being available for use was fine but did not excuse the dreadful mildewed state of the windows in the room. . Seemingly staff have not pulled back the net curtains for a long time ! Sadly the reception desk was very switched off on this visit also.It is so important that all staff are motivated to give of their best ?

Reviewed by
anna p

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Did not know what to expect due to the price that I paid for this overnight stay, however from the moment we arrived til the moment we left we had a completely relaxed and quiet stay. Reception staff where polite and helpful. Stayed in room 43 and although the room was dated it was immaculate and the on suite bathroom was very clean. Would recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
Darren Wade

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An enjoyable stay
We enjpyed our stay, hotel's swimming pool was good and relaxing, just right , the room we stay in was closey and in good standard overall.

Reviewed by
R Waygood

From Milford Haven, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Unusual
This is a very unusual house with an interesting past. The place is spotlessly clean and nicely appointed. Our room was lovely (Room 8 - one of the 'superior' rooms)) although a bit chilly as the radiators had not been turned on. We had breakfast which was charming. There is no bar in this hotel although tea/coffee/soft drinks and snacks are available at reception which is also a little 'shop'. The restaurant only serves dinner at 6.30pm but it is a short walk into town for other eating places and pubs. We found a very nice Indian. All very nice and quiet and elegant and we look forward to staying again.

Reviewed by
JOANNE W

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to swim !
Really enjoyed walking through the garden to use the lovely indoor pool.

Reviewed by
anna p

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room only was all we wanted. The swimming pool was a huge draw for me. Excellent pool and surrounding area. Wonderful gardens and well situated to the town

Reviewed by
Jacqueline H

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay between 8th-10th October
A nice quiet hotel with a grandeur about it, room was clean and tidy but would be better with a bit of art on the walls, communal bathroom and WC needs updating, en-suite and TV available but at extra cost, additional cost for breakfast OK if you have the full English, the pool was nice.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next