No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Hart Hotel

2Visit England Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
FORE STREET , OKEHAMPTON, EX20 1HD
Set in the market town of Okehampton in the foothills of Dartmoor, The White Hart Hotel is a superior example of a 17th century coaching inn and is the ideal venue for all social and business occasions. The Inn was given official license as Okehampton's premier inn at the new Quarter Sessions when the town's charter was granted back in 1623 and has held that license continuously since that date.

Today the White Hart is as popular as it has always been with locals and visitors and offers fine cuisine and excellent accommodation as well as top class banqueting and business facilities. We also have ample free parking for guests and visitors to the Hotel and coach parties are always welcome.

So whether you want to stay the night, have a coffee whilst you are shopping in Okehampton, eat in our restaurant or hold your wedding reception here, you can be sure that you've chosen the right place. If you're looking for someone to cater for your wedding day, luxury hotel accommodation, an evening meal or just a chat in our cosy bar, look no further than the White Hart Hotel, one of the most popular hotels in Okehampton, Devon, located on the edge of Dartmoor.
Picture of The White Hart Hotel, OKEHAMPTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming White Hart
The historical nature of the White Hart makes it a charming place to eat and stay and inevitably means you do not get a "new hotel" experience if that is what you are looking for. Dinner menu a bit different and accompanied by good service; always nice to see real ales in the bar. Don't miss the locally sourced eggs for breakfast. I have only stayed one night at a time but happy to go back.

Reviewed by
Stephen J

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coaching Stars
Room was shabby in parts, small but clean. Bed was clean and comfortable. I am 78 and although I often struggle with my luggage upstairs, when there is no lift. There were two young, strong looking men at Reception and neither offered to help.
I had a room overlooking the road and there was some sort of removal going on with a long flat bed lorry. The noise was really bad until approx. 10.30 p.m. It is quieter in a Budget Hotel beside a Motorway as they have double glazing.
At 7.45 in the morning there was no-one to take my payment, so I had to leave without. However, as they had my card details, I was not too worried.
I am sure it is a charming Hotel with lots of history and I did not have an opportunity to stay longer. The room was comfortable and had all the necessary accessories.
I have been to Okehampton many times and find it charming and friendly.

Reviewed by
Patricia H

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
It was a very enjoyable stay. However was a bit disappointment with the restaurant area.

Reviewed by
Karen P

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcome stay.
We booked 6 rooms for a family party of 12 adults and 1 child. The staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The rooms were clean, comfy, had everything we needed and good value for money. The food was excellent and we had a combination of choices from all three menus, which were cooked in 2 different restaurants but delivered together. I didn't hear of one complaint and we had a very enjoyable evening. Breakfast was great and presented nicely. All in all a great stay and highly recommended. Thanks

Reviewed by
D Rose

From Uxbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

charming cosy stay
Charming and cosy if a little old fashioned. Staff very helpful if a little overstreched.
Great overnight stop

Reviewed by
Denise C

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice
Clean rooms, comfy beds, very nice staff, cant really go wrong.

Reviewed by
A Lucas

From Blackburn, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

gateway to dartmoor
excellent location for exploriang dartmoor and devon. Excellent food. Larger bathtowels would create an atmosphere of increased luxury

Reviewed by
Anna C

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Base camp for the Dartmoor Folk Festival
We found this Hotel perfect for our purpose. Unfortunately, our schedule didn't give us time to try the evening restaurant menu, but breakfast gave plenty of options (the haddock and poached eggs were lovely). The room was clean, the bathroom spacious, and our stay was comfortable. This Hotel is full of character and must have a long history. We would like to have stayed longer as we plan to do next year.

Reviewed by
Jane T

From Nr Exeter, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good

Reviewed by
denis k

From manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good traditional hotel
Stayed for one night. Room good, internet access OK. Food good. Would gladly use again.

Reviewed by
Jim M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next