Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > Wales > South Wales > Newport > Bishton Hotels > Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory

5Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
THE OLD RECTORY, LLANMARTIN , NEWPORT, NP18 2EB
Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory is a 5 star boutique Guest House which exudes luxury. This chic, contemporary address is set in private gardens extending to 0.75 acre and offers six stunning bedrooms to rival the very finest accomodation. This gem, a place for all seasons, is nestled in the famous Usk Valley surrounded by tranquil countryside.

All our rooms and suites feature Flat Screen TVs, Free Internet WIFI throughout and most importantly specially chosen high quality King Beds with handsprung mattresses for your total comfort. Our rooms are contemporary with an emphasis on absolute luxury. Each ensuite bathroom features full Italian Carrera marble with digitally controlled heated floors and mood enhancing complimentary toiletries. Simply put this accomodation captures the mood of effortless living.

Breakfast is served at your leisure in our bright dining room or al fresco during the summer months. This special property is the right choice if you are looking for a romantic weekend away, a fun family break or a peaceful haven after a hectic business day. We look forward to welcoming you. Be our Guest
Picture of Celtic Guest Houses, The Old Rectory, NEWPORT at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 56 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The receptionist on our arrival was very pleasant and helpful, and because they were quiet she upgraded us to a larger room. Very well appointed, luxurious bathroom, and very clean, although there were no drawers in which to put undies etc. Very nice stay and would recommend it.

Reviewed by
R Sexton

From Honiton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury bed? ( really)
Many plus points clean helpful staff but on the down sides I found the room rather small for executive no bath but a nice shower and the described luxury king size bed is two singles zipped together which is a little bit of a passion killer and very uncomfortable to sleep on a hard seam straight down the middle of the bed , many choices of teas but only one sort of coffee when I pointed these things out to the staff member I was told I should of booked a suite and no one else had complained about the bed and they do have different coffee etc available ( might be a good idea to pop some in the rooms then I.e. Decaf etc) view from the room was just plain grass overlooking a farm house but it was quiet and easy to find we were recommended by the staff of places to eat and she did sort out flowers for me on arrival so on the whole very pleasant just a couple of points that can be improved on ( a thick mattress topper and different coffees )

Reviewed by
M Morgan

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic guest house
The most amazing nights stay, at a truly amazing guest house.

Reviewed by
Dean C

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly guest house
A very welcoming and friendly guesthouse. Sue couldn't do more for us and when she found out it was our wedding night, went out of her way to ensure our stay was at the top of the scale, even finding us a table in a packed restaurant in the next village for our evening meal. Fantastic experience, and we will certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Rhys D

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely stay
The stay at Celtic Guest House was great without any hassle,a very clean room,very modern with tea making facilities and available snack tray,the bathroom and shower were to die for with lashings of hot water and underfloor heating.Sue,the manager was attentive and helpful with all questions answered without fuss nad bother,we will certainly stay again inthe future.

Reviewed by
M Boxall

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very nice stay. Lovely rooms, delicious breakfast with excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
c wright

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chilled out weekend (with the kids!)
Relaxing, peaceful and beautiful location with great service & facilities. Only one wish would have been a bacon roll and a cup of tea thrown in for brekkie. Wouldn't stop me going again though! Lovely, lovely, lovely.

Reviewed by
Chris S

From Hayes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm Welsh Welcome
A very brief over night stay but the welcome could not have been more warm or efficient.
Beautiful room, great facilities and an amazing shower!

Reviewed by
Gail T

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Secluded haven
First stay at this guest house that is well deserved to be 5 star. This immaculate kept accommodation is convieniant to the M4 yet secluded away to enjoy the comforts of being more rural. Local pub within 50 yards and restaurants close by in neighbouring villages. My stay served the exact requirements needed and I will most definitely stay at this venue in the near future.

Reviewed by
dan m

From Dawlish, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel in Newport Gwent
Modern interior in a quiet part of the Newport Area.
I was very impressed with the décor and cleanliness of the hotel. I've stayed at the Hilton about 1 mile away before and the rooms were not as good and the noise level much higher.
Would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Reviewed by
Neil C

From England
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next