No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Crown Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
37 39, High Street , Pwllheli, LL53 5RT
Steeped in history and full of character, the Crown Hotel is renowned for its good food, clean rooms, relaxed atmosphere, polite service and friendly welcome.

Leased by the Barbé family for nearly 5 years now, and managed by the latest additions to this family business, Simon and Victoria, the hotel philosophy is to support local trade and employ local people.

Pwllheli has much to offer and is very much an up and coming town. There is a Sailing Academy under development, and many larger companies have recently set up shop here - just proving it must really be on its way up here!

We have a beautiful Sandy Beach, a Marina, and areas all around ideal for Fishing, Shooting, Golfing, Walking and even Sunbathing & Swimming when the sun is shining!. The town has an array of individual Boutique-Style Gift Shops, Café's, Bars and Restaurants, and is an ideal base to explore the magnificent surrounding areas.

As an up and coming town, we think you will find that prices around here are more competitive than other towns in the area - and with such potential and beauty all around, why not give Pwllheli a chance, enjoy yourselves, and save a few pence while you're at it?!

We hope to see you soon here, and promise we will do our very best to make you feel welcome and as comfortable as possible.

PLEASE NOTE: THIS HOTEL HAS A STRICTLY NO ANIMALS POLICY
Picture of The Crown Hotel, Pwllheli at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 90 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice stay...
Nice portions, hotel easy to find.

Reviewed by
Andrew S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
We booked for one night and were very happy! The room was clean, the people were friendly and the food was great!

Reviewed by
P Plit

From Linksfield, South Africa
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Its the staff that make the diffrence
Proper small town centre old pub/inn. Busy pub and decent food in a separate restaurant room which is nicer than being with a bar full of drinkers watching the football. Staff with excellent attitude and clearly happy doing what they do. Made all the difference.

Reviewed by
K Roberts

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable and friendly
nicely presented interior,although would not be my colour combination.Small but comfortable bedroom,just lacking some finer touches.We had both breakfast and dinner in hotel the food was really very good.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was cleaned after we arrived as there had been some confusion with the dates of our booking. We were in a room at the front of the hotel and the sash window was propped open with a piece of wood. Having the window open was not a problem air wise as the weather was very mild however we were subject to listening to people outside having a rather loud and sweary conversation for a while. Bit of an air of neglect to the hotel.
Food was ok at breakfast apart from the burnt toast.
Staff were pleasant and helpful.

Reviewed by
Philip W

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient Central Location in Pwllheli
Conveniently located in the centre of Pwllheli and close to the station The Crown Hotel provides comfortable ensuite rooms next to the pub of the same name. We found the accommodation clean and quiet. Breakfast is ample and served in a dining room downstairs. Ideal for a weekend stay in this lovely part of Wales.

Reviewed by
Miranda H

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great room and breakfast - shame about the karaoke downstairs
The room was very clean. Thought the tea, coffee, biccies and water in the room was a nice touch although I would have expected a hairdryer too.
The breakfast was great with a varied choice.
Our only gripe was the noise (karaoke!) from the pub downstairs which went on until midnight

Reviewed by
Helen A

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay at the Crown!
We had a lovely comfortable stay at The Crown Hotel Pwllhelli. The staff were pleasant and very helpful. The rooms are very clean and had coffee and tea making facilities. The Welsh full breakfast was the biggest and tastiest we have ever had! Would definately stay there again

Reviewed by
C Pointon

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My best stay Pwllheli
Good size, very clean single room. Evening food 1st class and breakfast 1st class

Reviewed by
j jacques

From Lancaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hairy Bride and Bridesmaids!
Had a really relaxed experience at The Crown Hotel
We had been canyoning that morning and had no problems checking in. Room was very clean and bathroom spotless.
I don't think Pwllheli knew what hit them when we went out!
I was actually surprised my whole group made it to breakfast, but the spread available was very nice. Would definitely stay again!

Reviewed by
Ben p

From Widnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next