No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Shibden Mill Inn

4AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
Shibden Mill Fold , Halifax, HX3 7UL
This family run 17th Century Inn, just three miles from Halifax, has an excellent reputation for its two AA rosette restaurant, offers free Wi-Fi and boasts traditional log fires. Shibden Mill Inn nestles in the fold of the Shibden Valley overlooking Red Beck. and is steeped in history. The property has been sympathetically renovated to retain its original charm and character.

There are 11 en-suite bedrooms offering the homely style and comfort of a traditional Inn, but including modern day conveniences such as flat screen TV, DVD player (with access to DVD library), Tea & Coffee making facilities, Hair-Dryer, Telephone, Radio Alarm and Bathrobes. Rooms offer fresh linen on relaxing beds that are sure to offer the perfect night’s rest.

The intimate candlelit restaurant is a popular and romantic venue for special occasions and splendid dinners, where the head chef and his team offer a wide and varied selection of dishes that are guaranteed to satisfy every palate. The private dining room, found to the side of the main restaurant, offers a warm and private setting for smaller parties of up to 8; ideal for a special birthday or anniversary celebration. As well as being awarded two AA rosette for fine dining, the restaurant has been awarded a host of prestigious awards, including Food Pub of the year, Best Full English Breakfast, Les Routiers Inn of the year 2011 and Sunday Lunch pub of the year at the Publican Food & Drink Awards.

The cosy and welcoming bar offers an ambient atmosphere in which to wind down after a busy day. With an excellent range of beers and spirits, as well as teas, coffees and a great selection of wines from around the world, you are sure to find the perfect accompaniment to enjoy with friendly conversation.

Located in the idyllic and peaceful Shibden, the regions commercial and cultural centres are easily accessible and lovers of the countryside can also enjoy a series of planned walks around the valley. Halifax itself boasts several attractions that will appeal to a range of people, from the local sporting locations including the Rugby and Football stadium, The Shay, to the ever popular Children's Museum Eureka!.

Please note, dogs are accepted on request at a cost of £10 per dog per night.
Picture of Shibden Mill Inn, Halifax at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic short stay
I booked this at the very last minute and I wasn't disaapointed with the accommodation. The reception staff were very helpful and I was very impressed with the decor of my room. The breakfast service was exceptionally good. It's a pity I didn't book in for a longer stay!

Reviewed by
G Sudle

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay!
The only negative from a customer service point-of-view was that when I dropped our case at the hotel early I was told it wouldn't be possible to take the case to the room for us. I hadn't requested this but I was surprised that it wasn't possible at a hotel of this standard.
The only negative from the room quality point-of-view was that the mattress on the bed was VERY firm - an issue of personal preference obviously but we tend to prefer a from mattress and even this was too firm for us!

Reviewed by
S Moncreiff

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great find!
A small, very friendly hotel with great food. The breakfast was first class! Now hoping to wangle another business trip, but would stop here for pleasure as well.

Reviewed by
G Mackay

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous inn - possibly one of the best in Yorkshire!
Shibden Mill Inn is our favourite hostelry and we try to visit at least every couple of months. The characterful property oozes warm ambiance, with cosy log fires, beams galore and several comfy areas to relax in. The pub serves fantastic micro brewery beer and has an extensive wine list, so you are spoiled for choice when it comes to drink. Having enjoyed meals on several occasions we can heartily recommend dining here. On this occasion, we spent New Year's Eve in the bar, staying overnight in the hotel. Our room was comfortable and clean, the decor was beautiful. On entering the room, classical music was playing on the old fashioned looking radio -a nice, extra touch. Breakfast the next morning was probably one of the best we have eaten at any hotel. We both opted for the superbly cooked eggs Florentine. There are several cooked breakfasts to choose from as well as a huge assortment of cereals (including home made muesli), fresh fruits, and home made compotes to go with fresh, organic yogurt. Many of the fresh ingredients for food served in the hotel are grown in their own gardens across the stream, whilst others - such as honey - are sourced locally. I would highly recommend both the hotel and pub, and I have no doubt we will be staying again in the future.

Reviewed by
JC L

From Cleckheaton, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cracking place
ideal place for a special night or two away ,we found it pricey but worth it. it was all the little touches that made our stay special. the food was very good but the breakfast was superb.

Reviewed by
Steve Walker

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review of Shibden Mill
This is the second time we have stayed at Shibden Mill and what an enjoyable experience it was. The service from the staff members was friendly and curteous, the feel and atmosphere of the place is very relaxed in a lovely setting and the food and wine was exceptional. overall we were delighted with our stay and we will definitely return.

Reviewed by
J Smith

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a gem
stayed a sunday evening and received a phone call from the hotel on the Saturday to check all was well and would we like to reserve a table in the restaurant for the Sunday. On arrival we were taken to our room where the retro bush radio was playing background music in our room (nice little touch). The room was a standard room nicely decorated and furnished if a little on the small side. We took a late Sunday lunch in the restaurant which was absolutely delicious how nice to be able to have my roast beef pink and not the usual overcooked . Waiting staff although young were immaculately turned out with their long white aprons and very attentive. Food quality at breakfast was excellent with homemade museli ,beautiful selection of fresh fruit followed by an excellent cooked breakfast with according to my husband the best black pudding he had ever tasted. Fab stay sorry it was only the 1 night.

Reviewed by
lesley g

From Douglas, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Shibden Mill
Just a random selection from the internet but what a find! Down in a steep vallry in a secluded spot, the hotel sits by a stream. The accommodation is indivualised and there are some nice touches such as free DVD's from reception to watch in your room. The food is top class and obviously the price reflects that but it doesn't disappoint. Breakfast was fantastic too. Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Simon W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent helpful welcome on arrival at 9pm Good room service Breakfast staff less helpfull
Arrived late but very welcoming and pleasant attitude - excellent room (upgrade). Room service prompt and good food. Breakfast staff were less helpful and nothing arrived without request. Check out staff unwlecoming. However interesting location and very peaceful and would certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
clare t

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little gem of a hotel
Lovely hotel, tucked away in a rural valley in the midst of cities. Really friendly staff, great food, lovely room. What more could you ask? Maybe a proper shower in the room.

Reviewed by
K Mills

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next