No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Horse Inn

5AA Assessed Restaurant with Rooms Ratings explained
7 LUMLEY LANE , NORTHALLERTON, DL7 0SH
Set in the heart of the village of Kirkby Fleetham in the North Yorkshire countryside, the Black Horse Inn has free Wi-Fi and seven beautiful, relaxingly comfortable bedrooms. Black Horse Inn is just a 20 minute drive from both Darlington and Scotch Corner.

Each bedroom has been individually decorated in neutral colours and boasts antique furniture, a breakfast hamper, a flat screen TV and a mini refrigerator containing fresh orange juice, milk and water. Our en-suite bathrooms contain a bath and/or a power shower with complimentary Molton Brown toiletries and some of our bedrooms even have an in-room roll-top bath.

Guest can relax in our bar or in our garden and our restaurant serves traditional British dishes, all of which have been prepared using local produce.

Black Horse Inn is also just 10 minutes from Catterick Racecourse and 40 minutes from Yorkshire Dales National Park.
Picture of Black Horse Inn, NORTHALLERTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lower rating because we only had breakfast. This is a very lovely pub! The rooms were beautiful and the attention to detail was amazing. Wonderful staff who went out of their way o be helpful! Will definitely stay here agin and will recommend to others!

Reviewed by
Linda Robinson

From Whatcroft, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

totally brilliant find
what a perfect place to stay to break a journey from Edinburgh to Cambridge - it made us feel we were on holiday and had escaped and the holiday had started early.

Reviewed by
Alison A

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely find
We were very happy with our stay at the Black Horse. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The separate childrens room was lovely - my son was very impressed with the teddy, games and his own complimentary juice. It was lovely to have freshly ground coffee and real milk available for drinks in our room instead of the usual rubbish you get - why pay to go away and get something worse than you have at home!. Lots of homely touches dotted around throughout the whole place made all the difference. My only complaint would be that they ran out of three things on the menu which was a little disapointing however they were very accommodating when it came to making my sons meal. He just asked for his favourite and they said it wasnt a problem.

Reviewed by
T MARSH

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant, but expensive
A good friendly comfortable place, but very expensive for a pub overnight.

Reviewed by
Keith B

From Shepton Mallet, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Black Horse
Absolutely fabulous hotel. One of the best I have stayed in. Room was very tastefully decorated and very large

Reviewed by
A Smithee

From Wisbech, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Country Accommodation
we arrived Mother's Day evening after lunching with family in Thirsk. The restaurant was very busy but we were attended to within minutes and shown to our room. Fab room with adjoining twin room for the children with board games for them to play. Both rooms had a hamper of breakfast items and juice, milk etc (fresh in a flask not that yucky plastic stuff!) The room was comfortable and clean (apart from under the bed) the evening meal was delicious and good value, cooked breakfast was fresh and delicious. Was surprised to find this was part of a chain, as it felt like a family run establishment with heart. Only negative was the that the heating appeared to be off in the room (we thought perhaps due to the volume of people in the place on the evening, but it wasn't on in the morning either)

Reviewed by
N Gordon

From Perth, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stopover
Stayed one night on our way south for a wedding, was perfect relaxing evening.

Reviewed by
A Bowie

From St Andrews, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect place to break the journey to or from Scotland
Due to the upgrading of A1, the turn across the A1 to Kirkby Fleetham is closed. You must leave the A1 at the LEEMING BAR exit. Go under the A1 to the east and then travel along the lanes parellel to the A1, heading north until you see signs for Kirkby Fleetham. SATNAV is no use for exiting the A1, as all this part of the A1 has just changed.
Only stayed one night but very warm and comfortable in cottage at rear of pub. Very good evening meal and breakfast. Very friendly and attentive staff,

Reviewed by
A Townsend

From Beccles, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Asleep in the bar
really great place to stay and food excellent. The staff are friendly and make you feel welcome but be carefull you don't fall asleep in front of the lovely fire in the bar after a meal - it's great

Reviewed by
derry p

From Newark, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Luxury at an affordable price
A fantastic hotel,the room was superb very luxurious with a fabulous bathroom and facilities.the pub itself was also fantastic ddecorated lovely and staff were very helpful and friendly.the food was of a high standard and we had both of our meals here.if you are wanting a quiet and relaxing night away this would be perfect,this pub is situated in a lovely village with lovely people.We would definitley recommend and stay there again.

Reviewed by
Andrea N

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next