No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Horse Inn

5AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
7 LUMLEY LANE , NORTHALLERTON, DL7 0SH
Set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham in the North Yorkshire countryside, the Black Horse Inn has free Wi-Fi and seven beautiful, relaxingly comfortable bedrooms. Black Horse Inn is just a 20 minute drive from both Darlington and Scotch Corner.

Each bedroom has been individually decorated in neutral colours and boasts antique furniture, a breakfast hamper, a flat screen TV and a mini refrigerator containing fresh orange juice, milk and water. Our en-suite bathrooms contain a bath and/or a power shower with complimentary Molton Brown toiletries and some of our bedrooms even have an in-room roll-top bath.

Guest can relax in our bar or in our garden and our restaurant serves traditional British dishes, all of which have been prepared using local produce.

Black Horse Inn is also just 10 minutes from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes from Yorkshire Dales National Park.
Picture of Black Horse Inn, NORTHALLERTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A nice friendly hotel with good food
My second time at this hotel and happy to return again. Quality food for the evening meal and deserving its AA 5 star rating. Since my previous visit the WI-FI Signal in the room appears to have improved but mobile telephone service in the village is patchy.
Overall a lovely room and en suite - not perfect but highly recommended for a stay in this area

Reviewed by
william a

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Black Horse Inn
Excellent friendly service by all members of staff and excellent food. Rooms were very well equipped with bath and shower in our room. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Brian F

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my fiance stayed in the shergar room for his 40th birthday,and when we arrived we was overwhelmed how stylish and big the room was,the roll top bath was just so relaxing and just what we needed after a busy christmas..we also had private garden, which i can imagine to be great in spring and summer time.. we booked a table for our evening meal and the food was to die for, the service was also very friendly and efficient.. the only downfall was that we had to check out the next day, if it was'nt for work the next day, we would of stayed. We definitely will stay here again, beautiful, stunning and very stylish.

Reviewed by
Susan Bedford

From Batley, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very enjoyable stay, great food and accomodation!

Reviewed by
S Pepper

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel
Only stayed one night on business but very enjoyable with the owner furnishing the room to a very high standard. I had dinner at night and that was superb.
The only downside was a very intermittent vodafone signal on my mobile but WI-FI was fully acceptable

Reviewed by
w anderson

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent halfway stopover
Really gorgeous suite with a separate room attached for the kids. Slight lack of places to eat the continental breakfast in the morning - had to have it in the room which is tricky with a one year old (can't get cooked until 0900 which is a bit late for little ones). I suggest you ask to take one of the highchairs up the evening before. The food was decent without being spectacular, probably trying a bit hard with the menu instead of sticking to classics done well - the fish looked amazing, I should have had that. Value-wise, not sure I would pay full price but at last-minute rates it was staggeringly good value. The staff were really helpful (although difficult to find before 0800).

Reviewed by
Graham M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel but not in Northallerton
This boutique hotel was a fantastic find, although we were very disappointed to find that it it was not in Northallerton but 8 miles outside, which after a long drive and a dinner reservation in Northallerton it was a tad annoying.
However, not the Hotels fault, the staff were friendly and accommodating and the facilities in the room were excellent, especially travelling with a young child. We would highly recommend this hotel to others.

Reviewed by
Rebecca B

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Inn with Excellent food
Lovely village and wonderful local pub.
Very good restaurant, clearly a destination for the local region.
Breakfast slightly disappointing with the Yorkshire breakfast suffering from being largely baked rather than fried I suspect.

Reviewed by
ANDREW P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Place
One night stay for our Anniversary selected totally at random. Great find and we will definitely be back again. Accomodation in the annexe was fabulous and meal in the restaurant equally good. A very relaxing and chilled out place to spend time.

Reviewed by
Jon Bousfield

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Country Pub/Hotel
Excellent find on laterooms, staff, rooms and food superb. Wifi reception in rooms poor but on mentioning this to staff they said that it would be looked into asap.

Reviewed by
Chris M

From Polmont, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next