No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Devonshire Arms Pilsley

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
HIGH STREET, PILSLEY , BAKEWELL, DE45 1UL
Real Ale, Real Food, and seven beautiful bedrooms:

The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley is a traditional inn, owned by The Duke and Duchess of Devonshire. Serving well kept local cask ales and delicious freshly cooked food, the inn offers the perfect mix of modern comfort with traditional pub character.

Situated on the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire’s 35,000 acre Chatsworth Estate, The Devonshire Arms is ideally located for a relaxing getaway when visiting Chatsworth House and Gardens and all the delights of the Peak District.

Each light and cheerful bedroom is named after a farm on the Chatsworth Estate, and common to all is a modern, en-suite bathrooms and comfortable bed. Each room has its own character, chosen by The Duchess of Devonshire with a style full of rich colourful fabrics and little touches that make your stay extra special.

Alan Hill, Chef Patron for The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley, celebrates the abundance of good quality local produce, much of which comes from the Chatsworth estate - this is reflected in the quality of the food. The Devonshire Arms at Pilsley offers delicious freshly cooked local dishes such as Pilsley Mixed Grill, Belly Pork Bubble and Squeak, Fresh Fish Pie... plus freshly made sandwiches. The inn is as dedicated to serving traditional real ales as to serving fantastic food, championing local breweries such as Thornbridge Brewery in Bakewell, and Peak Ales which is located on the Chatsworth Estate.
Picture of The Devonshire Arms Pilsley, BAKEWELL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 13 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just right!
We only stayed one night but didn't want to leave. The new rooms have been designed by the Duchess of Devonshire and feature antique furniture from around the Chatsworth estate. These are cleverly combined with high quality modern features to make comfortable rooms. The welcome was warm and personal without being overdone. We will return!

Reviewed by
Jane H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful peaceful Inn. Very attentive prompt friendly service
Would definitely be staying here again - already planing again for longer

Reviewed by
I B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room Temprature
Due to the high temperature we have been experiencing, the room was particularly hot throughout the night and we found it difficult to sleep. We were provided with a fan for the second night but it was not totally successful.

Reviewed by
Michael Heard

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay in beautiful surroundings. Close to chatsworth house. Friendly and helpful staff, would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
R Levett

From Sudbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The location was perfect and the decor of the Devonshire Arms and of our room was lovely. We were a little disappointed with the menu, the Specials Board did not change at all while we were there. However, the staff working in the bar and dining room were friendly and attentive and we would certainly go back.

Reviewed by
Howard C

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday treat
Only stayed one night but everything was enjoyable and would certainly stay again .

Reviewed by
Alan B

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good country inn
The room was excellent and very well equipped as was the bathroom. The thing that really stood out was the helpfulness and friendlyness of all the staff. The food was good but we did not have the full menu as due to the time of year it was a Christmas menu. I would certainly stay here again.

Reviewed by
Tim G

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night in Pilsley
Wonderful old pub/restaurant with rooms. Great welcome, good atmosphere and nicely renovated and decorated with great taste.
Our room was rather small----I really wish I had asked to move to a larger room. I slept poorly as I was up against the wall and felt hemmed in. Super bathroom, nice towels etc.

Reviewed by
Jane W

From Ascot, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay in Jan. Staff were all really accommodating and helpful. Lovely place to stay and relax.

Reviewed by
Emily S

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
My wife and I stayed overnight, and had a lovely time. The hotel is excellent, great location, staff were very welcoming. The food both dinner and breakfast, were excellent, Proved to be a very relaxing night, and would definitely recommend. Only 3 miles from Bakewell, which we found to be a lovely, interesting town

Reviewed by
M Grime

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next