No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
37 39, High Street , Pwllheli, LL53 5RT
Steeped in history and full of character, the Crown Hotel is renowned for its good food, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, polite service and friendly welcome.

Leased by the Barbé family for nearly 5 years now, and managed by the latest additions to this family business, Simon and Victoria, the hotel philosophy is to support local trade and employ local people.

Pwllheli has much to offer and is very much an up and coming town. There is a Sailing Academy under development, and many larger companies have recently set up shop here - just proving it must really be on its way up here!

We have a beautiful Sandy Beach, a Marina, and areas all around ideal for Fishing, Shooting, Golfing, Walking and even Sunbathing & Swimming when the sun is shining!. The town has an array of individual Boutique-Style Gift Shops, Café's, Bars and Restaurants, and is an ideal base to explore the magnificent surrounding areas.

As an up and coming town, we think you will find that prices around here are more competitive than other towns in the area - and with such potential and beauty all around, why not give Pwllheli a chance, enjoy yourselves, and save a few pence while you're at it?!

We hope to see you soon here, and promise we will do our very best to make you feel welcome and as comfortable as possible.

Please note our restaurant is closed Sunday evening. We serve a carvery 12-3pm.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS HOTEL HAS A STRICTLY NO ANIMALS POLICY
Picture of The Crown Hotel, Pwllheli at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 96 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcome with some nice touches
We received a warm welcome on arrival and were shown to our room which had everything we need - complimentary bottles of water are always appreciated as well as tea/coffee etc. The room was clean - the only downside was the mattress on the bed could do with replacing as the springs creaked and moved as you moved which is why I only gave it 3 out of 6. Breakfast was a good experience with choice of juices, fruit and cereals and, best of all, porridge. I was also offered some fresh strawberries to accompany it. The cooked breakfast was prepared to order. All the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful and if we were looking to stay in Pwllheli again, we would certainly try and book in here.

Reviewed by
Deborah B

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Hotel
Lovely large room and very large bathroom. Very clean. Only slight grumble was that one of the twin beds could probably have done with a new mattress as it was comfortable but very noisy - boing and ping at every slight movement!
Breakfast was good (large choice to suit everyone), but the evening meals in the restaurant were a little pricey.

Reviewed by
Barbara S

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money,will stay there again,thankyou very much.

Reviewed by
Rory Cullen

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice little hotel
Perfectly good accommodation, in the centre of the town, and with car-parking space readily available in the supermarket carpark immediately behind the hotel - on arrival the Crown gave me a permit to put on the dashboard. I didn't have any meals at the hotel apart from breakfast .. I opted for fruit-juice, fruit and coffee, but I could have had a full cooked breakfast if I had wanted.

Reviewed by
Patrick Soper

From Haverfordwest, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Even though the Hotel was busy and Dylan seemed to be short staffed, he was very welcoming.
The room was compact and cosy with a nice bathroom. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits laid on.
Had a thoroughly lovely stay, everyone was very friendly. Delicious breakfast, nicely cooked. Although this a very busy locals pub, it was very clean and when we came down for breakfast, the lounge had been laid out beautifully and no smells from the night before.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Bagwell

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic breakfast!
We booked four rooms whilst attending a family wedding nearby. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating. An early check in was no problem. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
The breakfast was amazing, beautifully cooked, large portions and lots of choice.

Reviewed by
Catherine B

From Tenbury Wells, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay...
Nice portions, hotel easy to find.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
We booked for one night and were very happy! The room was clean, the people were friendly and the food was great!

Reviewed by
P Plit

From Linksfield, South Africa
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its the staff that make the diffrence
Proper small town centre old pub/inn. Busy pub and decent food in a separate restaurant room which is nicer than being with a bar full of drinkers watching the football. Staff with excellent attitude and clearly happy doing what they do. Made all the difference.

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and friendly
nicely presented interior,although would not be my colour combination.Small but comfortable bedroom,just lacking some finer touches.We had both breakfast and dinner in hotel the food was really very good.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next