No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Luttrell Arms Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Exmoor National Park , Dunster Nr Minehead, TA24 6SG
A beautiful 13th Century property set on a hillside in the quaint town of Dunster, located just 1 mile from the beach and even closer to the magnificent Dunster Castle. The hotel was used in medieval times as a guest house by the Abbots of Cleeve. Set in the only street in Dunster and within the Exmoor National Park, this sleepy hotel is an escapist’s paradise.

There are 28 bedrooms where guests enter and step back in time. Every room is unique and exquisitely furnished as if time had stood still. The magnificent four-poster beds are dwarfed by the high ceilings and exposed oak beams. In the winter the open fires glow and a very warm atmosphere is created throughout the hotel.

When dining there are two options to choose from in this intimate hotel. The Luttrell Arms Restaurant offers a more formal meal where the Head Chef has created some exciting meals based on the bests of modern British Cuisine. The bar which is styled as a traditional pub, serves meals that extend to the garden outside in the summer months for alfresco dining at its best.

Dunster is one of Somerset’s best kept secrets set between Exmoor National Park and The Bristol Channel. The village skyline is dominated by the castle standing on a hill that rises 85 metres above the sea. The home of the Luttrell family for over 600 years it is now a National Trust property. The Medieval village is a time capsule waiting to be discovered with history on every corner. There is even a steam railway to make sure the 21st Century is left well and truly behind.

Somerset offers much to see and do; there is something to suit every taste. There are a wealth of historic and famous castles and gardens, such as Dunster Castle, Wells Cathedral, Montacute House and Hestercombe Gardens. Great family attractions like Brean Leisure Park, Fleet Air Arms Museum, Haynes International Motor Museum, Wookey Hole and the Cheddar Caves. Plus stunning Natural Features such as Glastonbury Tor, Dunkery Beacon on Exmoor, Ham Hill Country Park and spectacular nature reserves such as Westhay, Ebbor Gorge and Tarr Steps.
Picture of The Luttrell Arms Hotel, Dunster Nr Minehead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luttrell Arms
We had a great couple of days. All the staff were friendly and efficient even though they were in the midst of a change of ownership. The hotel is really interesting becaus of its history but also was very comfortable and clean.

Reviewed by
L Landeg

From Porthcawl, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lutterell Arms
Lovely hotel, staff were fantastic. we will definetly stay here again, the rooms were spotless and the food was really good. Would recommend it to everyone.

Reviewed by
S Bradwick

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A REAL GEM OF A HOTEL!
The hotel was charming, full of history and a real gem of a find. Th staff were polite and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble. We had tea at 5 o'clock and the home made flapjacks were delicious! The room was very well decorated, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was equally delicious and hot - again service was excellent. As a business traveller it would have been better for the breakfast service to have started earlier than 8 o'clock but it was worth the wait.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline Rickard

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful open fires great location what more can you want !
The room was really nice and clean and very warm which is a bonus in January .So it comes as a shame after the wonderful time me and my wife had to complain but i would just like to point out everything else about the hotel is wonderful the open fires were amazing when we got back to the hotel after being out all day . So to the complaint if you are given room 22 before you do anything check the hot tap in the bathroom it is barely a trickle that comes out !! but the rest of the bathroom was wonderful the shower had a sprinkler head on amazing great shower . So would i recommend this hotel god yes . And for those people who like a chain hotel that looks the same as everything else do not come here . This place is unique with its upstairs garden and its creaking floors wonderful .

Reviewed by
Glen williams

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel is in recievership so probably not a good time to stay, although it was not unpleasant. Drinks overpriced,as is the food. All staff ,[with one rude and off handed male exception] were cheerful and helpful. Parking in Dunster is a huge problem ,the hotel has no car park.

Reviewed by
mike s

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a superb break!
We have stayed at Lutterell Arms before, that is why we wished to return. The decor is a bit dated and in need of refurbishment, but the friendliness of the staff and quality of the food more than compensates. The furnishings in the rooms are of finest quality, comfortable beds with beautifully clean crisply laundered sheets. Plenty of hot water, large selection of towels and centrallly heated rooms. Flat screen tv, wi fi, trouser press, iron and board, also tea & coffee making facilities.
Well stocked bar with fine selection of local ales. We were in room 10 which lead directly into a beautiful garden with breathtaking views of Dunster Castle & overlooking the wild deer park.
Unfortunately this hotel has no private car park, but free parking is offered close by which does get very full, but there is a pay & display car park within short distance with reasonable rates. This hotel was we think a great bargain for the price we paid.

Reviewed by
DAVID NURTON

From , UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

splendid hotel
a lovely experience on a winter weekend. the room was fabulous and even though four poster beds are not made for six footers like me it was very nice nevertheless. lovely decor, great bar with real ale and log fire...and a sense of history to the place. full of charming character.

Reviewed by
andy lloyd

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

our stay at Luttrell Arms Hotel
Used as a base for a weekend visit to the West Somerset Railway Winter Steam Gala

Reviewed by
@ Caddy

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value laterooms stay but wouldn't have wanted to pay the full rack rate price
The room and bathroom were pleasant and clean with all necessary amenities. The reason I wouldn't have wanted to have paid the full advertised rate for the room was down to the small bed, it was a standard double I think, but it felt quite small. It was comfortable though and perfectly sufficient for a night's stay at the laterooms rate.
The hotel was charming and unique, lovely open fires/woodburners.
Didn't eat dinner at the hotel as for some reason we got the impression it wasn't going to be brilliant, this wasn't really based on anything firm though - just a hunch. The breakfast in the morning was also perfectly adequate for a laterooms stay but again, wouldn't have been impressed if we'd have paid the full rate - the baked beans and sausage tasted a bit cheap.
Dunster itself is lovely and the hotel is very well positioned and a nice place to go - think my summary would be "ideal for a late value deal, lovely historical hotel but not worth over £100 per room".

Reviewed by
Carol W

From Axminster, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

christmas break
Just a few days away, we like the area and The Luttrell Arms Hotel is in a nice little town called
Dunster near Exmoor . Very good food,very cosy with large log fire in bar.
A very nice stay.

Reviewed by
J Wood

From Lifton, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next