The Devonshire Arms Pilsley

3

HIGH STREET, PILSLEY, BAKEWELL, DE45 1UL

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

100% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Eleanor M

  • December 2014

Second visit as good as our first

This is the second year we have stayed at the Devonshire Arms.

The welcome this time was just as warm as our previous visit. The staff are friendly and the hotel is cosy and very well equipped. Food in the restaurant is tasty and good value. All in all an excellent choice for a short break.

  • Julie G

  • November 2014

Recent stay at Devonshire Arms

Enjoyed a lovely stay in this newly refurbished inn.

Only down side is there is no bar area for a pre dinner drink or after drink which as disappointing. Dining area in one half is also very small and cramped. Room was well furnished, refurbished clean and comfortable but again very much on the small side . Service was good but asked for a table to be reserved for dinner for 8.30 - was offered it at 7.30 and turned it down - therefore as residents would have ended up with no table if hadn't been lucky enough to find one tucked away in a corner,

  • Alan B

  • October 2014

A delightful short break

This is a beautiful inn with very modern accomodation although the restaurant/bar area is rather olde worlde.

The food is excellent and in fact the breakfasts are cooked to order which is rather unusual nowadays. The inn is in a very good location for sightseeing particularly for visiting Chatsworth House although there are many other interesting places in the area.

  • I B

  • August 2014

Beautiful peaceful Inn. Very attentive prompt friendly service

Would definitely be staying here again - already planing again for longer

  • Jane H

  • August 2014

Just right!

We only stayed one night but didn't want to leave.

The new rooms have been designed by the Duchess of Devonshire and feature antique furniture from around the Chatsworth estate. These are cleverly combined with high quality modern features to make comfortable rooms. The welcome was warm and personal without being overdone. We will return!

  • Michael Heard

  • August 2014

Room Temprature

Due to the high temperature we have been experiencing, the room was particularly hot throughout the night and we found it difficult to sleep.

We were provided with a fan for the second night but it was not totally successful.

  • R Levett

  • June 2014

Lovely place to stay in beautiful surroundings.

Close to chatsworth house. Friendly and helpful staff, would definitely stay again.

  • Howard C

  • March 2014

The location was perfect and the decor of the Devonshire Arms and of our room was lovely.

We were a little disappointed with the menu, the Specials Board did not change at all while we were there. However, the staff working in the bar and dining room were friendly and attentive and we would certainly go back.

  • Alan B

  • February 2014

Birthday treat

Only stayed one night but everything was enjoyable and would certainly stay again .

  • Tim G

  • January 2014

Very good country inn

The room was excellent and very well equipped as was the bathroom.

The thing that really stood out was the helpfulness and friendlyness of all the staff. The food was good but we did not have the full menu as due to the time of year it was a Christmas menu. I would certainly stay here again.